+ Reply to Thread
Results 601 to 630 of 801
-
Thanks for the report, annoying issue, it will be fixed for next release.
Also already fixed on this pre-release executable (english only). -
I have some x264-encoded MKV files ranging between 3 and 5 GB each in size that I want to convert to x265-encoded MKV files less than 1 GB in size (I'm hoping for between 800 to 900 MB for most of them). What would be the best settings within FFmpeg Batch AV Converter to accomplish this with the minimum quality loss (and ideally preserving as much grain as possible, but more importantly without any blocking)?
Last edited by hbenthow; 9th Dec 2021 at 00:28.
-
There's no way to target multiple files sizes/durations in a batch encoding, you would need to sort them by duration and then calculate more or less the bitrate that would accomplish you requirements.
For example, a two-pass encoding wizard, starting with
Code:-map 0 -c:v libx265 -b:v 1500K -c:a aac -b;a 192K
would produce roughly 1GB file for a 1h:30m video.
Beyond that, the longer the file or the higher the resolution, the higher the quality loss could be noticed. It's a subjective question anyway.
-
Hi,
I've been trying to figure out how to burn subtitles using FFMpeg batch. Every time that I attempt, I get this error:
Error Muxing Subtitles
creation_time :
2021-11-16T12:27:33.000000ZC:/Users/Steve/Destop/Filename.mp4: Permission denied
Here's the command line I tried using:
-c:v h264_amf -rc cqp -qp_p 20 -qp_i 20 -qp_b 20 -rc cqp -qp_p 20 -qp_i 20 -qp_b 20f -af "volume=15dB" -c:a aac -b:a 256K-metadata:a:0 language=eng
Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong?
Thanks,
SteveLast edited by Steve_Pippin; 9th Dec 2021 at 18:18. Reason: Keep getting a frown face when typing -metadata:s:a:0 language=eng
-
Thank you for the response. The files are about 42-44 minutes apiece, so the bitrate could be a bit higher than 1500 kbps and still fit within my size range.
I've been doing some tests with one of the files, and I've been able to get it down to a little less than a GB, but it doesn't look quite as good as some smaller encodes of similar files that I've seen.
Here's the MediaInfo for the video encoding of a x265 file that has the right size-to-quality ratio and which I find looks very good (no blocking, very sharp, some grain loss but virtually no detail loss otherwise). I'm trying to replicate something similar.
Code:Video ID : 1 Format : HEVC Format/Info : High Efficiency Video Coding Format profile : Main 10@L4@Main Codec ID : V_MPEGH/ISO/HEVC Duration : 42 min 21 s Bit rate : 2 577 kb/s Width : 1 920 pixels Height : 1 080 pixels Display aspect ratio : 16:9 Frame rate mode : Constant Frame rate : 23.976 (24000/1001) FPS Color space : YUV Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0 Bit depth : 10 bits Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.052 Stream size : 781 MiB (85%) Writing library : x265 2.5+14-2718cb5dd67f:[Windows][GCC 7.1.0][64 bit] 10bit Encoding settings : cpuid=1173503 / frame-threads=3 / numa-pools=12 / wpp / no-pmode / no-pme / no-psnr / no-ssim / log-level=2 / input-csp=1 / input-res=1920x1080 / interlace=0 / total-frames=60938 / level-idc=0 / high-tier=1 / uhd-bd=0 / ref=4 / no-allow-non-conformance / no-repeat-headers / annexb / no-aud / no-hrd / info / hash=0 / no-temporal-layers / open-gop / min-keyint=23 / keyint=250 / bframes=8 / b-adapt=2 / b-pyramid / bframe-bias=0 / rc-lookahead=80 / lookahead-slices=4 / scenecut=40 / no-intra-refresh / ctu=64 / min-cu-size=8 / rect / no-amp / max-tu-size=32 / tu-inter-depth=1 / tu-intra-depth=1 / limit-tu=0 / rdoq-level=2 / dynamic-rd=0.00 / no-ssim-rd / signhide / no-tskip / nr-intra=0 / nr-inter=0 / no-constrained-intra / no-strong-intra-smoothing / max-merge=3 / limit-refs=3 / limit-modes / me=3 / subme=3 / merange=57 / temporal-mvp / weightp / no-weightb / no-analyze-src-pics / deblock=-3:-3 / no-sao / no-sao-non-deblock / rd=4 / no-early-skip / rskip / no-fast-intra / no-tskip-fast / no-cu-lossless / no-b-intra / no-splitrd-skip / rdpenalty=0 / psy-rd=1.40 / psy-rdoq=1.60 / no-rd-refine / analysis-reuse-mode=0 / no-lossless / cbqpoffs=0 / crqpoffs=0 / rc=crf / crf=22.0 / qcomp=0.60 / qpstep=4 / stats-write=0 / stats-read=0 / ipratio=1.40 / pbratio=1.30 / aq-mode=3 / aq-strength=0.90 / cutree / zone-count=0 / no-strict-cbr / qg-size=32 / no-rc-grain / qpmax=69 / qpmin=0 / no-const-vbv / sar=0 / overscan=0 / videoformat=5 / range=0 / colorprim=2 / transfer=2 / colormatrix=2 / chromaloc=0 / display-window=0 / max-cll=0,0 / min-luma=0 / max-luma=1023 / log2-max-poc-lsb=8 / vui-timing-info / vui-hrd-info / slices=1 / opt-qp-pps / opt-ref-list-length-pps / no-multi-pass-opt-rps / scenecut-bias=0.05 / no-opt-cu-delta-qp / no-aq-motion / no-hdr / no-hdr-opt / no-dhdr10-opt / analysis-reuse-level=5 / scale-factor=0 / refine-intra=0 / refine-inter=0 / refine-mv=0 / no-limit-sao / ctu-info=0 Default : Yes Forced : No
Code:Video ID : 1 Format : AVC Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec Format profile : High@L4 Format settings : CABAC / 4 Ref Frames Format settings, CABAC : Yes Format settings, Reference frames : 4 frames Codec ID : V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC Duration : 43 min 3 s Bit rate : 11.7 Mb/s Width : 1 920 pixels Height : 1 080 pixels Display aspect ratio : 16:9 Frame rate mode : Constant Frame rate : 23.976 (24000/1001) FPS Color space : YUV Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0 Bit depth : 8 bits Scan type : Progressive Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.235 Stream size : 3.51 GiB (95%) Language : English Default : Yes Forced : No Color range : Limited Color primaries : BT.709 Transfer characteristics : BT.709 Matrix coefficients : BT.709
-
-
Hi, first of all, that look like two-pass encoding is being used. You can use the two-pass wizard and check results, with probably better bitrate allocation on complex scenes. Also, keyframe intervals are relevant in obtaining good quality/bitrate ratios.
On the other hand, all those parameters are available in libx265 encoder, so you can play with them by adding:
Code:-x265-params
As an example for eithe rone or two pass encoding:
Code:-c:v libx265 -preset medium -profile:v main10 -b:v 2000K -x265-params "min-keyint=23;keyint=250;bframes=8;b-adapt=2;b-pyramid;bframe-bias=0;rc-lookahead=80;lookahead-slices=4;scenecut=40" -pix_fmt yuv420p10le -c:a aac -b:a 128K
-
Thanks for the reply Eibol,
I figured out what happened. I was trying to save the file to my Desktop and for some reason access was denied. I changed the save drive to another location and it converted and burned the subtitles just fine. Question though... this took about 25 minutes to burn. Is there a better command line that would allow me to burn the subs faster and still increase the volume level? The command line I used is in the photo below. I tried to type it here, but it keeps turning one of the command into a frowning face.
[Attachment 62277 - Click to enlarge]Last edited by Steve_Pippin; 10th Dec 2021 at 11:23.
-
Depending on the subtitles format, you don't have to re-encode video, you could just add the stream, and if required, re-encode audio.
I don't know where are the subtitles located in your screenshot.
Have you tried using Stream multiplex?
[QUOTE=Steve_Pippin;2640113]Thanks for the reply Eibol,
I figured out what happened. I was trying to save the file to my Desktop and for some reason access was denied. I changed the save drive to another location and it converted and burned the subtitles just fine. Question though... this took about 25 minutes to burn. Is there a better command line that would allow me to burn the subs faster and still increase the volume level? The command line I used is in the photo below. I tried to type it here, but it keeps turning one of the command into a frowning face. -
If I add them to the stream, would they be hard coded? Normally I just MUX the subtitles and it takes seconds, but then you have to turn on subtitles to see them. There are some movies, (ex. the new Planet of the Apes movies) where they use sign language. I would want those hard-coded so the users on my server won't have to do anything to see the subs. I have some older people that watch and they just wouldn't know how to turn on the subtitles.
