VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Ok, so I'm trying to convert a 4k mkv movie with the main audio in DTS to a 4k mkv with pcm 24 but. After reading I found where pcm is lossless . Why you ask, I just bought an 85 inch 4k Samsung neo QLED and I'm using a hard drive to play files on my tv and quests what, Samsung does not support DTS via hard drive connected by usb, I know, odd. Anyway, I found a command line to do this and I'm new to syntax. I ran the command line and I received an audio codec error. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Below is the command line I used.

ffmpeg -i input.mkv -c copy -c:a s24be -acodec pcm_s24b output.mkv
    Quote Quote  
  2. Hard to say without you sharing the error message and output of ffmpeg, but "-c copy -c:a s24be" seems wrong since you on one hand tell ffmpeg to copy all streams and then tell it ot reencode a stream.
    users currently on my ignore list: deadrats, Stears555
    Quote Quote  
  3. I'm just wanting to copy the video quality as it's mkv hevc 265 but change the audio track from DTS to Pcm because pcm is lossless and my darn TV hard drive does not play DTS. So, yes, I'm copying the video and trying to change the audio. What command would I type ? I appreciate any help, this is so frustrating.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Code:
    ffmpeg -i input.mkv -vcodec copy -c:a s24be -acodec pcm_s24be output.mkv
    tells ffmpeg to copy the video and reencode the audio.
    If your source also has subtitle you probably want to add '-scodec copy' to let ffmpeg know that it should also copy the subtitles.

In case that does not work post the call you used and the output it produced.

Cu Selur
    Last edited by Selur; 4th Mar 2022 at 00:24. Reason: pcm_s24b -> pcm_s24be
    Quote Quote  
  5. Originally Posted by insurancepi View Post
    ffmpeg -i input.mkv -c copy -c:a s24be -acodec pcm_s24b output.mkv
    Try
    ffmpeg -i input.mkv -c:v copy -c:a pcm_s24le output.mkv
    Quote Quote  
  6. pcm_s24be = big endian