VideoHelp Forum



Support our site by donate $5 directly to us Thanks!!!

Try StreamFab Downloader and download streaming video from Netflix, Amazon!



+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 47
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2023
    Location
    Afghanistan
    Search PM
    I've been super impressed by the work of @stabbedbybrick with the awesome Freevine app. Being an old school VB coder from way back, I started playing around with making myself a GUI, basically to overcome my laziness in having to type out all these long commands every time.

    Since Freevine v1.0.0 was released last week, I looked a bit more seriously at tidying up my code and making it work with the new version. Then thought about the possibility of releasing it for others to have a play with too.

    So here we are. FreevineGUI v0.1.0 is now available at https://github.com/billybanana80/FreevineGUI

    Image
    [Attachment 74875 - Click to enlarge]


    Image
    [Attachment 74876 - Click to enlarge]


    Image
    [Attachment 74877 - Click to enlarge]


    Note: all the usual requirements for Freevine are exactly the same. This GUI just essentially kicks off the Command Prompt for you.

    It is Windows only and requires .NET 6.0 Desktop Runtime

    Have fun and let me know what you think.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Cool looking interface. I will give it a spin.

    Thanks.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2023
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    So I'm feeling like a bit of a dill. Is there supposed to be an actual .exe file in this package? I have turned off virus protection but still can't find it
    Quote Quote  
  4. Search, Learn, Download! Karoolus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2022
    Location
    Belgium
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by ringy9 View Post
    So I'm feeling like a bit of a dill. Is there supposed to be an actual .exe file in this package? I have turned off virus protection but still can't find it
    https://github.com/billybanana80/FreevineGUI/releases/download/FreevineGUI/freevineGUI_v0.1.0.zip
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2023
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks @Karoolus that did the trick
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2022
    Location
    Lesotho
    Search Comp PM
    Very nice indeed. Only problem so far is that it doesn't take into account python virtual environments.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2023
    Location
    Afghanistan
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by sipho View Post
    Only problem so far is that it doesn't take into account python virtual environments.
    I didn't consider that TBH. I'd have to understand how they work to then see if it is possible to incorporate.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2022
    Location
    Search the forum first!
    Search PM
    Isn't it nice how we are coming together as a community now and people are realizing the sky's not going to fall in if they release a few scripts or 'helper-goodies' such as this GUI, for everyone to use.

    Two years ago there was almost nothing that resembled a script being posted here.
    Noob Starter Pack. Just download every Widevine mpd! Not kidding!.
    https://files.videohelp.com/u/301890/hellyes6.zip
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2022
    Location
    Lesotho
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by billybanana View Post
    Originally Posted by sipho View Post
    Only problem so far is that it doesn't take into account python virtual environments.
    I didn't consider that TBH. I'd have to understand how they work to then see if it is possible to incorporate.
    Ok I figured out how to get this to work.

    Either,

    1. Activate the venv. You should see something like this.
    Code:
    (.venv) D:\freevine>
    and then run/call the freevine.exe program from within the venv.


    or

    2. Create a batch file that does all this.
    Code:
    @echo off
    PushD "D:\freevine"
    call ".venv\scripts\activate.bat"
    start "" "D:\freevineGUI\Freevine.exe"
    exit
    Afterwards you can close the cmd window that your program opens but not the program itself if you need to download more videos.


    So for those who are cmd prompt verskrik, your program will certainly help them.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    I dont get any information after adding a search or a url
    i just get
    'freevine.py' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.
    Help
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2023
    Location
    Afghanistan
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by mickmars View Post
    'freevine.py' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.
    Help
    That type of message would be typically if Python is not added to PATH on your pc.

    If you already installed python on Windows, you need to add Python command in the PATH variable.

    The complete path of python.exe can be added by:

    Right-click This PC and go to Properties
    Click on the Advanced system settings in the menu on the left.
    Click on the Environment Variables button o​n the bottom right.
    In the System variables section, select the Path variable and click on Edit.
    The next screen will show all the directories that are currently a part of the PATH variable. Click on New and enter Python’s install directory. Now you can use python directly from the command prompt without having to write its full path location.

