VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 7 of 8
FirstFirst ... 5 6 7 8 LastLast
Results 181 to 210 of 236
Thread
  1. @autodidact
    No problem. I'm glad to help. I have a question. Is it still possible to compile it with the old "Windows Vista" style or we are forced to use only the new extremely ugly so called "modern" "Fusion" style now with QT6?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by ask2018 View Post
    @autodidact
    No problem. I'm glad to help. I have a question. Is it still possible to compile it with the old "Windows Vista" style or we are forced to use only the new extremely ugly so called "modern" "Fusion" style now with QT6?
    I had to fix a build problem related to using the 'windowsvista' style with Qt6. i have uploaded new test builds in post #177 if you would like to try it out. I also referenced your post on running this build on 64-bit Windows 7.
    PB
    Quote Quote  
  3. @autodidact

    Thank you for updated builds. Now it looks much better with the "windowsvista" style. I tested now both 32bit and 64bit version (on 64bit Win7). For 64bit version everything I have written in my previous post is still valid. For 32bit version there is a problem, that the api-ms-win-core-synch-Win7 project on Github provides only 64bit binaries. So you need to compile 32bit dll on your own. I did that in Visual Studio 2015 and for some reason if I tried to compile 32bit version (64bit version works fine) I've been getting this errors.
    Code:
    LNK2001	unresolved external symbol WaitOnAddress
    LNK2001	unresolved external symbol WakeByAddressAll
    LNK2001	unresolved external symbol WakeByAddressSingle
    I've just removed/commented the 3 lines related to this and it compiled fine without it. I'm not sure if this is proper method, but compiled dll seems to be working fine with 32bit version of your build.
    Code:
    #pragma comment(linker, "/export:WaitOnAddress")
    #pragma comment(linker, "/export:WakeByAddressAll")
    #pragma comment(linker, "/export:WakeByAddressSingle")


    I guess it would be best, if you compile and add those dlls here to download , to make it easy to use for the people.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    @ask2018

    I have added the Windows 7 support libraries to the original post. Thank you again for testing the builds.
    PB
    Quote Quote  
  5. @autodidact
    I can confirm it's working fine with the dlls you added there. And btw. I have noticed one small visual problem with the QT6 "windowsvista" style builds. For some reason the info text at the labels like "Destination file", "General options", "Timestamps and default duration" etc. is no more black, but it's some red/orange color. This way it is not ideally readable - at least not on my classic theme with themes service disabled. Not a big deal, but black as before would be imho better.

    https://postimg.cc/0MrryYgr
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by ask2018 View Post
    @autodidact
    I can confirm it's working fine with the dlls you added there. And btw. I have noticed one small visual problem with the QT6 "windowsvista" style builds. For some reason the info text at the labels like "Destination file", "General options", "Timestamps and default duration" etc. is no more black, but it's some red/orange color. This way it is not ideally readable - at least not on my classic theme with themes service disabled. Not a big deal, but black as before would be imho better.

    https://postimg.cc/0MrryYgr
    If that is caused by using the deprecated "windowsvista" style with Qt6, it probably will not get fixed.

    Updated Qt6 test builds in post #177.
    PB
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2022
    Location
    France
    Search Comp PM
    Hello, happy new year, and i see this new year begin well with a nice gift.

    @autodidact
    Would it be possible to have a github of your build configuration/files ?

    Or is the process "simple", like previously and just have to change some lines in setup_cross_compilation_env.sh file ?

    Edit:
    By the way, tested the 32bits version on x86 Windows 7 (so a "true" 32bits OS), works fine.

    @ask2018
    I'm, while it's still possible (but it will probably be not for long), continuing build using QT5, so, if you check my github, you'll have version without the red/orange issue.
    My github
    Last edited by jpsdr; 1st Jan 2024 at 08:22.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member manolito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks autodidact for your work...

    I tested your latest test version (only the 32bit version) under Win7 pro 64bit, and everything works like a charm. I did not see the color problems described by ask2018, all colors look normal.

    I could not find anything that needs fixing, I'm a happy camper now.


