Yikes! I didn't sanitize the files. I shouldn't post at 3AM.
I adjusted the instructions above.
Are you asking if the patches should have already addressed the issue? We are having to make a Windows 7 version of qt6 possible.
+ Reply to Thread
Results 331 to 360 of 366
-
PB
-
What i meant is that what there is at https://github.com/crystalidea/qt6windows7.git is supposed to provide a Windows 7 compatible QT6, and they have provided a supposed 6.8.1 Windows 7 compatible version code.
So, i was just surprised when you said the issue is that there is some code not Windows 7 compatible. -
Yes, and I was surprised when I saw how mkvtoolnix behaved when built with the latest patches.
Looking at the code I don't think it necessarily needs to be patched since support for older Windows is still there.
It also seems likely that the problem didn't exhibit to the patch maintainers, though I see someone has made them aware of it with 6.8.0 and it is labeled as a bug.
https://github.com/crystalidea/qt6windows7/issues/26
The use of directwrite and which version is based on testing during building and in our cross-compiling environment it finds support
for the latest version so doesn't use the fallback. So we configure the build for our needs.PB -
According the issue, it seems specific to Windows 8.1, and working properly under Windows 7, also, a fix was just commited.
When you said that mkvtoolnix wasn't working properly, it was under Windows 7 ?
Didn't have time yet to continue testing build... -
Tested on Windows 7 and 8.1, it malfunctioned on both.
This open issue is from Windows 7 and shows what I saw on Windows 7.
https://github.com/crystalidea/qt6windows7/issues/32
On Windows 8.1 it was a blank interface, no text.PB -
🚀
"Programmers are human-shaped machines that transform alcohol into bugs." -
Interesting. The screenshot shows exactly what I saw when I first started testing qt 6.8.1 on Windows 7.
The default font rendering in qt 6.8.x is using very recent directwrite3 features which I guess haven't been added to early Windows 10 versions. Looks like Mosu may have to make changes to his list of supported versions?
Just to note, the qt6 version in post #177 should also work directly on your version of Windows.PB -
From what I can tell the code changes in this commit from a year ago started showing up in release 6.8.0:
https://github.com/qt/qtbase/commit/0916415ef7e909b7347c790c509280ae524482b7
One example is the change from IDWriteFactory3 to IDWriteFactory6.
Microsoft documentation says IDWriteFactory6 requires a minimum of Windows 10 Build 16299:
https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/win32/api/dwrite_3/nn-dwrite_3-idwritefactory6PB -
Thanks, both versions (QT5 and QT6-MOD) work fine in W10 Version 1607 Build 14393 2016-08-02
-
THanks for the information! I have updated the download other versions with that information, https://www.videohelp.com/software/MKVToolNix#download
Last edited by Baldrick; 15th Feb 2025 at 04:04.
-
Many thanks autodidact. We all love what you do.
-
@Autodidact
Hello.
I had one question, but seeing your post with 91 version, now i have two...
I've tried to make a QT5 build of recent versions, but it seems that added feature breaks QT5 compatibility, my guess was that it was the new GUI features.
I thought it was the end of QT5, but seeing you made a build, maybe not. What change did you made in mkvtoolnix code ?
My first original question is about QT6 Windows 7.
As there was a new update to 6.8.2, and commits which (in theory) fixe mxe build and directwrite issues, i try to build QT6 using this new version without any more patch. I had a small issue i fixed, and now there is no error (it seems) during the build of "qtbase-everywhere-src-6.8.2".