    Try executing the command py --version; it will output the version of Python installed on your system.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    CMD now says
    C:\Windows\System32>python --version
    Python 3.12.0

    The variable now shows
    C:\Program Files\Python312

    Was I supposed to add a script of some kind after making the path ?

    when I attempt a seach, unfortunately it still says

    'freevine.py' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\Users\######\Desktop\IDM\freevineGUI_v0.1.0>

    I'm completely stuck
    Last edited by mickmars; 18th Nov 2023 at 00:03.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2023
    Location
    Afghanistan
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by mickmars View Post
    CMD now says
    C:\Windows\System32>python --version
    Python 3.12.0

    I'm completely stuck
    Python 3.12.0 is not supported by pywidevine, so won't work in any case. You need to uninstall/downgrade python to an older version like 3.11.4 (or run in a virtual environment which is probably not a great idea if you're currently stuck).

    https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/411643-Freevine-A-downloader-for-free-streaming-se...12#post2712367
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    I uninstalled the latest python 3.12.0 and installed 3.11.4

    added variable name "path" and variable value C:\Program Files\Python311

    CMD still says
    'freevine.py' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2023
    Location
    Afghanistan
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by mickmars View Post
    'freevine.py' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.
    What happens if you type py --version at the command prompt ? And then similarly if you type python --version ? Do you get the same error ?
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    when i type py or python the CMD shows me that 3.11.4 is installed
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2022
    Location
    Lesotho
    Search Comp PM
    @mickmars Don't take this the wrong way but have you actually installed Freevine from Stabby? You need this first before you can get the GUI to work. You also need your own CDM.

    I also strongly recommend using a virtual environment. It's dead easy to set up.
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2023
    Location
    Afghanistan
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by mickmars View Post
    when i type py or python the CMD shows me that 3.11.4 is installed
    Ok that tells me freevine.py is not in the folder where the command prompt is opening.

    If you have downloaded freevine from stabbedbybrick GitHub ie: https://github.com/stabbedbybrick/freevine/releases/tag/v1.0.2 then extract that to a folder on your pc. You will have a folder named freevine-1.0.2 with some files in it.

    You also need to download all the files as per GitHub and place them in this same freevine-1.0.02 folder.

    Image
    [Attachment 74931 - Click to enlarge]


    Then in freevineGUI go to Options and choose the freevine-1.0.02 folder as your Freevine Folder Location and Save it.

    Image
    [Attachment 74932 - Click to enlarge]


    You also need to create your L3 CDM in order to decrypt videos. That's the tricky part for you if you don't get alot of this stuff I'm afraid. This is all pre-requisite stuff to get any of this to work. it's nothing specific to freevineGUI. Good luck !
    Quote Quote  
  19. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2022
    Location
    Lesotho
    Search Comp PM
    @billybanana Any reason why the subtitles are placed in the respective show's folder but the video is saved in the root of the main save folder?
    Quote Quote  
  20. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2023
    Location
    Afghanistan
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by sipho View Post
    @billybanana Any reason why the subtitles are placed in the respective show's folder but the video is saved in the root of the main save folder?
    No idea. Same thing happens when you manually use the --save-dir parameter from N_m3u8DL-RE options in the command prompt. @stabbedbybrick may have an idea why it does that.

    Edit: tried a Channel 4 series and it put everything incl. the subtitles in my nominated downloads folder:
    freevine.py --save-dir "D:\Downloads" --season s01 https://www.channel4.com/programmes/off-season

    BBC it split it up. Interesting.
    Last edited by billybanana; 25th Nov 2023 at 00:26.
    Quote Quote  
  21. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2023
    Location
    Turkey
    Search Comp PM
    waww loking very nice will test it later
    big thanks
    Quote Quote  
  22. Got a question that is probably just user error. I wanted to download Jail S06E03 from CWTV. I got S01E01. Any idea what settings I have wrong? The URL is correct for that episode.

