Hello,
I am trying my hand but to no avail.. someone can show me how should look property cutting and upscaling? I will be very grateful
Tools what I have avidemux and Hybrid.
this is my file :
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1UHP9ixQwmRCLIm_9XvIN_3EjbAd9LGX6/viewCode:Video ID : 256 (0x100) Menu ID : 1 (0x1) Format : MPEG Video Format version : Version 2 Format profile : Main@Main Format settings, BVOP : No Format settings, Matrix : Default Format settings, GOP : Variable Format settings, picture structure : Frame Codec ID : 2 Duration : 37 s 920 ms Bit rate mode : Variable Bit rate : 9 090 kb/s Maximum bit rate : 9 300 kb/s Width : 720 pixels Height : 576 pixels Display aspect ratio : 4:3 Frame rate : 25.000 FPS Standard : PAL Color space : YUV Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0 Bit depth : 8 bits Scan type : Interlaced Scan order : Top Field First Compression mode : Lossy Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.877 Time code of first frame : 00:04:24:12 Time code source : Group of pictures header GOP, Open/Closed : Open Stream size : 41.1 MiB (92%) Color primaries : BT.601 PAL Transfer characteristics : BT.470 System B/G Matrix coefficients : BT.470 System B/G
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 30 of 51
-
-
What exactly is the problem you are struggling with?
Your capture is pretty good quality, but if you absolutely want to process it you can basically use the video filters which are included in Avidemux and Hybrid, like:
- (bob-)deinterlace filter for deinterlacing the capture
- crop filter for cutting off the left/right black borders and the head swithching noise at the bottom
- resize (upscale) filter for scaling your cropped picture to the desired frame size and aspect ratio
Finally re-encode and remux the video + audio using the encoder and container of your choice (x264, mp4 for example)
You can do this with either Avidemux or Hybrid, but perhaps you may find Avidemux easier to use (menu Video -> Filter).
You may also google for YouTube tutorials.Last edited by Sharc; 22nd May 2022 at 11:18.
-
I tried QTGMC in Hybrid and resultat is awesome this is good choice?
Yes I want remove borders and head noise but I'm not sure how to set good size and after this upscale to 1080p?
I need export to Huffyuv after every process?
remove deinterlacing > save file to Huffyuv
crop > save file to Huffyuv or maybe crop and upscale can be done in one process?
What about noise and sharpen?
I notices after export to x264 QR-17) image is cleaned from details.
Thank you. -
Yes, QTGMC is fine
Then:
crop(12,2,-18,-10) #crop(12 left, 2 top, 18 right, 10 bottom) to frame size = 690x564
spline36resize(1440,1080) #upscale to 1080p, 4:3, square pixels (you can use a resizer of your choice)
Finally reencode and remux.
No need for intermediate huffyuv etc.
No need to do more denoising because QTGMC already applies some denoising. More denoising would just loose more details.
Also keep in mind that upscaling does not add or "recover" any more details.
Also, it would be better do use the original (lossless) .avi capture (if you have it) as your source for post processing, rather than the mpeg2 encoded version which you posted. It would avoid the mpeg2 compression step of your .ts file, means finally 2 compression steps which deteriorate the quality.Last edited by Sharc; 22nd May 2022 at 13:30.
-
How did your file end up in mpeg-2? How did you capture it? Basically for this kind of processing you want to start from a lossless file, AVI 4:2:2 720x576 50 fields/s, The process for a lossless file goes like this:
- De-interlace using QTGMC in fast mode to avoid excessive sharpening.
- Crop to the bare active video area in a ratio close to 704:576, meaning that if Vcrop is 570 lines Hcrop should be around 570x704/576=696 pixels, give or take, few pixels off are not going to be noticeable.
- Resize to 1440x1080, I personally find LanczosResize to be the best, less stair steps, yet less blurring.
- Encode to h.264
Frame Work:
Code:AviSource("C:\file path\file.avi") AssumeTFF() OR AssumeBFF() QTGMC(Preset="Fast") Crop(HL, VT, HR, VB) (H horizontal, V vertical, L left, R right, T top, B bottom) LanczosResize(1440, 1080)
Encoding:
Code:ffmpeg -i Input.avi -vf setsar=sar=1/1 -c:v libx264 -crf 18 -x264opts colorprim=bt709:transfer=bt709:colormatrix=bt709:force-cfr -c:a aac -b:a 192k -movflags +faststart Output.mp4
-
"Also, it would be better do use the original (lossless) .avi capture "
Yes I know but I use pioneer dvr-560h recorderso far... soon I will test crop and upscaling. Thx.
-
Yes as I mentioned above it is better to use the original lossless capture, I guess we posted at the same time. Upload a short lossless sample here (<500MB) and I will give it a go and then you can use the same parameters I used.
