As I understand it both of them are codecs but people are telling me that both of them are in the same track with AC3 at the core, what does that mean and how is that possible? Isn't only one codec used for each track and isn't AC3 a lossy codec?
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 28 of 28
-
-
The way I understand it, TrueHD and AC3 are separate audio streams, but in the case of Bluray players at least, they're seen by the player as a single audio track, and the player can decode either just the AC3, which is lossy, or the TrueHD, which isn't..... assuming it supports TrueHD (it's optional for Bluray players). TrueHD doesn't have an AC3 "core" as such. They're two independent streams. The lossless TrueHD can be decoded on it's own without needing data from the AC3 stream.
The "core" concept probably comes from the way DTS works. In the case of DTS, backwards compatibility was achieved in a different way. DTS-HD has a lossy "core" as well as a stream containing the data required to "make up the difference" between the lossy encoding and the original lossless audio. In that respect they're tied together. A player can decode just the lossy core, or if it supports DTS-HD it can decode the core along with the additional data required for lossless. -
That is my understanding of both of those codec families as well.
Scott -
-
-
Plus for Bluray there's three compulsory formats all players must be able to decode. AC3, DTS and PCM. BD-ROM titles must use one of those types for the primary soundtrack. The newer formats, Dolby Digital Plus and DTS-HD High Resolution (lossy) and Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio (lossless) are all optional. So if a Bluray title was to contain only Dolby audio, it'd have to contain AC3 as it's one of the compulsory formats.
Chances are some of the budget model Bluray players only supported the compulsory formats, at least in the early days.
I haven't worked with much TrueHD audio but if you open a Bluray title using MeGUI's HD Streams Extractor (a GUI for eac3to). It shows a single TrueHD stream you can extract with a thd+ac3 extension, with a thd extension or with an ac3 extension, and that gives you both thd+ac3 together, just the TrueHD or just the AC3 respectively. If you open the thd+ac3 extracted file with MKVMergeGUI it shows two individual streams, so it's kind of like the thd+ac3 are together in a container which is in turn inside the m2ts file on the disc. -
AC3/DD5.1 -> core of Dolby TrueHD and Atmos
DTS -> core of DTS-HD
Here's some info from my Bluray:
TrueHD
Dolby TrueHD Audio English 1540 kbps 5.1 / 48 kHz / 1540 kbps / 16-bit (AC3 Core: 5.1 / 48 kHz / 640 kbps)
Atmos
Dolby TrueHD Audio / 7.1 / 48 kHz / 4512 kbps / 24-bit (AC3 Embedded: 5.1-EX / 48 kHz / 640 kbps)
DTS-HD
DTS-HD Master Audio English 4229 kbps 7.1 / 48 kHz / 4229 kbps / 24-bit (DTS Core: 5.1 / 48 kHz / 1509 kbps / 24-bit) -
I came across this thread: http://www.makemkv.com/forum2/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=7168&start=15 . In general it's about confusing bits in makeMKV GUI and possible fixes, but the posts there can give some helpful hints.
-
Here's the info:
TrueHD/AC3 (Atmos), 7.1 channels, 48kHz (embedded: AC3, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48kHz, dialnorm: -27dB)
Extraction settings:
eac3to "C:\Users\User\Desktop\00466.m2ts" "C:\Users\User\Desktop\out.thd+ac3"
eac3to "C:\Users\User\Desktop\out.thd+ac3" "C:\Users\User\Desktop\core.ac3"
encoding settings:
ffmpeg -y -threads 12 -loglevel fatal -i out.thd+ac3 -ac 23 -ar 48000 -f sox - | sox --multi-threaded --ignore-length -S -t sox - -t sox - | ffmpeg -y -threads 12 -f sox -i - -b:a 448k -ac 6 -ar 48000 encode.ac3
or
ffmpeg -i out.thd+ac3 -c:a ac3 -ac 6 -b:a 448k -r:a 48000 encode_2.ac3
without normalise input command
Here's the comparison
http://i.cubeupload.com/9DQcUc.png
The ac3 encode sounds louder & more like dts (in crash scene) than the ac3 core
-> The fact, not all TrueHD / Atmos contain AC3/DD5.1 core, it's because:
1. Remux to mkv using mkvmerge.
Mkvmerge can't mux the TrueHD / Atmos that contain AC3/DD5.1 core, it just can mux the TrueHD / Atmos stream and the AC3/DD5.1 core stream separately. It's really annoying
2. Using this command
eac3to "C:\Users\User\Desktop\00466.m2ts" "C:\Users\User\Desktop\out.thd"
proper:
eac3to "C:\Users\User\Desktop\00466.m2ts" "C:\Users\User\Desktop\out.thd+ac3"
3. The source itselfLast edited by anana; 15th Sep 2015 at 05:52.
-
Unlike DTS, True HD doesn't have a "core" of AC3, but rather uses AC3 as an optional fallback.
