VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Often, when playing a DVD (VIDEO_TS) the player hangs on a user added menu.
    (Play all, play part so and so, etc)

The only workaround I know and use is to load it into TMPGEnc Video Mastering and re-encode the file to a .mp4
    This usually takes somewhere between 1h30 to 2h.

I am not an expert, but I wonder whether there is an easier way.

In the past I tried "WinX HDVideo Converter DeLuxe" but the results were disappointing, stuttering choppy video.
    Could not get it fixed. So I returned to TMPGEnc Video Mastering that got me good results, but it takes a lllonngg time.

Any alternative methods?

Thanks!
    Quote Quote  
  2. DECEASED
    Search Comp PM
    IfoEdit OR PgcEdit, I presume. No reencoding and no reauthoring required.
    "Programmers are human-shaped machines that transform alcohol into bugs."
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    If you're happy with just one big file, there are various options for doing so. I have written a guide using AVIDemux to convert the DVD to a single MPEG file, no recoding here. After you've got it set up, go down to the "Convert multiple VOBs to a Single MPG" section. Another option is to use DVDVOB2MPG. It will do a similar job; you'll end up with just a single MPEG 2 file.

If disk space isn't an issue, I suggest you leave the file in MPEG 2 and don't recode to MP4; it's just another encode which will reduce quality a bit.
    Quote Quote  
  4. @alwyn - THANK you so much! I really appreciate it.
    Downloaded AVIDemux and installed it, went through all the steps in your tutorial. It is easy and clear. Super.
    However, at the very very end (last paragraph) - "That’s it, now do a Save As..." there is no 'Save As' only 'Save'.
    and I regret I do not an option to save as MP4.

But.. no doubt I am doing something wrong.

The DVD is reduced from 4.3GB to 1.5GB, poor quality I am afraid.