You may be right it could use some improvement but "Dshow device" is only part of many options and I do not going to fully automate it. Adding the retrieved device names at "Source 1" and adding your input commands at the [USER_SOURCE_PATHS] section is just how it has to be done. Avanti isn't advertised as a webcam capture application. It assists by using the FFmpeg protocols and devices.
EDIT: Avanti has the option to save your whole setup in a template and recall it later so you don't need to add these settings over and over again when you want to do a webcam capture.
FFplay preview is only a option to preview user filter chains and the options that make use of filters like color correction, crop/scale/pad and subtitle burn.0.9.1. looks broken, and 0.9.0 didn't work yesterday with Dshow. When clicking on Preview button after entering above code, the error says: "FFplay seems to have a problem and reports ...
Argument 'HD' provided as input filename, but 'video=Logitech' was already specified." Can you post the command you call ffplay with?
Eeverything at the FFmpeg script editor is directly inserted at the command line. It doesn't need to be saved.It also unclear, whether user code entered in [USER_VIDEO_OPTIONS] should be saved somehow.
There is! Just pick up the bottom right corner of the preview window and drag to desired size. Right-click on the window for a menu where you can also set full-screen (you should do some reading in the manual).There should be also an option to adjust Preview window size, since webcam stream selected for Preview window is often uncompressed low res, while webcam stream captured to file may be high res natively compressed by webcam to avoid transcoding.
If both audio and video are enabled, the "Destination" file extension follows the setting of the "Container" field. To copy the source audio and video uncompressed, you have to select the codecs "Copy Audio" and "Copy Video". Then select a container from the list manually.I assume, when Destination Audio and Video Settings are disabled, Avanti would save the captured stream to a selected container type without transcoding? If that's not the case, can you add "No Transcoding" option to Audio and Video Codecs dropdowns? You may need to explain in Help, what container types are better suited for certain codec types.
As mentioned above, that is already done when you select the "Default" container. You don't need mp4box which isn't even part of Avanti. I't just a post processing option (read the manual).Do I need to select MP4Box option in Destination field when capturing audio and video streams from webcam? Also, Destination File Type should provide several valid selectable options in dropdown menu, like MP4, mkv, avi etc. They should depend on what audio and video codecs are selected for the output, and vice versa.
Devices, protocols and the watch folder option can only be used with "Source 1". For "Source 2" is a special (Avanti) protocol that convert or muxes the audio from "Source 2" into the destination instead of "Source 1". Also accepts e.g. m2v at "Source 1" and ac3 at "Source 2". It's all in the help but it's ok if you don't like the whole Avanti "It's up to you..." concept.Why Source 2 right click options are different from Source 1 options?
It's a modern watertap that looks a bit like a snake.Not sure, what your forum avatar means?![]()
Chris
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1,051 to 1,080 of 1190
-
Last edited by Chris K; 1st Apr 2015 at 11:06. Reason: Added suggestion to save setup in template.
-
Thanks. Hope, you'll fix the above Dshow error to a degree you percept as "acceptable".
At least it should show something in Preview window...
Btw, while Avanti is not advertised one way or another, there aren't many if any GUI available for FFMpeg & Dshow especially with non-transcoded output options and capable to capture H264&AAC native device stream to file, so if you look positively on my suggestions, we might just end up with a better application for everyone. Because modern capture apps arent available, especially with such options choice, while file transcoding apps based on popular libs are plentiful.
As to Preview size, I mean it should default to selected stream resolution, but that stream resolution used exclusively for preview should be changeable by user independently on resolution of (another) stream from the same webcam captured to file. In other words, 2 different streams can be used: one for preview, another for capture to decrease CPU load. Another option can be piping to FFPlay the file already captured, but success depends on HDD speed and captured stream resolution.
Sorry for not reading Help in full detail - its a "known bug" for most of us, though Help is written extremely well just to make sure no-one repeats stupid questions again and again. I wonder if some Tooltips or Suggestion messages can make user life easier, just like FFMpeg outputs suggestions to the user, and not only error messages? Thanks for the app!Last edited by zamar27; 1st Apr 2015 at 11:18.