-
Hmm I'm not sure what you mean this sample file "mpeg-2" this is my only file what I have, I use pioneer dvr-560h to capture image from vcr and burn on disc. And this file is from dvd disc
.
-
So far I tried Hybrid I don't know yet how to use script
QTGMC_Fast_Lanczos_x264_QR18_696x570_to_1080
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1c9g7-8lTByf1cSJsUHoYwhNa4eufhN5a/view?usp=sharing
QTGMC_Fast_Lanczos_x264_QR18_690x564_to_1080
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1GighongG8p4zdl4DDyYPBAGxpdd6b-qa/view?usp=sharing -
Capturing straight to mpeg-2 leaves no room for editing, It is acceptable for direct playback. Anything you do to it requires re-encoding, after you do all those processes mentioned above there will be no quality left in the final file. Maybe it's time to start learning how to capture lossless, plenty of threads here and the learning curve is quite steep.
But it all depends on someone expectations, if you are happy with what you are doing that's all what matters. -
-
-
users currently on my ignore list: deadrats, Stears555, marcorocchini
-
I simply enabled:
- Filtering->Vapoursynth->DeBlock->Deblock_QED, and
- Filtering->Vapoursynth->DeGrain->TemporalDeGrain
In general you might want to:- enable: "Filtering->Filter view" (by default this will cause the AviSynth/Vapoursynth preview to show a dual view preview which shows the original on the left and the filtered version on the right.
- enable "Filtering->Synth auto referesh" which will automatically refresh the preview on any filtering change.
Cu Selurusers currently on my ignore list: deadrats, Stears555, marcorocchini -
Thx, I have also diffrent question about Hybrid and AviSynth/Vapoursynth, linux manjaro this is my native system but so far I cant enable AviSynth/Vapoursynth I dont know why but Hybrid dont see anything.
I have installed :
https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/hybrid-encoder
vapoursynth R58-1
So everything what I doing this is a virtual machine with win10, can you help me? thank you. -
a. That is something that you should lead your post with.
b. There are some users over at forum.selur.net like Wisper who use Arch Linux and Hybrid with Vapoursynth, they probably can help you, if you ask them on how to setup Hybrid on Arch Linux based system
Cu Selur
Ps.: There is no AviSynth support on Linux in Hybrid.users currently on my ignore list: deadrats, Stears555, marcorocchini -
-
Thanks. Apparently I have missed this option
(actually I hardly ever upscale). -
I know about this function from here https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/404634-NTSC-VHS-summary-6-Hybrid-for-Conversions-D...scaling-to-MP4
-
Technically, your script should include ColorMatrix(mode="Rec.601->Rec.709") or your ffmpeg command-line should do this conversion. Currently you're starting with 601 and then telling x264 that it's 709.
My YouTube channel with little clips: vhs-decode, comparing TBC, etc. -
-
Strickly speaking the conversion to 709 is not needed, it's only used by users which do either not properly set the VUI information in the video stream or do not trust that the player they use properly follow the VUI tags.
Cu Selurusers currently on my ignore list: deadrats, Stears555, marcorocchini -
Strickly speaking the conversion to 709 is not needed, it's only used by users which do either not properly set the VUI information in the video stream or do not trust that the player they use properly follow the VUI tags.
In addition, I suspect that an upscaled 1280x1440 HuffYUV file as mentioned have no flags or tags. -
AFAIK, when converted back to RGB for display, HD is generally considered as Rec709. The proper way to upscale is to add the ColorMatrix conversion (YUV 601 to YUV 709) before the resizing.
HuffYUV file as mentioned have no flags or tags.users currently on my ignore list: deadrats, Stears555, marcorocchini -
Indeed, we are talking about VHS PAL
-
Source doesn't really matter, whether the used format supports vui tagging and whether the used software properly respects the tagging is the question.
users currently on my ignore list: deadrats, Stears555, marcorocchini
Similar Threads
-
NTSC VHS summary 6: Hybrid for Conversions, Deinterlacing, Upscaling to MP4
By brockway in forum Video ConversionReplies: 8Last Post: 28th Oct 2022, 10:54 -
NTSC VHS newbie summary #5: Resolution mp4 creation & upscaling
By brockway in forum Video ConversionReplies: 0Last Post: 29th Jan 2022, 09:43 -
hardware setup for VHS digitization and upscaling home tapes - suggestions?
By ghost2k8 in forum RestorationReplies: 9Last Post: 23rd Dec 2021, 12:41 -
Upscaling VHS & Hi8 to high definition?
By BenKlesc in forum Capturing and VCRReplies: 12Last Post: 20th May 2021, 11:58 -
Is a UK PAL video tape compatible with a continental Europe PAL VHS/S-VHS p
By arjaydavis in forum Capturing and VCRReplies: 7Last Post: 21st May 2019, 03:38