I'm having trouble converting ota .TS files (source humax PVR) to mkv
A simple convert fails most of the time. Any content in the TS wrapper seems to fail
(ie not just mpeg2 or h264 or whatever)
The TS files all play fine in MPLAYER2 on a PC they just dont convert to MKV with ffmpeg
The source signal is good - but I'm suspecting this has
something to do with how TS files are broadcast?
The files are not encrypted (standard SD)
Older versions of ffmpeg have the same result
(I've only recently tried to do this.)
Does anyone have any ideas on a likely cause?
Thanks
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
-
-
Try clever Ffmpeg-GUI.
Load your ts file, click main, click multiplex, select mkv as container, click multiplex.
Done. -
Thanks both - I've tried other front ends without success
but not your suggestions so far - I'll take a look but I still need
to identify my problem, -
Don't forget many OTA .ts files are encrypted, especially movies and when recorded from subscription channels. SD as well as HD channels can be encrypted but when played back on the original machine that recorded them they will look fine. I have a Humax PVR here and edit the commercial breaks out of movies so I can watch them without one finger on the fast forward button but I use Linux so my solution probably wouldn't work for you.
Brian. -
I use the following commercial software to convert the video files from my Xoro receiver (PVR) from .ts to mkv/mp4.
This tool checks the video and audio tracks and can repair damaged audio/video streams. I think it cut out the damaged scenes.
The usage is very easy and it can remove advertising areas within the video file.
It is also possible to remove unwanted audio streams of different languages, subtitles and unused data streams.
Maybe you want to test the trial version first:
http://www.cypheros.de/eng/tsdoc3.html -
For non encrypted .TS files just drag them into MKVToolNix - tick or untick the boxes of the content, soundtracks and subtitles that you want or don't want, click on the middle button "Start Multplexing" -> Done. I do this weekly and have done so since MKVToolnix came out eons ago.
or if you need to edit and check for transmission errors, as others have suggested use TS Doctor http://www.cypheros.de/eng/tsdoc3.htmlSONY 75" Full array 200Hz LED TV, Yamaha A1070 amp, Zidoo UHD3000, BeyonWiz PVR V2 (Enigma2 clone), Chromecast, Windows 11 Professional, QNAP NAS TS851 -
Following on from netmask56:
These are my batch files.
I use mkvmerge to create an output, then that file into ffmpeg to boost the audio/no clipping.
Create the batch file(s).
Drag and drop a recording onto it.
No Subtitles.cmd
Code:@echo off :loop "C:\Program Files\MKVToolNix\mkvmerge.exe" --ui-language en --output "%~n1-temp.mkv" --no-subtitles --language 0:eng --language 1:eng "%~1" --track-order 0:0,0:1 --probe-range-percentage 0.50 ffmpeg.exe -i "%~n1-temp.mkv" -c:v copy -c:a aac -ac 2 -b:a 256k -disposition forced -avoid_negative_ts 1 -max_interleave_delta 0 -af dynaudnorm -ar 48000 -threads 0 -y "%~n1.mkv" shift if not %1=="" goto :loop :end
Code:@echo off :loop "C:\Program Files\MKVToolNix\mkvmerge.exe" --ui-language en --output "%~n1-temp.mkv" --language 0:eng --language 1:eng "%~1" --track-order 0:0,0:1,1:0 --probe-range-percentage 0.50 ffmpeg.exe -i "%~n1-temp.mkv" -c:v copy -c:a aac -ac 2 -b:a 256k -disposition forced -avoid_negative_ts 1 -max_interleave_delta 0 -af dynaudnorm -ar 48000 -c:s copy -threads 0 -y "%~n1.mkv" shift if not %1=="" goto :loop :end
You will need to tweak for your requirements.
Cheers.Last edited by pcspeak; 11th Dec 2022 at 15:49. Reason: Bad English
-
Sorry for the delay ...
netask56 - but that's the problem - that causes the truncation.
I'll take a look at pcspeaks suggestion.
thanks.
PS TS Doctor neither detects nor fixes the issue.
It reports the files as clean. -
Have you tried to simply extract directly from the TS file the elements you need? ie sound picture and subs and then remuxing in whatever container you need?
SONY 75" Full array 200Hz LED TV, Yamaha A1070 amp, Zidoo UHD3000, BeyonWiz PVR V2 (Enigma2 clone), Chromecast, Windows 11 Professional, QNAP NAS TS851
Similar Threads
-
ffmpeg MKV to MP4 without rencode makes output frame rate variable?
By Anonymous543 in forum Newbie / General discussionsReplies: 26Last Post: 1st May 2024, 17:05 -
ffmpeg mkv dts to mkv pcm24 bit
By insurancepi in forum Newbie / General discussionsReplies: 13Last Post: 15th Mar 2022, 13:02 -
Converting .TS with variable frame rate to .MKV
By MeltdownSpectre in forum Video ConversionReplies: 3Last Post: 4th Jun 2020, 02:11 -
Need variable frame rate ffmpeg
By Budman1 in forum Video ConversionReplies: 15Last Post: 9th Mar 2020, 05:10 -
Audio rate not working ffmpeg
By Budman1 in forum Video ConversionReplies: 2Last Post: 28th Sep 2019, 15:13