-
You are free to set up the audio and video options to aac and h.264 instead of copy but you need a powerful multi-core CPU to have any success.
As to Preview size, I mean it should default to selected stream resolution, but that stream resolution used exclusively for preview should be changeable by user independently on resolution of (another) stream from the same webcam captured to file. In other words, 2 different streams can be used: one for preview, another for capture to decrease CPU load. Another option can be piping to FFPlay the file already captured, but success depends on HDD speed and captured stream resolution.
EDIT: Note that FFplay doesn't use your video card overlay memory. All has to be done by the CPU.
Sorry for not reading Help in full detail - its a "known bug" for most of us, though Help is written extremely well just to make sure no-one repeats stupid questions again and again. I wonder if some Tooltips or Suggestion messages can make user life easier, just like FFMpeg outputs suggestions to the user, and not only error messages? Thanks for the app!
ChrisLast edited by Chris K; 1st Apr 2015 at 11:48.
-
I mean that modern webcams like Logitech C920 and C930 output H264&AAC stream already compressed in webcam hardware. But I don't know of any GUI based packages apart from LWS that can capture such native compressed stream to MP4 without transcoding. So Avanti can be useful at that since latest FFMpeg can do it easily with very low CPU load, and that natively compressed webcam stream is high quality.
If the webcam doesn't support output to 2 video pins simultaneously, single output can be split by Tee filter, or its possible to capture video for recording and series of still images for preview, if selected video and image Color Space & Compression match, and use same resolution. You can check your webcam features with AMCap, which has refined preview mode in parallel with capture to file mode. It can't capture webcam H264&AAC streams to MP4 without transcoding with high CPU load. Attached is AMCap graph of capturing uncompressed RGD24 images and video with preview from a webcam.
In seldom case, if webcam supports 2 simultaneous video outputs, if you omit format settings, Dshow would open Preview in a default webcam format (or selected by FFMpeg as "best"), or you can auto assign the lowest res & frame rate format as default for any webcam in Avanti by analyzing as text the console output list of available stream formats, or simply set it to a standard small res 640x480@5fps. That would provide a dynamic preview while capturing another higher quality stream to file. But I think, Tee splitter used by AMCap is more realistic choice. Dshow allows to use GraphEdit files as a source via AviSynth. See also FFMpeg Creating multiple outputs.Last edited by zamar27; 2nd Apr 2015 at 11:30.
-
This command was reported to work for Logitech C910 and other webcams including laptop integrated, when capturing natively compressed MGPEG & PCM webcam stream to mkv without transcoding, and using Preview window:
Code:ffmpeg -s 1280x720 -framerate 30 -c:v mjpeg -c:a pcm_s16le -rtbufsize 100MB -f dshow -i video="Logitech HD Pro Webcam C910":audio="Microphone (HD Pro Webcam C910)" -flags +global_header -c copy -copytb 1 -f tee -map 0:v -map 0:a "L:\\Video\\C910.mkv|[f=matroska]udp://192.168.3.35:1234/" | ffplay -f matroska udp://192.168.3.35:1234/
Other useful commands:
Code:# List devices ffmpeg -list_devices true -f dshow -i dummy # List selected device options ffmpeg -f dshow -list_options true -i video="Logitech HD Pro Webcam C910" ffmpeg -f dshow -list_options true -i audio="Microphone (HD Pro Webcam C910)"
Last edited by zamar27; 2nd Apr 2015 at 19:01.
-
OK, thanks! I'll have a look.
I did some experiments with audio only capture. I'm currently on a single core machine without video capture card. I only did the FFplay preview so no simultaneous FFmpeg encoding and had already almost one second delay. I have a quad-core machine with a video capture card and probably try some things out with that in the weekend. I don't have a webcam.
Chris -
Hello,
Will you add unicode filenames to the software???
Thanks.
Regards Sjazz. -
-
-
No !
I see no options to convert from unicode or UTF-16 and even if it had such, it would only work if the filename contains only ANSI characters. That happens occasionally but in general file names are in unicode because they contain special characters (Japanese, Chinese etc.).
You could take a look at FFqueue which is also a nice FFmpeg gui. AFAIK it supports unicode file names.