-
-
I have created this collaborative document to expand application presets, so users can provide or obtain useful ffmpeg configurations
for the application of ffmpeg itself.
[Attachment 62320 - Click to enlarge]
Presets.md -
Hi, i am relatively new to ffmpeg so please be easy on me.
I got me a preset that I am using in order to convert my 5.1 AAC from Davinci Resolve to AC3 and add titles to my other tracks.
Since upgrading to Version 2.7.2 ffmpeg Batch AV Converter hangs at a quarter of the File.
I tried it with older files that worked before and they stop too.
here is the log file
I already waited for 2 hours but it does not complete the conversion.
p.s. the LFE error seems to always be the case when exporting from Davinci Resolve - but it works on my surround system ok.
FFmpeg log sesion: 12/22/2021 12:17:36 PM
-------------------------------
---------------------Start of 2021-08 Alpentour 4K.mp4 log-------------------------------
[aac @ 0000018da11a3600] This stream seems to incorrectly report its last channel as LFE[6], mapping to LFE[0]
[aac @ 0000018da11f8f00] This stream seems to incorrectly report its last channel as LFE[6], mapping to LFE[0]
Multiple -c, -codec, -acodec, -vcodec, -scodec or -dcodec options specified for stream 1, only the last option '-c:a:0 ac3' will be used.
[aac @ 0000018da11fdd40] This stream seems to incorrectly report its last channel as LFE[6], mapping to LFE[0]
[mp4 @ 0000018da181a040] Application provided duration: -9223372036854775808 / timestamp: -9223372036854775808 is out of range for mov/mp4 format
[mp4 @ 0000018da181a040] pts has no value
frame= 13 fps=0.0 q=-1.0 size= 1kB time=00:00:00.48 bitrate= 12.8kbits/s speed=2e+04x
frame= 1399 fps=0.0 q=-1.0 size= 240129kB time=00:00:55.92 bitrate=35177.6kbits/s speed= 112x
frame= 2795 fps=2795 q=-1.0 size= 497665kB time=00:01:51.76 bitrate=36478.8kbits/s speed= 112x
frame= 4161 fps=2774 q=-1.0 size= 748289kB time=00:02:46.40 bitrate=36838.8kbits/s speed= 111x
frame= 5377 fps=2688 q=-1.0 size= 970497kB time=00:03:35.04 bitrate=36971.3kbits/s speed= 108x
frame= 6567 fps=2626 q=-1.0 size= 1188865kB time=00:04:22.64 bitrate=37081.9kbits/s speed= 105x
frame= 7745 fps=2581 q=-1.0 size= 1407233kB time=00:05:09.76 bitrate=37216.1kbits/s speed= 103x
frame= 9178 fps=2622 q=-1.0 size= 1671169kB time=00:06:07.08 bitrate=37294.9kbits/s speed= 105x
frame=10689 fps=2672 q=-1.0 size= 1949441kB time=00:07:07.52 bitrate=37354.5kbits/s speed= 107x
frame=12186 fps=2707 q=-1.0 size= 2228225kB time=00:08:07.40 bitrate=37450.8kbits/s speed= 108x
frame=13671 fps=2734 q=-1.0 size= 2500865kB time=00:09:06.80 bitrate=37467.2kbits/s speed= 109x
frame=14900 fps=2709 q=-1.0 size= 2729217kB time=00:09:55.96 bitrate=37515.5kbits/s speed= 108x
frame=16410 fps=2734 q=-1.0 size= 3008769kB time=00:10:56.36 bitrate=37552.2kbits/s speed= 109x
frame=17921 fps=2757 q=-1.0 size= 3286017kB time=00:11:56.80 bitrate=37554.5kbits/s speed= 110x
frame=19418 fps=2773 q=-1.0 size= 3555585kB time=00:12:56.68 bitrate=37502.3kbits/s speed= 111x
frame=20609 fps=2747 q=-1.0 size= 3776769kB time=00:13:44.32 bitrate=37533.1kbits/s speed= 110x
frame=21786 fps=2723 q=-1.0 size= 3992577kB time=00:14:31.40 bitrate=37534.0kbits/s speed= 109x
frame=23027 fps=2708 q=-1.0 size= 4221441kB time=00:15:21.04 bitrate=37546.7kbits/s speed= 108x
frame=24449 fps=2716 q=-1.0 size= 4485889kB time=00:16:17.92 bitrate=37578.1kbits/s speed= 109x
frame=25972 fps=2733 q=-1.0 size= 4765185kB time=00:17:18.84 bitrate=37576.9kbits/s speed= 109x
frame=27469 fps=2746 q=-1.0 size= 5042433kB time=00:18:18.72 bitrate=37596.1kbits/s speed= 110x
frame=28916 fps=2753 q=-1.0 size= 5309697kB time=00:19:16.60 bitrate=37607.7kbits/s speed= 110x
frame=30132 fps=2739 q=-1.0 size= 5527553kB time=00:20:05.24 bitrate=37570.7kbits/s speed= 110x
Output D:\\2021-08 Alpentour 4K.mp4 (ABORTED)
---------------------End of 2021-08 Alpentour 4K.mp4 log-------------------------------
1 file(s) queued
0 file(s) success
1 error(s).