Scott -
Those are encoding cmd lines, not demuxing, is it not? To extract stream you'd need something like:
Code:eac3to.exe "H:\BDMV" 1) 3: "Z:\destination\extract.THD+AC3"
Code:eac3to.exe "00001.m2ts" 3: "Z:\destination\extract.THD+AC3"
-
Yes, you're right
ac3/dd5.1 isn't TrueHD / Atmos core, but TrueHD / Atmos spec required to embed the ac3/dd5.1 core (for optional fallback)
No, it isn't. My commad and yours produce the same TrueHD file (just check the hash files)
Your commands just more specificLast edited by anana; 15th Sep 2015 at 17:50.
-
ok, I try it when there is a time, but further, concerning extracting core from already demuxed stream:
Code:eac3to "C:\Users\User\Desktop\out.thd+ac3" "C:\Users\User\Desktop\core.ac3" -core
Code:eac3to "C:\Users\User\Desktop\out.thd+ac3" "C:\Users\User\Desktop\core.ac3"
Last edited by _Al_; 15th Sep 2015 at 18:23.
-
-
ok, if there is a switch -384 for example, it encodes to 384 kbps, if no switch is present, default is 640kbps, but in bot cases, there is some encoding involved even if -core switch is present only. Log file with just -core switch looks like this:
Code:DTS Master Audio, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 48kHz (core: DTS, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 1509kbps, 48kHz) Extracting DTS core... Decoding with ArcSoft DTS Decoder... Remapping channels... Encoding AC3 <640kbps> with libAften... Creating file "Z:\destinatin\core.AC3"... The original audio track has a constant bit depth of 24 bits. eac3to processing took 4 minutes, 55 seconds. Done.
-
Last edited by anana; 16th Sep 2015 at 17:19.
-
I got a hint from the other thread concerning DTS MA, target must be *.DTS with -core switch in eac3to cmd line, then just core is extracted. If the target is *.AC3, then that core is encoded to 640kbps AC3. Do not want to bring confusion here, this is a thread about True HD+AC3, not DTSMA though.
-
Here's my new test result:
1.
Code:eac3to "C:\Users\User\Desktop\a.mkv" "C:\Users\User\Desktop\dtshd.dts"
Code:eac3to "C:\Users\User\Desktop\a.mkv" "C:\Users\User\Desktop\core.dts" -core
Code:eac3to "C:\Users\User\Desktop\dtshd.dts" "C:\Users\User\Desktop\dtshd_2.dts"
2.
Code:eac3to "C:\Users\User\Desktop\00466.m2ts" "C:\Users\User\Desktop\core.ac3"
Code:eac3to "C:\Users\User\Desktop\TrueHD.thd+ac3" "C:\Users\User\Desktop\core_2.ac3"
Code:eac3to "C:\Users\User\Desktop\TrueHD.thd" "C:\Users\User\Desktop\encode.ac3"
Code:eac3to "C:\Users\User\Desktop\core_2.ac3" "C:\Users\User\Desktop\core_3.ac3"
Last edited by anana; 20th Sep 2015 at 05:38.
Similar Threads
-
Handbrake and Dolby TrueHD
By lordhutt in forum Video ConversionReplies: 0Last Post: 11th Jul 2013, 17:33 -
What happended to Dolby TrueHD
By ron spencer in forum Newbie / General discussionsReplies: 19Last Post: 27th Jun 2013, 09:11 -
multiAVCHD with intermittent sound in Dolby TrueHD
By wisitch in forum Authoring (Blu-ray)Replies: 1Last Post: 14th Jun 2012, 09:42 -
Where to find infos about Dolby TrueHD structure?
By Selur in forum AudioReplies: 7Last Post: 7th Jul 2011, 10:10 -
DVD-Audio to Dolby TrueHD or DTS-HD
By greymalkin in forum AudioReplies: 2Last Post: 20th Apr 2011, 11:01