Chris -
@zamar27
Real-time monitoring of a webcam or any other DirectShow device needs a dedicated application wriiten by a DirectShow expert. Probably VirtualDub will do. The FFmpeg/FFplay combo isn't capable to do that decently.
This is at the start of the FFplay docs...
FFplay is a very simple and portable media player using the FFmpeg libraries and the SDL library. It is mostly used as a testbed for the various FFmpeg APIs.
I decided not to spend too much time on it and to stay at the Avanti "It's up to you..." concept. Within this concept, Avanti offers the -new option at the script editor which "should" allow you to do anything you can do from the command line without too much interference of Avanti. The benefit of it is that you can save and recall your whole setups in templates or projects. The -new option allows you to add the following script which is a adaption of your example ...
Code:[USER_VIDEO_OPTIONS] -new -s 1280x720 -framerate 30 -c:v mjpeg -c:a pcm_s16le -rtbufsize 100MB -f dshow -i video="Logitech HD Pro Webcam C910":audio="Microphone (HD Pro Webcam C910)" -flags +global_header -c copy -copytb 1 -f tee -map 0:v -map 0:a -o "@destin1|[f=matroska]udp://192.168.3.35:1234/" | "$ffmp_path/ffplay.exe" -f matroska "udp://192.168.3.35:1234/"
It uses a preserved Avanti label "@destin1" and internal variable "$ffmp_path" to point to the destination path on top of the gui and to the location where you keep FFmpeg and FFplay (doesn't necessarily need to be the Avanti FFmpeg folder).
I will further simplify the procedure to set up Dshow by that you can use <Alt> double-click on the device names to copy them formatted to the "Source 1" field.
I will also add preview (not monitoring) to the "dshow device" and "web protocol" options. Currently all options at the "Source 1" menu have already preview, except these two.
Chris -
Hi Chris K,
Thanks for the reply, as always very detail. As to -filter_complex, its mostly used to overlay several sources. Fortunately, SDL supports it, and its now compiled with FFMpeg for Win, while FFPlay doesn't support that filter. These command examples work well:
Save natively compresses source stream to mkv + show decompressed & converted Preview:
ffmpeg -s 1280x720 -framerate 30 -c:v mjpeg -c:a pcm_s16le -channels 2 -sample_rate 41100 -rtbufsize 100MB -f dshow -i video="Logitech HD Pro Webcam C910":audio="Microphone (HD Pro Webcam C910)" -c copy L:\Video\C910.mkv -c:v rawvideo -pix_fmt yuv420p -an -f sdl "C910 Preview"
ffmpeg -s 1280x720 -framerate 30 -pix_fmt yuv420p -rtbufsize 100MB -f dshow -i video="Logitech HD Pro Webcam C910":audio="Microphone (HD Pro Webcam C910)" -c:a libvo_aacenc L:\Video\C910.mkv -an -f sdl -window_size 640x360 "C910 Preview"
Not sure, how in your view watching preview is different from monitoring? But at least such working option should be available to an unexperienced user, since experienced FFMpeg users tend to less rely on GUIs and more on CML.
As to VirtualDub, unfortunately it only supports saving captured non-transcoded raw or mjpeg stream to AVI, and sadly can't be used with modern webcams, streaming natively compressed H264 & AAC source, to capture and mux it to a non-transcoded or any mkv & mp4 . In fact, latest FFMpeg and limited in features Logitech LWS are about the only apps I know of able to do that.Last edited by zamar27; 6th Apr 2015 at 08:45.
-
With monitoring I mean, viewing the encode or remux process that is going on. With preview I mean, just see if your setup will work before you start the process.
On my Windows 7 machine I have a Asus hybrid capture card on which I capture terrestrial broadcast with ProgDVB. Now recently dshow added crossbar support and the related commands to call up the dialogs. Nice but at a very low level to handle with FFmpeg. I don't expect many people would be interested if I added support for it. The same goes for webcam capture.
There are several options in Avanti, like e.g. CD track extraction that are only there because I found it a challege to make it work. But for all these things are much better dedicated applications available like e.g. foobar2000 in this case. Or ProgDVB in my own case.