    Thanks again and Cheers (and a happy new year)
    manolito
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    @jpsdr
    It is not currently simple since I setup manually to do a custom Qt6 build. I am thinking of a way to simplify and that may involve using the setup_cross_compilation_env.sh script. If you want to try, the place to start is integrating the patches into an official qtbase source archive (qtbase-everywhere-src-6.6.1.tar.xz) or I can upload one. Then we can go from there. I don't plan to setup a github but I will share and help with what I can and you are welcome to do so.

    Thank you for testing and happy new year!

    @manolito
    Thank you for testing and your valuable feedback. Happy new year!
    PB
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2022
    Location
    France
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by autodidact View Post
    @jpsdr
    It is not currently simple since I setup manually to do a custom Qt6 build.
    Thanks, that's what i was affraid of...

    This will be probably be out of my skills to figure out alone. At this point, i'll only be able to do things having a precise step by step guide (as there was provided by Mosu tu build mkvtoolinx), and as i suspected things be complicated, too much time consuming to produce such a guide.

    But, if by any chance you're able to simplify involving setup_cross_compilation_env.sh script, at this moment, maybe it will be more possible for me to do things.

    I personnaly have the color problem. If it was easely fixable, why not... But it's not, don't realy care.
    Quote Quote  
  11. @jpsdr Yes I know. I have RSS feed for your Github almost since you started with those builds and thanks for them

    @manolito Thanks for info. Maybe the color issue is somehow related to my system settings. I have the themes service fully disabled and I've got some visual issues already before on another software after it got some updates.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Here is release version 82.0.

    Note:
    Support for Qt5 has been officially removed but the code base remains compatible for now.
    Builds with modified Qt6 are now working on Windows 7/8.1 and are available in post #177.
    Image Attached Files
    PB
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member Ennio's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    Thank you autodidact.

    Having read the post of last weeks, I'm wondering what files I best use on my Win7 pc.

    When downloading your mkvtoolnix-64-bit-82.0-Qt5.7z (from previous post #192) and running it as portable, it seems to work. However after copying them and pasting/replacing in C:\Program Files\MKVToolNix installation folder it didn't.

    So what I did was first downloading AND installing Mosu's official latest v82.0. After which I copied your QT5 v82.0 files - except the mkvtoolnix-gui.ini file - and pasted/replaced them in the "new" C:\Program Files\MKVToolNix. All seems to work again.

    I'm wondering, did I do the right thing here? Or should I use the "modified QT6" builds you mentioned in post #177?
    And is it harmless to not replace the old mkvtoolnix-gui.ini file with the one in your dl? Reason is that this old .ini file keeps a lot of settings I'd hate to lose.

    Hope you don't mind me asking, I'm kinda lost here.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Ennio View Post
    I'm wondering, did I do the right thing here? Or should I use the "modified QT6" builds you mentioned in post #177?
    And is it harmless to not replace the old mkvtoolnix-gui.ini file with the one in your dl? Reason is that this old .ini file keeps a lot of settings I'd hate to lose.

    Hope you don't mind me asking, I'm kinda lost here.
    Hi Ennio.

    The archive that you downloaded has no ini file in it so it should never overwrite your settings. If you extracted the archive to a location and executed the program it would generate a generic ini file locally. You would certainly not want to copy this ini file over your current file and it appears you rightly excluded it in the second instance. You don't mention if you excluded it in the first instance.

    The archive is also portable by default. For installed locations, the procedure I would recommend is to extract the archive, delete the portable-app file in the data folder, then copy the files to the installed location overwriting the previous files. This should bring you up to date and preserve your settings.

    As for running the Qt5 or Qt6 version, while it is possible you should run whatever you are comfortable with. For Windows 7 users the Qt6 version does require additional libraries and this might put some people off from using it.

    I don't mind you asking and I hope this helps!
    PB
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member manolito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks autodidact for the new build...

    Tested (this time both 32bit and 64bit version), works great under my Win7 system. Much appreciated


    Cheers
    manolito
    Quote Quote  
  16. @autodidact

    Tested both your Qt5/Qt6 releases, 32 and 64 bit, they all work fine.

