VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2
FirstFirst 1 2
Results 31 to 55 of 55
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Wrocław
    Search PM
    This code generates an H.264 file (-c libx264 switch).
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by rgr View Post
    This code generates an H.264 file (-c libx264 switch).
    It doesn't work. I've tried -i A Christmas Carol (1999) 4K Upscale AI.mkv -preset slower -c:v libx264 -crf 17 -c:a aac -b:a 192k A Christmas Carol (1999) 4K Upscale AI.mp4

    AND

    ffmpeg -i A Christmas Carol (1999) 4K Upscale AI.mkv -preset slower -c:v libx264 -crf 17 -c:a aac -b:a 192k A Christmas Carol (1999) 4K Upscale AI.mp4

    neither works. They say no such file or directory. Am I putting the command in wrong ?
    Think about this. Once bread becomes toast, you can't make it back into bread.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Wrocław
    Search PM
    Use quotation marks in names as I wrote earlier.

    ffmpeg -i "A Christmas Carol (1999) 4K Upscale AI.mkv" -preset slower -c:v libx264 -crf 17 -c:a aac -b:a 192k "A Christmas Carol (1999) 4K Upscale AI.mp4"
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by rgr View Post
    Use quotation marks in names as I wrote earlier.

    ffmpeg -i "A Christmas Carol (1999) 4K Upscale AI.mkv" -preset slower -c:v libx264 -crf 17 -c:a aac -b:a 192k "A Christmas Carol (1999) 4K Upscale AI.mp4"
    Good lord, I'm dense...
    Think about this. Once bread becomes toast, you can't make it back into bread.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by rgr View Post
    Use quotation marks in names as I wrote earlier.

    ffmpeg -i "A Christmas Carol (1999) 4K Upscale AI.mkv" -preset slower -c:v libx264 -crf 17 -c:a aac -b:a 192k "A Christmas Carol (1999) 4K Upscale AI.mp4"
    How long does this take ? It looks like the speed is .05x. If the file is 3.97gb, won't it take forever ? It's been a couple hours so far. I can't check the progress as the cmd doesn't say anything about the time it'll take and the resulting file doesn't have a size to it yet.
    Think about this. Once bread becomes toast, you can't make it back into bread.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Wrocław
    Search PM
    It depends on the speed of your computer. The size of the resulting file can be estimated based on the bitrate, but why?
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    It uses -preset slower, depending on your cpu it may take a while.
    4k video, even slower.
    You could change it to -preset medium, should be much faster
    with the trade-off of a bit larger final file (medium preset is the default if it's not specified
    at all)
    Could have set this up in HB or Vidcoder in about 5 minutes

    Some people like to learn the command line but not everyone
    Last edited by davexnet; 23rd Oct 2024 at 12:50.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Wrocław
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    It uses -preset slower, depending on your cpu it may take a while.
    You could change it to -preset medium, should be much faster
    Yes, because he placed emphasis on quality, and slower offers higher quality.

    with the trade-off of a bit larger final file (medium preset is the default if it's not specified
    at all)
    A slower preset does not mean a smaller file. Quite the opposite - the file is usually larger.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by rgr View Post
    Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    It uses -preset slower, depending on your cpu it may take a while.
    You could change it to -preset medium, should be much faster
    Yes, because he placed emphasis on quality, and slower offers higher quality.

    with the trade-off of a bit larger final file (medium preset is the default if it's not specified
    at all)
    A slower preset does not mean a smaller file. Quite the opposite - the file is usually larger.
    Interesting, I see in H.264 the slow preset often produces a smaller file than medium - slower behaves differently?

    In HEVC, I've noticed they get bigger as they get slower

    Here's a short test I did this morning with a 720p, 20 minutes short clip encoded to H.264
    The only thing changed in the encode was the choice of preset
    Image Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	presets.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	41.0 KB
ID:	83058  

    Last edited by davexnet; 23rd Oct 2024 at 16:29.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by rgr View Post
    It depends on the speed of your computer. The size of the resulting file can be estimated based on the bitrate, but why?
    What does the time part of it mean ? It looks like 00:00:00.0 Right now it's 00:10:42.17

    Also, it is at 911105 kib. what's kib ? What is the file size going to end up being ?
    Think about this. Once bread becomes toast, you can't make it back into bread.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    time is estimated time, bitrate-kbits is the average bitrate.
    You can also look at speed and fps to infer the amount time it will take
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    time is estimated time, bitrate-kbits is the average bitrate.
    You can also look at speed and fps to infer the amount time it will take
    I understood the kbits part. I was wondering about the Kib part. From what I could find, it's some weird way of measuring the size of the file.