Do those webcams not include recording software?
And then there are the Windows 7/8 issues that make me reserved to add to much complex code to Avanti.
http://avanti.arrozcru.org/windows7.htm
Current 0.9.1 version seems to be rather stable but todays testing of new additions on Windows 7 didn't look very promissing.
Chris -
I've done this countless times before but for some reason the rotate function isn't working.
I've got a video I created in landscape mode but when I upload it to Facebook it shows up as portrait.
I used Avanti to re-render the video and rotate 90 degrees but it still plays back on Facebook in portrait mode.
Please Advise. -
The rotate option has FFplay preview. How does it look like when you preview with that. And the converted clip with a media player on your PC?
I can't find any issue with it. You must not only set rotate to 90 degrees but also enable the "Crop/Scale/Pad" option.
EDIT: It might perhaps happen when you set the destination frame size to "Source". Try with a fixed frame size.
ChrisLast edited by Chris K; 12th Apr 2015 at 00:02.
-
I'm having a problem with the audio on DVDs. When I import the stream the audio is recorded very low. I use Avanti to compress to MP4 with an AAC stream at 320kpbs and have to use the -afout filter to increase the volume, but then I get a ton of wishy-washy noise in the soundtrack. I find if I don't increase volume above 3 or 5 decibels it's not so bad but it's still there but it's still not loud enough. I realize when you increase volume you also increase noise, so can you recommend any additional options that might reduce this effect? I'm still exploring the import process if I can increase the volume but not the noice but since it's a straight copy of the AC3 tracks I don't think I really can. Thank you.
-
You could try to put the volume command in a -afin instead of -afout to see if that helps a bit. FFmpeg doesn't have a easy to use audio noise reduction filter. Bandreject could be useful but it's hard to find the appropriate settings for it.
Within Avanti I would try something with the 18-band equalizer. If your source is a mpg or vob, you can preview the audio with FFplay. The trick would be to lower the sliders one by one to see (hear) which one will help. You can increase the overall volume with the up/down buttons on the left. If you found something useful that way, you can save the settings in a FEQ preset which can be used in the -afin or -afout of your script. At the equalizer page, press <F1> for a few examples how to set it up.
Chris -
I have tried the v0.9.2 w/ FFmpeg x64 on WinXP64, and it works ^_^
which leads to my next question.... and I know its probably already been asked many times... loi ;D *mercy*
is there any chance there will be a 64bit version some day? =3(CPUz Report) -- Desktop - Win7_ultimate_x64 -- http://valid.x86.fr/ssns8i
(CPUz Report) -- Laptop - Win7_ultimate_x64 -- http://valid.canardpc.com/vfz8pk -
Chris have you able to solve the issue in Avanti latest version 0.9.2?
I have one requirement in which I have to convert multi channel sources. Please find below example for your detail.
Source File Name as per below:
1) Program Name1_Star
2) Program Name2_Zee
3) Program Name3_Disney
4) Program Name4_HBO
5) Program Name5_Discovery
I have to drop them into one watch folder and after conversion I wanted to move them in specific destination folder like below
1) Star
2) Zee
3) Disney
4) HBO
5) Discovery
And also wanted to rename the output files as per below.
1) Program Name1
2) Program Name2
3) Program Name3
4) Program Name4
5) Program Name5
Is this something I can do with the help of Avanti? Also wanted to know how many destination folder I can add? -
There is no 64-bit version of the programming language used for Avanti. I don't expect there will be any soon. It depends on the developer of the language.
Avanti can control 64-bit FFmpeg versions as you experienced. As for the performance of Avanti, it wouldn't give much measurable improvements. If you look at the Windows task manager during a conversion, you can see that Avanti's CPU usage max out at 5% at most. The average is 0-2% (0 means less than 1%).
Chris -
The two issues as mentioned in the earlier example are solved so converting a source simultaneously to two different output versions should work now.
I have one requirement in which I have to convert multi channel sources. Please find below example for your detail.
