VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Greetings,

I have some coded video files with a tall bit-rates and I'm trying to codify them (transcode?) To save the space. Obviously the priority is the quality of the video.
    To check the quality I am trying to use both PSNR/SSIM/VMAF and the eyes that have precedence.

I started coding using Staxrip and in particular I use NVENCC H265 of Rigaya that uses my RTX3060.
    Coding so that you can check the Bitrate Max because the videos will be broadcast via wifi to my TVs.
    In particular, I use the "Quality VBR" to control the maximum "bit-rate" and I would like to have more details /grain without having to increase the bit-rate too much.

But the results I am getting are not satisfying me.

So I'm considering using the X265 software coding (CPU and Non GPU).
    I did some tests with "tune grain" but I'm not visually satisfied.

My questions are:

GPU
    1) What are the optimal parameters to obtain more details/grain for the NVIDIA NVIDIA NVENCC CODEC of Rigaya (with API 12.2) in "Quality VBR" mode?

2) Why does VMAF generally increase if I don't use B-FRAME? (I compared two codes that have the same "bit-rates"/used space)

CPU
    3) Since Tune Grain does not serve to keep/remove grain but only to prevent artifact in the event of an irregular grain, as I know if I have to apply it or not.

4) What other parameters can help me to get more details/grain in X265 for the same "bitrate"/used space?
    Quote Quote  
  2. 1) The best way is to use 10 bit encoding. Even if your source is 8 bit. This is true for both x265 and NVENCC. Fortunately, most players and devices that support HEVC also support 10 bit HEVC. The same is not true for AVC where few devices support 10 bit encoding.