VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I've little experience in video restoration and have a ton of old motorsport tapes on Hi8. Capturing via Amarec with Huffyuv codec installed.

I'm using this basic script based on some research on here. I have around 50 of these tapes and don't have time to tweak much of a script for each tape but if I can pick up some tips that would useful. Target is for YouTube - 1080p would be nice to get the better algorithm/resources but 720p is probably easier in terms of time invested and it still looks ok on YT. Using Staxrip to handle the script for ease of use - target files are ProRes MOV (Normal quality).

Would someone be so kind as to help me understand 1) examples of problems in the source avis 2) suggestions to improve upon the basic script? Some of these events are in forests which are dark, dull among trees, others were better lit. This was shot on a fairly basic consumer spec Hi8 machine.

To me some of the captures in amarec do seem more blurry but couldn't get on well with VDub.

Here are the samples - https://1drv.ms/f/s!AoYVwYm0qHh9lsUhmXjWjjijO-lAOg?e=4II2Ae

Code:
    #Audio was out of sync when using FFVideo - known problem with Huffyuv when there are inserted frames?
    AviSource("%source_file%", audio=false)

AssumeTFF()
    QTGMC(Preset="Fast")

#Crop overscan and add borders - fix right hand side issue on Sony camcorders with green bar
    Crop(16,0,-32,-12)
    AddBorders(16, 6, 16, 6)

#Resizing to 960x720 for YT
    nnedi3_rpow2(rfactor=2, cshift="LanczosResize", fwidth=%target_width%, fheight=%target_height%)

#Sharpen 
    aWarpSharp(depth=5)
    Sharpen(0.2)

## Potential to include some noise reduction? e.g. QTGMC(preset="faster",EZDenoise=4,denoiser="dfttest",sharpness=0.8)
    Quote Quote  
  2. Captures & Restoration lollo's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    You capture is excellent. I recognize the usage of a Hauppauge USB-Live 2 here (its histogram is unique).