Source File Name as per below:
1) Program Name1_Star
2) Program Name2_Zee
3) Program Name3_Disney
4) Program Name4_HBO
5) Program Name5_Discovery
I have to drop them into one watch folder and after conversion I wanted to move them in specific destination folder like below
1) Star
2) Zee
3) Disney
4) HBO
5) Discovery
And also wanted to rename the output files as per below.
1) Program Name1
2) Program Name2
3) Program Name3
4) Program Name4
5) Program Name5
Is this something I can do with the help of Avanti? Also wanted to know how many destination folder I can add?
Chris -
Can I rename the file using time-stamp option as per below?
Source Name_Time-Stamp(Created Date & Time).wmv -
There currently is no time_stamp option for file names in Avanti (I will add it). But there are $$time.xxx variables that can be used for now.
Windows doesn't allow the colon : and slash / characters in file names so there are some limitations in formatting. I came to this...
Code:[USER_VIDEO_OPTIONS] -new -i "@source1" -dvs -das -o "@destin1_path/@source1_name_($$time.numdate-$$time.hour,$$time.min'$$time.sec).wmv"
source_name_(150420-14,38'51).wmv
Perhaps you can use this until I've added something decent.
Chris -
Chris I need to rename the output file as per the source created date and time not current date. Is it possible to add the same from media info?
-
Does that date/time shows up in the metadata (look at the enabled "metadata manager" after you've loaded a file). Not every video clip contains that. In such case MediaInfo also shows nothing.
A few mxf test clips of mine show the "modification_date" key. Do you mean that?
Chris -
except upgrading it to 64 bit will have to happen one of these days 32bit won't be supported forever, just like the 16bit DOS games of old...
(CPUz Report) -- Desktop - Win7_ultimate_x64 -- http://valid.x86.fr/ssns8i
(CPUz Report) -- Laptop - Win7_ultimate_x64 -- http://valid.canardpc.com/vfz8pk -
I guess you're right but I expect that by that time a lot of new FFmpeg gui's have seen the light. Avanti already has other restrictions that I cannot fix because of the programming language (no unicode/utf-8 support, not dpi aware). There will come a time I'll have to leave it to a new generation and quit my work on it.
Chris -
true, cmdline is great but GUI is just as great.....
NO Unicode support?! my goodness it must be old if it does not support Unicode loi
My favorite Text editor called Notepad 2:
http://www.flos-freeware.ch/index.html
and the last beta works perfectly..
ohh now I remember.. here it is in NP2's changelog(aka txt file)
New in Version 3.0.20 (released October 31, 2008)
- Notepad2 converted to a native Win32 Unicode applicationLast edited by Melchior; 20th Apr 2015 at 23:14.
(CPUz Report) -- Desktop - Win7_ultimate_x64 -- http://valid.x86.fr/ssns8i
(CPUz Report) -- Laptop - Win7_ultimate_x64 -- http://valid.canardpc.com/vfz8pk -
Avanti isn't a compiled application. It actually is a script interpreter (Gui4Cli) with a large bunch of scripts. I cannot "convert" the scripts to unicode if the interpreter doesn't support it.
The Avanti concept is almost 8 years old. Vista was just coming up. 64-bit OS' was not common yet for the average user. Let's say I only maintain it for my own fun. I still love that script language but perhaps I should not release new public versions at all. I never had any commercial (financial) interest in it.
Chris
Similar Threads
-
TEncoder 4.0.0 - Multithreaded GUI for FFMpeg and Mencoder (Support thread)
By ozok in forum Video ConversionReplies: 104Last Post: 4th Jun 2014, 10:10 -
GUI Encoders with Avisynth support?
By shagratt71 in forum Video ConversionReplies: 4Last Post: 13th Dec 2011, 05:27 -
AVANTI (FFMPEG) Question
By erichollis in forum Video ConversionReplies: 1Last Post: 18th Aug 2011, 15:54 -
Avanti - FFmpeg verison
By ABBrittain in forum Newbie / General discussionsReplies: 2Last Post: 22nd Jun 2011, 04:01 -
I need a supported build of ffmpeg for Avanti 0.4.8
By flashandpan007 in forum Video ConversionReplies: 1Last Post: 23rd Jun 2010, 09:28