0 warning(s).
-------------------------------------------------------
END OF LOG FILE
------------------------------------------------------
Total time: 00h:00m:31s
LOG SIZE: 3 KB
Thanks for any help!
Michael -
Ah sorry,
this is my preset:
-c copy -map 0:v -c:a:0 ac3 -b:a:0 448k -map 0:a:0 -map 0:a -metadata:a:0 title="5.1 AC3" -metadata
:a:1 title="5.1 AAC" -metadata
:a:2 title="2.0 Mix" -metadata
:a:3 title="2.0 Atmo" -metadata
:a:4 title="2.0 Musik"
-
Hi, it looks like input source format causes a warning messages overflow, also timestamps produced by that applicaton are confusing ffmpeg.
I really can't help much with this, I've tried your parameters with another file and they work fine.
Maybe you could try fist stream copying the input file using just -c copy to either mp4 or mkv, timestamps could be fixed, but just a guess, and then try your parameters with that intermediate file.
-
Michael,
It does not seem that yours is a problem with FFmpeg Batch Converter, itself, but have you tried passing the same parameters in your preset to the actual FFmpeg binary from the command line directly?
Code:ffmpeg.exe -i input.mp4 -c copy -map 0:v -c:a:0 ac3 -b:a:0 448k -map 0:a:0 -map 0:a -metadata:s:a:0 title="5.1 AC3" -metadata:s:a:1 title="5.1 AAC" -metadata:s:a:2 title="2.0 Mix" -metadata:s:a:3 title="2.0 Atmo" -metadata:s:a:4 title="2.0 Musik" output.mp4
Versions 2.7.0 and 2.7.2 of FFmpeg Batch Converter were bundled with version "4.4.1 essentials build" FFmpeg binary by Gyan found here. If an earlier version of FFmpeg Batch Converter such as 2.5.4 worked for you, that one would have used Gyan's earlier FFmpeg version "4.4 essentials build".
You can change/rollback your FFmpeg binary to an earlier version that you know worked for you previously or you can also try Gyan's "4.4.1 release full" build (with more but less common codecs and libraries) or "git builds" (built every few days incorporating ongoing changes to the FFmpeg code). It is possible that a change that had been introduced in 4.4.1 was removed in a later git build not yet released with a new version number. You can find all Gyan's FFmpeg binary builds here. Just copy the FFmpeg.exe (and FFplay.exe) binaries from the version that works for you into the FFmpeg Batch Converter installation directory and run FFmpeg Batch Converter as normal.
Or, along the lines of what Eibol suggested, you could try to fix the time stamps issue by simply remuxing your mp4 into a matroska (mkv) container with MKVToolNix or into another mp4 with GPAC MP4Box (remuxing in these apps does not re-encode the audio or video streams but should make it a compliant output stream). Then, try running the remuxed mkv or mp4 file through your FFmpeg Batch Converter preset. Often, strictly-compliant muxing applications such as MKVToolNix and GPAC MP4Box will fix problems in audio-video streams and produce output that follows the standards. It may not always produce the output that you want or expect, but it will be compliant with the standards and not confuse FFmpeg. -
-
Hi,
I do have another question on another topic.
Is it possible to create chapters for videos with FFmpeg Batch Converter?
I did not find anything .
What I did find is a very cumbersome way with FFmpeg / Python
https://ikyle.me/blog/2020/add-mp4-chapters-ffmpeg
It would be nice to have such a functionality in order to use it for private videos, which do not have any chapters.
