VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I have a client who brought me a box of old Hi8 camcorder tapes to digitize, but I'm not experienced with Hi8 and I need some help sorting out a problem. I figured it would probably come up again at some point, so I went ahead and invested in a refurbished Sony EV-C200 deck to play them on for capture. It came with several Sony ProMP P6-60 tapes included that had some content on them, and I figured they would be good for testing.

My capture rig is tape deck to a Canopus ADVC-300 via S-VHS and RCA and then to the PC via firewire. I've used this rig for nearly 20 years to capture LaserDisc, VHS, whatever, with no issues. My problem is that the tapes that came with the deck play great and I can capture them perfectly, but the tapes my client brought me just give me a black screen like they are blank. If I fast forward while capturing, it captures a few seconds of old-timey static like a TV tuned to an empty channel.

My client's tapes are Fuji and Maxell as opposed to the Sony tapes that came with the deck, but other than that I can't find any difference. They are all Hi8 MP tapes. Why would some play fine, but not others? I can't go back to my client and say, "Gee, your tapes appear to be blank" for a lot of reasons, starting with I have no reason to believe they are and I don't want to look stupid to my client. I've looked through the manual and didn't find anything obvious, but is there maybe a switch somewhere? The only thing I've noticed out of the ordinary is that when the tapes are playing, the "STEREO" light on the deck display flickers off and on like it's not sure what it's receiving.

Anybody have any idea what might be going on here with these tapes?
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    I only can think they are Digital8 recordings?

How can you tell Digital8 vs. HI-8?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    TLDR that topic: read posts 21, 22 and 23. They contain the guts of the issue.