    About the estimated time thing....is that estimated until the file is finished encoding ? Because the number keeps going up.

    bitrate is about 11000 and the fps is 1.6.....not sure what that means.
    Think about this. Once bread becomes toast, you can't make it back into bread.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Spottedfeather View Post
    Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    time is estimated time, bitrate-kbits is the average bitrate.
    You can also look at speed and fps to infer the amount time it will take
    I understood the kbits part. I was wondering about the Kib part. From what I could find, it's some weird way of measuring the size of the file.

    About the estimated time thing....is that estimated until the file is finished encoding ? Because the number keeps going up.

    bitrate is about 11000 and the fps is 1.6.....not sure what that means.
    speed= and fps= are directly related. (It's just math)

    if the original play back rate of your file is 24 fps (typical movie)
    and speed =2x, fps should be 48 fps.
    It means the encode time will be half that of the original movie playback time

    time= is not accurate, ignore it.
    any other questions put up a screenshot of this window see we can see what you're referring to
    Last edited by davexnet; 23rd Oct 2024 at 17:54.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    Originally Posted by Spottedfeather View Post
    Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    time is estimated time, bitrate-kbits is the average bitrate.
    You can also look at speed and fps to infer the amount time it will take
    I understood the kbits part. I was wondering about the Kib part. From what I could find, it's some weird way of measuring the size of the file.

    About the estimated time thing....is that estimated until the file is finished encoding ? Because the number keeps going up.

    bitrate is about 11000 and the fps is 1.6.....not sure what that means.
    speed= and fps= are directly related. (It's just math)

    if the original play back rate of your file is 24 fps (typical movie)
    and speed =2x, fps should be 48 fps.
    It means the encode time will be half that of the original movie playback time

    time= is not accurate, ignore it.
    any other questions put up a screenshot of this window see we can see what you're referring to
    here's the screenshot...
    Image Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Clipboard_10-23-2024_01.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	20.4 KB
ID:	83061  

    Think about this. Once bread becomes toast, you can't make it back into bread.
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Spottedfeather View Post
    here's the screenshot...
    What is your question?
    If you're talking about size=,
    it is the current size of the output in K bytes (you'll see it increases as the encode progresses)
    Last edited by davexnet; 23rd Oct 2024 at 18:24.
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    Originally Posted by Spottedfeather View Post
    here's the screenshot...
    What is your question?
    If you're talking about size=,
    it is the current size of the output in K bytes (you'll see it increases as the encode progresses)
    are kibibytes the same as kilobytes ? Any idea as to how big the final file is going to be ? The source file is about 3.97 gb. It's been encoding for about 6 or 7 hours now...
    Think about this. Once bread becomes toast, you can't make it back into bread.
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Spottedfeather View Post
    Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    Originally Posted by Spottedfeather View Post
    here's the screenshot...
    What is your question?
    If you're talking about size=,
    it is the current size of the output in K bytes (you'll see it increases as the encode progresses)
    are kibibytes the same as kilobytes ? Any idea as to how big the final file is going to be ? The source file is about 3.97 gb. It's been encoding for about 6 or 7 hours now...
    The size of the source is irrelevant. In any operation like this, the file is internally uncompressed before being encoded and recompressed.

    You can infer the final size and get a ball park figure.
    Using the frame= in the display, the actual frame count of the source and the current size you can
    do a rough calculation for final size. (I'lll leave the math to you)
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    Originally Posted by Spottedfeather View Post
    Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    Originally Posted by Spottedfeather View Post
    here's the screenshot...
    What is your question?
    If you're talking about size=,
    it is the current size of the output in K bytes (you'll see it increases as the encode progresses)
    are kibibytes the same as kilobytes ? Any idea as to how big the final file is going to be ? The source file is about 3.97 gb. It's been encoding for about 6 or 7 hours now...
    The size of the source is irrelevant. In any operation like this, the file is internally uncompressed before being encoded and recompressed.

    You can infer the final size and get a ball park figure.
    Using the frame= in the display, the actual frame count of the source and the current size you can
    do a rough calculation for final size. (I'lll leave the math to you)
    Don't leave the math to me. Do you know how long it's been since I've done any math ? 1998 was the last time I did any math. If I tried, it wouldn't end well....

    Also, I don't know the frame count of the source....
    Last edited by Spottedfeather; 23rd Oct 2024 at 20:03.
    Think about this. Once bread becomes toast, you can't make it back into bread.
    Quote Quote  
  19. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Spottedfeather View Post
    Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    Originally Posted by Spottedfeather View Post
    Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    Originally Posted by Spottedfeather View Post
    here's the screenshot...
    What is your question?
    If you're talking about size=,
    it is the current size of the output in K bytes (you'll see it increases as the encode progresses)
    are kibibytes the same as kilobytes ? Any idea as to how big the final file is going to be ? The source file is about 3.97 gb. It's been encoding for about 6 or 7 hours now...
    The size of the source is irrelevant. In any operation like this, the file is internally uncompressed before being encoded and recompressed.