Maybe a future feature?
Have a merry merry christmas all!
Michael -
in video file there is multiple audio source. is there anyway we can keep the default audio and remove the rest of the audio?
-
-
Eibol Disney changed there subtitles format. Any videos i download from Disney FFmpeg batch will not convert my videos if i mux the subtitles into mkv first before using ffmpeg batch to convert the audio for blu ray discs. Mkvtoolnix is saying the subtitles format is now Webvtt not srt anymore. I have a subtite format in case you want me to share it with u if needed to get ffmpeg batch to convert any videos using that subtitles format that is muxed nothing in the log to show u but the error said codec issue ffmpeg batch does not see the subtites. Now if i convert the video without subs it will convert just fine but with subs it wont from disney only.
-
-
Ill use subedit and convert the webvtt to srt if it works. then ill feed the mkv muxed with the srt converted to ffmpeg batch. Unless you know a better way with ffmpeg batch.
Last edited by Wizard23; 5th Jan 2022 at 17:48.
-
Hi, Eibol. I was wondering about the Output File window that appeared in a recent version. This window appears when I have just 1 file for processing in the batch, at the end of the process. But I can't actually see what's in the window. It's strange. I see it beside FFMpeg Batch in the taskbar. If I click it, I am taken to the main FFMPeg Batch window. If I hover on it, I'll see a preview of the FFMPeg Batch window on the left, and a preview of nothing on the right (I'll attach a screenshot of how this preview looks).
Anyway, I see today that there is a new version, that says there is now an option to opt-out of this window. I updated (2.7.3), but I cannot find it in Settings. Perhaps the opt-out option is in that Output File window only... and that is why I cannot find it?
Thank you -
Hello! This is not a very deep dive, but here is my go-to Preset for converting x264's to x265, to drop file size and maintain quality as much as possible:
-c:v libx265 -crf 23 -preset slow -c:a copy -map 0
- -c:v libx265 as you know is to encode into x265, using your CPU (I find that GPU encoding is fast and sloppy, never looks good)
- -crf 23 is setting a quality level (crf 18 = try to be the same as the source. The higher the number will result in more compression/less quality), but crf 23 is my own preferred "sweet spot". Sometimes it compresses so well (and still looks good), that I re-process, as crf 22 or 21, to get the file size a bit larger to my preferred size.
- -preset slow is important to me - while it does make for a longer encode, and makes your CPU very busy/warm, it is well worth it.
- -c:a copy is just to leave the audio as-is, copied straight from the source
- -map 0 says to consider all of the streams from the source (so in the example above, all video tracks will be converted to x265, all audio tracks will be left as-is, and all subtitle tracks will be left as-is)
It's not a perfect preset, but works most of the time. You will find that file size gets reduced pretty well, with good video quality!
One error you may encounter with this is, is if your source video has "dvd" type subtitles. It will error immediately. A workaround for this is to remove -map 0 from the parameters. You will end up with a file that contains just video and audio. You can then copy the subtitles tracks into that folder later (I do this part manually in the command line using ffmpeg.exe) -
Weird display. Yes, the opt-out is in the output window itself.
To disable it you need to create a blank text file named "ff_pop_up.ini" to your %appdata%FFBatch folder (or at settings folder for portable versions).
Remember that a .txt extension at the end may be hidden if you create a text file.
-
-
Can you help me please?
I want to convert metadata of audio books into file names. Like InAudible does:
Into "Author-Title-(Narrator).mp3", for example.
Thank you.
Similar Threads
-
Batch trim using FFMPEG
By taonas in forum EditingReplies: 4Last Post: 25th Feb 2021, 10:17 -
(HELP PLEASE) FFmpeg - Batch Remove metadata
By uppon2 in forum Newbie / General discussionsReplies: 14Last Post: 3rd Jun 2016, 06:47 -
Batch stabilize script for ffmpeg
By racer-x in forum Video ConversionReplies: 20Last Post: 2nd Jun 2016, 17:10 -
FFMPEG Batch Converter! Help Please
By kerafb in forum Video ConversionReplies: 0Last Post: 15th Jan 2016, 19:18 -
Can I get a little help with an ffmpeg script/batch file?
By Iced Coffee in forum Newbie / General discussionsReplies: 14Last Post: 26th Aug 2015, 01:56