    Image
    [Attachment 75130 - Click to enlarge]
    Quote Quote  
  23. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2023
    Location
    Afghanistan
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by Onepunch View Post
    Got a question that is probably just user error. I wanted to download Jail S06E03 from CWTV. I got S01E01. Any idea what settings I have wrong? The URL is correct for that episode.

    I tend to use the main series URL and the season/episode numbers for best results. In this case:
    s06e03 https://www.cwtv.com/shows/jail/ works fine.

    Image
    [Attachment 75131 - Click to enlarge]


    If using the direct episode URL you still need to specify the season/episode number ie:
    s06e03 https://www.cwtv.com/shows/jail/pregnant-hooker/?play=10acfe62-c998-4f9f-8cbd-64baf3b549de

    This change from freevine >1.0.0 from memory.
    Last edited by billybanana; 29th Nov 2023 at 00:45. Reason: Updated
    Quote Quote  
  24. Originally Posted by billybanana View Post
    Originally Posted by Onepunch View Post
    Got a question that is probably just user error. I wanted to download Jail S06E03 from CWTV. I got S01E01. Any idea what settings I have wrong? The URL is correct for that episode.

    I tend to use the main series URL and the season/episode numbers for best results. In this case:
    s06e03 https://www.cwtv.com/shows/jail/ works fine.

    Image
    [Attachment 75131 - Click to enlarge]


    If using the direct episode URL you still need to specify the season/episode number ie:
    s06e03 https://www.cwtv.com/shows/jail/pregnant-hooker/?play=10acfe62-c998-4f9f-8cbd-64baf3b549de

    This change from freevine >1.0.0 from memory.
    Ok. I will give that a try.

    Perhaps adding a text input box next to the episode radio button for the specific episode might make the gui more intuitive for your next version release, or better yet a drop down box containing all the episodes available for download within a show or season. That should be something easy to add, I would think, as you already have the code to pull the titles in your radio buttons.
    Quote Quote  
  25. Did I do something wrong when trying to download just a subtitle?
    Image
    [Attachment 75137 - Click to enlarge]
    Quote Quote  
  26. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2023
    Location
    Afghanistan
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by Onepunch View Post
    Did I do something wrong when trying to download just a subtitle?
    Yes my bad. I have the incorrect command there. Should be " --sub-only". Will fix and update later today.
    Quote Quote  
  27. Originally Posted by billybanana View Post
    Originally Posted by Onepunch View Post
    Did I do something wrong when trying to download just a subtitle?
    Yes my bad. I have the incorrect command there. Should be " --sub-only". Will fix and update later today.
    No worries. Thanks for your efforts.
    Quote Quote  
  28. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2023
    Location
    Afghanistan
    Search PM
    I've fixed the issue with download subtitles only and also modified some code to change the order in which the saved downloads folder path is passed through to the command prompt. It means the subs are saved in the same downloads directory where required.

    New release is available here:
    https://github.com/billybanana80/FreevineGUI/releases/download/FreevineGUI_v.0.1.2/fre...GUI_v0.1.2.zip
    Quote Quote  
  29. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2022
    Location
    Lesotho
    Search Comp PM
    @billybanana
    It would be very useful to add options for the video resolution using radio buttons. To replicate this.
    Code:
    -sv res=576:for=worst
    It would really help those who are a bit afraid of the command line or just need to click.
    Quote Quote  
  30. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2023
    Location
    Afghanistan
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by sipho View Post
    It would be very useful to add options for the video resolution using radio buttons.
    I should be able to do this easily enough. Maybe a little design tweak as well, so it makes sense to the user. I started out to make this thing as simple as possible and deliberately left out many of the N_m3u8DL-RE options. But as I understand more about how the entire process works, I'm up for adding a bit more complexity
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads

Visit our sponsor! Try DVDFab and backup Blu-rays!