    Thanks for your hard work and contributions in keeping this useful program working on perfectly good OSes. It's appreciated!
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member manolito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Search Comp PM
    Quick (and maybe stupid) question:

    The latest version still works under Win7 without the three support files for Qt6. If I still copy these support files into the MKVToolNix folder, what will happen then?

    Will these files just be ignored because the software does not need them? Or will they be used no matter what if they are present in the folder? Would there be any advantage/Disadvandage using built-in Qt5 support instead of the Qt6 interface?

    Frankly I could not see any difference whether the three Qt6 support file were present or not. I was not even sure if these 3 files were even used at all. Any thoughts?


    Cheers
    manolito
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by manolito View Post
    Quick (and maybe stupid) question:

    The latest version still works under Win7 without the three support files for Qt6. If I still copy these support files into the MKVToolNix folder, what will happen then?

    Will these files just be ignored because the software does not need them? Or will they be used no matter what if they are present in the folder? Would there be any advantage/Disadvandage using built-in Qt5 support instead of the Qt6 interface?

    Frankly I could not see any difference whether the three Qt6 support file were present or not. I was not even sure if these 3 files were even used at all. Any thoughts?


    Cheers
    manolito
    Hi manolito.

    I have not tested that scenario so I don't know the precise answer to that question. The support files contain functions from later OS versions that the Qt5 build doesn't require so they are likely ignored, as you suggest.

    The only potential Qt5 advantage I am aware of at the moment is that the "windowsvista" style which both builds use, might have better compatiblity with it.

    The Qt6 advantage is really about future-proofing the non-official builds.
    PB
    Quote Quote  
  19. Member manolito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Search Comp PM
    Thank you autodidact, much appreciated...

    Cheers
    manolito
    Quote Quote  
  20. Member Ennio's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    @ autodidact

    A bit late but thanks for your clear answers
    Quote Quote  
  21. Member Ennio's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Ennio View Post
    After which I copied your QT5 v82.0 files - except the mkvtoolnix-gui.ini file - and pasted/replaced...
    Originally Posted by autodidact View Post
    The archive that you downloaded has no ini file in it...
    Sorry, I was mistaken. I redownloaded the archive and indeed there is no ini file. Before copying I think I made a first run with the portable. At which point a default ini file is created.

    Thanks again
    Quote Quote  
  22. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2022
    Location
    France
    Search Comp PM
    @autodidact
    Hi.
    I've update the mxe directory and trying to rebuild things using setup_cross_compilation_env.sh, but it fails during assimp build.
    I've applied all the commits except the one removing QT5.
    Are you able to build the new mxe ?
    Quote Quote  
  23. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jpsdr View Post
    @autodidact
    Hi.
    I've update the mxe directory and trying to rebuild things using setup_cross_compilation_env.sh, but it fails during assimp build.
    I've applied all the commits except the one removing QT5.
    Are you able to build the new mxe ?
    Hi jpsdr.
    I did run into that. It is apparently caused by a recent update to boost, which Mosu pushes ahead of mainline mxe.
    The fix is to change mxe/src/assimp.mk line 14 to "ON":
    Code:
    -DASSIMP_ENABLE_BOOST_WORKAROUND=ON \
    As you probably know, you will have to disable updating of mxe in the setup script otherwise any changes you make to mxe source will be overwritten next time you run it.
    PB
    Quote Quote  
  24. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2022
    Location
    France
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, thanks.
    I've saved my mxe directory when the QT5 support was removed, for now, i'm building using this "old" one.
    I'll try your fix this evening when back home. I try to build mxe the less possible (means running setup_cross_compilation_env.sh with a clean fresh empry mxe) , as it takes at least 2 hours on my PC to build.
    I'll check to disable mxe update on setup_cross_compilation_env.sh.
    Quote Quote  
  25. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jpsdr View Post
    But, if by any chance you're able to simplify involving setup_cross_compilation_env.sh script, at this moment, maybe it will be more possible for me to do things.
    This is an attempt to simplify building mkvtoolnix with a modified qt6. I can't guarantee that it will work in your build environment, but it should.
    1. Clone Mosu's mkvtoolnix and mxe repositories per usual.

