VideoHelp Forum




+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 26 of 26
  1. How to see what default settings are set in libx264 and libx265? I use:

    -h encoder=libx265
    x265 --help

    but this does not give complete information.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Encode a short test in each and check in mediainfo
    Quote Quote  
  3. Originally Posted by gelo333 View Post
    How to see what default settings are set in libx264 and libx265? I use:

    -h encoder=libx265
    x265 --help

    but this does not give complete information.
    You can check ffmpeg source or encode sample video and verify information placed on header.
    Quote Quote  
  4. The FFMPEG site says options, but no values. So for almost all options. There is no information about libx265 at all. Mediainfo does not include all information.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by gelo333 View Post
    The FFMPEG site says options, but no values. So for almost all options. There is no information about libx265 at all. Mediainfo does not include all information.
    What info is missing ?
    Quote Quote  
  6. For example "tune". It is not clear what the codec is using. Profile, one is specified when encoding, and another in media info.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by gelo333 View Post
    For example "tune". It is not clear what the codec is using. Profile, one is specified when encoding, and another in media info.
    It's not mentioned directly, but it's inferred by other values
    Image Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	info.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	140.5 KB
ID:	73678  

    Quote Quote  
  8. thanks for answers.

    Can we conclude that the default is tune:none?

    And yet, why does FFMPEG nowhere indicate which codec settings are used by default?
    Quote Quote  
  9. I also noticed. The FFMPEG encoding log says profile High. Then I look in the mediainfo and it says Main@L3.1@Main. Why?
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    I believe it is tune none as the default.
    FFmpeg assumes the defaults of the encoder unless you override them
    Quote Quote  
  11. The main problem is that it is not clear what settings the encoder uses. I heard that there is an option for libx264/265 to use exactly the settings that are set to x264/265 by default. But probably there will be a following problem, where to find the description of settings and values for x264/265.

    Last question. Is it better to use libx264/265 or x264/265 with FFMPEG?
    Quote Quote  
  12. Originally Posted by gelo333 View Post
    The FFMPEG site says options, but no values. So for almost all options. There is no information about libx265 at all. Mediainfo does not include all information.
    You need to check source - information about defaults should be there
    Quote Quote  
  13. Originally Posted by pandy View Post
    Originally Posted by gelo333 View Post
    The FFMPEG site says options, but no values. So for almost all options. There is no information about libx265 at all. Mediainfo does not include all information.
    You need to check source - information about defaults should be there
    Sorry, I didn't understand you.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    I don't understand your issue. You pick a preset, and it adjusts all the settings to the correct values
    for that preset. Default preset is "medium".

    To see absolute defaults run x264 without any operands, do a test encode, then use Mediainfo for the details.
    Here's a simple BAT file
    Image Attached Files
    Last edited by davexnet; 7th Sep 2023 at 18:56.
    Quote Quote  
  15. Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    I don't understand your issue.
    My task is to control the process and understand what the encoder is doing.
    Quote Quote  
  16. Originally Posted by gelo333 View Post
    Originally Posted by pandy View Post
    Originally Posted by gelo333 View Post
    The FFMPEG site says options, but no values. So for almost all options. There is no information about libx265 at all. Mediainfo does not include all information.
    You need to check source - information about defaults should be there
    Sorry, I didn't understand you.
    Ok, if you will be more specific then it can be easier to help you. If you check ffmpeg source then information about used details should be there - ffmpeg is this type of software that you need sometimes check source to get detailed information.
    Quote Quote  
  17. I give another example.

    I write in the bat file
    -profile main10 -level 50 -tier main

    in the encoding log it is written
    x265 [info]: Main profile, Level-3.1 (Main tier)

    in mediainfo it is written
    Main@L3.1@Main, level-idc=0, high-tier=1

    my brain is breaking trying to understand this. Why can’t I just specify the parameters I need?
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by gelo333 View Post
    I give another example.

    I write in the bat file
    -profile main10 -level 50 -tier main

    in the encoding log it is written
    x265 [info]: Main profile, Level-3.1 (Main tier)

    in mediainfo it is written
    Main@L3.1@Main, level-idc=0, high-tier=1

    my brain is breaking trying to understand this. Why can’t I just specify the parameters I need?
    What is level 50 ? Should that be 5.0 ?
    Quote Quote  
  19. Doesn't matter. The result is the same.
    Quote Quote  
  20. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Something specific to your methods?
    The results from an encode in VidCoder looks OK:
    Image Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	l2.png
Views:	35
Size:	61.1 KB
ID:	73718  

    Click image for larger version

Name:	l1.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	79.0 KB
ID:	73719  

    Image Attached Files
    Quote Quote  
  21. I don't have any specific methods. Only the simplest things. I've tried several different builds of FFMPEG.
    Are you using some build from dave1?
    Last edited by gelo333; 10th Sep 2023 at 07:07.
    Quote Quote  
  22. How difficult is it to use non-included libx codecs in FFMPEG, but some third-party x264/265 builds?
    Quote Quote  
  23. Originally Posted by gelo333 View Post
    I give another example.

    I write in the bat file
    -profile main10 -level 50 -tier main

    in the encoding log it is written
    x265 [info]: Main profile, Level-3.1 (Main tier)

    in mediainfo it is written
    Main@L3.1@Main, level-idc=0, high-tier=1

    my brain is breaking trying to understand this. Why can’t I just specify the parameters I need?
    You can use -x265-params from libx265 to enter x265 cli commands. e.g. main10@level5

    x265 reference
    https://x265.readthedocs.io/en/latest/cli.html

    Code:
    -x265-params profile=main10:level-idc=5
    How difficult is it to use non-included libx codecs in FFMPEG, but some third-party x264/265 builds?
    You would have to compile it yourself to use it directly as ffmpeg libx264/5 ; or pipe ffmpeg to to a specific x264/5 binary . The latter is what most people do
    Quote Quote  
  24. Originally Posted by gelo333 View Post
    Doesn't matter. The result is the same.
    Hope you are aware that some encoder aspects can be controlled by their private settings - this is separate from regular ffmpeg settings

    For x264 you are using:
    Code:
    -x264opts
    and
    Code:
    -x264-params
    Similarly for x265 you are using:
    Code:
    -x265opts
    and
    Code:
    -x265-params
    Quote Quote  
  25. Code:
    x265-params profile=main10:level-idc=5
    This code helped. So I will use the variant FFMPEG with x265-params. And learn how to use x264/265 binary.

    Thank you.
    Quote Quote  
  26. Originally Posted by gelo333 View Post
    Code:
    x265-params profile=main10:level-idc=5
    This code helped. So I will use the variant FFMPEG with x265-params. And learn how to use x264/265 binary.
    ffmpeg can be tricky (that's why in case of doubts i recommend to ffmpeg inspect source), if you can try to use both '-x265opts' and '-x265-params' at the same time - i usually use command like this:
    Code:
    @SET x265opts=
    @ffmpeg.exe -c:v libx265 -x265opts %x265opts% -x265-params %x265opts%
    This efficiently repeat same settings but in past ffmpeg ignored settings if this was not repeated - now it is probably redundant but i keep it anyway.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads

Visit our sponsor! Try DVDFab and backup Blu-rays!