    You can infer the final size and get a ball park figure.
    Using the frame= in the display, the actual frame count of the source and the current size you can
    do a rough calculation for final size. (I'lll leave the math to you)
    Don't leave the math to me. Do you know how long it's been since I've done any math ? 1998 was the last time I did any math. If I tried, it wouldn't end well....

    Also, I don't know the frame count of the source....
    To get the frame count from the source open it in vdub2 and you'll see it at the bottom right on the timeline

    For an approximation:
    a - total frame count from the source
    b - frame= from the ffmpeg window
    c - size= from the window
    d - final size

    d=(a/b) * c (divide this result by 1024 to get the size in MB's)
    Quote Quote  
  20. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    Originally Posted by Spottedfeather View Post
    Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    Originally Posted by Spottedfeather View Post
    Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    Originally Posted by Spottedfeather View Post
    here's the screenshot...
    What is your question?
    If you're talking about size=,
    it is the current size of the output in K bytes (you'll see it increases as the encode progresses)
    are kibibytes the same as kilobytes ? Any idea as to how big the final file is going to be ? The source file is about 3.97 gb. It's been encoding for about 6 or 7 hours now...
    The size of the source is irrelevant. In any operation like this, the file is internally uncompressed before being encoded and recompressed.

    You can infer the final size and get a ball park figure.
    Using the frame= in the display, the actual frame count of the source and the current size you can
    do a rough calculation for final size. (I'lll leave the math to you)
    Don't leave the math to me. Do you know how long it's been since I've done any math ? 1998 was the last time I did any math. If I tried, it wouldn't end well....

    Also, I don't know the frame count of the source....
    To get the frame count from the source open it in vdub2 and you'll see it at the bottom right on the timeline

    For an approximation:
    a - total frame count from the source
    b - frame= from the ffmpeg window
    c - size= from the window
    d - final size

    d=(a/b) * c (divide this result by 1024 to get the size in MB's)
    I just checked and it was at 61000 frames or so. I did what you suggested and checked the frame number of the original file...which was something like 168000.

    I'm sorry, but the file was encoding for at least 9 hours and it only got to 61000 frames. That is NOT happening. There is no way that I'm going to be doing this for 3 days.

    Guess I'm just out of luck in getting an mp4 that will play on my PS4.

    I don't know why people use mkv. My computer can't play them and my playstation can't play them, either.
    Think about this. Once bread becomes toast, you can't make it back into bread.
    Quote Quote  
  21. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by rgr View Post
    It depends on the speed of your computer. The size of the resulting file can be estimated based on the bitrate, but why?
    it took 9 hours to get 61000 frames on the slower setting. the source file is 168000 frames. Would changing the speed to encode faster lower the quality ? I'm confused. If I were to change the speed in that setting, what would I put exactly ?
    Think about this. Once bread becomes toast, you can't make it back into bread.
    Quote Quote  
  22. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Why don't you scale it to 1080p and use a faster preset?
    Try Handbrake. If you need some help setting it up, provide a short clip from your source file.

    On my PC, with its old AMD FX CPU and 8GB of DDR3, I get about 15 fps encoding 4k scaled down to 1080p using the "faster" preset

    See if this file plays OK on your device
    Image Attached Files
    Last edited by davexnet; 23rd Oct 2024 at 22:14.
    Quote Quote  
  23. Originally Posted by Spottedfeather View Post
    Any idea about if it's possible to change an H.265 file to H.264 ? I used that code, or a similar one, to convert an mkv file to mp4 so that my PS4 could see it, but it still won't play because even though the video is now mp4, it's still H.265, and not H.264.
    Use clever FFmpeg-GUI.
    Start it an follow the instructions.
    Then load your carol.mkv and follow the steps shown below.

    Image
    [Attachment 83067 - Click to enlarge]
    Quote Quote  
  24. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    Why don't you scale it to 1080p and use a faster preset?
    Try Handbrake. If you need some help setting it up, provide a short clip from your source file.

    On my PC, with its old AMD FX CPU and 8GB of DDR3, I get about 15 fps encoding 4k scaled down to 1080p using the "faster" preset

    See if this file plays OK on your device
    The file you posted plays fine. Won't I lose quality if I have it at 1080 instead of 4K ? The movie is a 4K upscale from the, I presume, 480p dvd.

    If I were to use a faster preset, how would I go about that ?
    Think about this. Once bread becomes toast, you can't make it back into bread.
    Quote Quote  
  25. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Look in the command line rgr gave you
    Change -preset slower to -preset medium
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads

Visit our sponsor! Try DVDFab and backup Blu-rays!