    2. Make the changes to the mkvtoolnix sourcecode such as style, version name, etc.

    3. Download the build files from this post and extract them.

    4. Place the qtbase-everywhere-src-6.6.1.tar.xz archive file into mxe/pkg. This is the important qtbase package with patches integrated. mxe will download and build all other required qt6 packages.

    5. Place the qt6-qtbase.mk file into mxe/src/qt/qt6 overwritng the original. This has the correct checksum so our patched qtbase package will be used to build.

    6. Place the qt6.m4 file into mkvtoolnix/ac folder overwriting the original. This fixes the importing of the windowsvista style plugin when building mkvtoolnix with qt6. Assuming you changed the style in step 2.

    7. Place the setup_cross_compilation_env.sh file into mkvtoolnix/packaging/windows folder overwriting the original.

    8. Set the architecture you wish to build in the setup_cross_compilation_env.sh script. Run the script.
    The rest of the process should be familiar at this point. The setup script has been modified to put updating mxe and writing mxe settings into separate functions with updating commented out. We want to avoid having our custom files overwritten and updating qt6 will have to be a considered task (not automatic) as new patches will be needed.
    Image Attached Files
    Last edited by autodidact; 7th Feb 2024 at 15:17. Reason: Fix error in build files.
    PB
    Quote Quote  
  26. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2022
    Location
    France
    Search Comp PM
    Big thanks, i'll try.
    Quote Quote  
  27. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2022
    Location
    France
    Search Comp PM
    It failed, i first thought it was again the boost issue, but it seems not.
    Here the log, if you have an idea of why it failed.
    I installed qt6-base-dev, i thought it would be enough.
    Code:
    [pkg-list]  gettext libiconv zlib boost flac ogg pthreads vorbis cmark libdvdread gmp qtbase qttranslations qtwinextras qt6 qt6-qtmultimedia
    [check reqs]
    ...
    [download]    qttranslations-everywhere-opensource-src-5.15.12.tar.xz
    [build]       qttranslations          i686-w64-mingw32.static
    [done]        qttranslations          i686-w64-mingw32.static                                38992 KiB      0m10,643s
    [download]    qtmultimedia-everywhere-opensource-src-5.15.12.tar.xz
    [build]       qtmultimedia            i686-w64-mingw32.static
    [done]        qtmultimedia            i686-w64-mingw32.static                                58900 KiB      1m57,841s
    [download]    qtwinextras-everywhere-opensource-src-5.15.12.tar.xz
    [build]       qtwinextras             i686-w64-mingw32.static
    [done]        qtwinextras             i686-w64-mingw32.static                                6612 KiB       0m23,164s
    [build]       qt6-qtbase              x86_64-pc-linux-gnu
    
    Failed to build package qt6-qtbase for target x86_64-pc-linux-gnu!
    ------------------------------------------------------------
      CMakeLists.txt:213 (qt_build_repo_end)
    -- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!
    make[1]: *** [Makefile:903 : build-only-qt6-qtbase_x86_64-pc-linux-gnu] Erreur 1
    make[1]*: on quitte le répertoire «*/home/jpsdr/MKVToolNixQT6/mxe*»
    real	0m25,903s
    user	0m21,201s
    sys	0m5,775s
    ------------------------------------------------------------
    [log]      /home/jpsdr/MKVToolNixQT6/mxe/log/qt6-qtbase_x86_64-pc-linux-gnu
    
    make: *** [Makefile:891 : /home/jpsdr/MKVToolNixQT6/mxe/usr/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/installed/qt6-qtbase] Erreur 1
    Quote Quote  
  28. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    You will need to check this log:
    Code:
    [log]      /home/jpsdr/MKVToolNixQT6/mxe/log/qt6-qtbase_x86_64-pc-linux-gnu
    PB
    Quote Quote  
  29. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2022
    Location
    France
    Search Comp PM
    It says OpenGL test failed.
    What should i install ?
    Quote Quote  
  30. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jpsdr View Post
    It says OpenGL test failed.
    What should i install ?
    try installing apt-get install libdrm-dev libgles2-mesa-dev
    https://askubuntu.com/questions/1175877/struggling-to-build-qt-due-to-missing-opengl-libraries
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads

Visit our sponsor! Try DVDFab and backup Blu-rays!