But i have an error in the file "qt6-qttools_x86_64-w64-mingw32", wich is the following :
Code:CMake Warning (dev) at /home/jpsdr/MKVToolNixQT6/mxe/usr/x86_64-w64-mingw32.static/qt6/lib/cmake/Qt6/QtPublicSbomGenerationHelpers.cmake:73 (cmake_parse_arguments): The PROJECT_COMMENT keyword was followed by an empty string or no value at all. Policy CMP0174 is not set, so cmake_parse_arguments() will unset the arg_PROJECT_COMMENT variable rather than setting it to an empty string. Call Stack (most recent call first): /home/jpsdr/MKVToolNixQT6/mxe/usr/x86_64-w64-mingw32.static/qt6/lib/cmake/Qt6/QtPublicSbomHelpers.cmake:213 (_qt_internal_sbom_begin_project_generate) /home/jpsdr/MKVToolNixQT6/mxe/usr/x86_64-w64-mingw32.static/qt6/lib/cmake/Qt6/QtPublicSbomHelpers.cmake:434 (_qt_internal_sbom_begin_project) /home/jpsdr/MKVToolNixQT6/mxe/usr/x86_64-w64-mingw32.static/qt6/lib/cmake/Qt6/QtPublicSbomHelpers.cmake:397 (_qt_internal_sbom_begin_qt_repo_project) /home/jpsdr/MKVToolNixQT6/mxe/usr/x86_64-w64-mingw32.static/qt6/lib/cmake/Qt6/QtBuildRepoHelpers.cmake:354 (_qt_internal_sbom_auto_begin_qt_repo_project) /home/jpsdr/MKVToolNixQT6/mxe/usr/x86_64-w64-mingw32.static/qt6/lib/cmake/Qt6/QtBuildRepoHelpers.cmake:544 (qt_build_repo_begin) CMakeLists.txt:27 (qt_build_repo) This warning is for project developers. Use -Wno-dev to suppress it. -- Could NOT find Clang (missing: Clang_DIR) -- Could NOT find Clang (missing: Clang_DIR) CMake Error at /home/jpsdr/MKVToolNixQT6/mxe/usr/x86_64-w64-mingw32.static/qt6/lib/cmake/Qt6/QtToolHelpers.cmake:781 (message): Failed to find the host tool "Qt6::qhelpgenerator". It is part of the Qt6ToolsTools package, but the package did not contain the tool. Make sure that the host module Tools was built with all features enabled (no explicitly disabled tools). Call Stack (most recent call first): /home/jpsdr/MKVToolNixQT6/mxe/usr/x86_64-w64-mingw32.static/qt6/lib/cmake/Qt6/QtToolHelpers.cmake:83 (qt_internal_find_tool) src/assistant/qhelpgenerator/CMakeLists.txt:9 (qt_internal_add_tool) -- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred! make[1]: *** [Makefile:903 : build-only-qt6-qttools_x86_64-w64-mingw32.static] Erreur 1
Do you have any idea by any chance ? -
Hi jpsdr.
Adding this to qt6-qttools.mk should fix it:
Code:-DFEATURE_clangcpp=OFF
Change src/mkvtoolnix-gui/merge/tool.cpp line 1379 to:
Code:handleSourceFilesDroppedOnSpecialZones(&widget, fileNames, dropEvent->mouseButtons());
Code:#include <QDebug>
PB -
Thanks, QT5 worked but not QT6.
I've done this in qt6-qttools.mk, is it correct ?
Code:define $(PKG)_BUILD_$(BUILD) $(QT6_QT_CMAKE) -S '$(SOURCE_DIR)' -B '$(BUILD_DIR)' \ -DFEATURE_assistant=OFF \ -DFEATURE_linguist=ON \ -DFEATURE_clangcpp=OFF \ -DFEATURE_designer=OFF cmake --build '$(BUILD_DIR)' -j '$(JOBS)' cmake --install '$(BUILD_DIR)' endef
-
Running Win 7 x64, I just learned that with the latest NON-OFFICIAL build, 91.0.0, it's not possible to delay a subtitle (well, I can type in XXXXms in the proper place, but it has no effect on the output file). It's been so long since I last delayed a sub that I've no idea when this issue began, or if it's only an issue with the NON-OFFICIAL build. Any thoughts-ideas are very welcome. Ahhh, reverting to OFFICIAL build 68.0.0 (the last working with Win 7, I think?) allowed for the delaying of the subtitle.
-
@jpsdr
That looks to be correct. Did you get the same CMake error? If you continued the build with the new configuration, did it rebuild
the x86_64-pc-linux-gnu component first? You can remove mxe/usr/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/installed/qt6-qttools to make sure it does.
Other than that I'm not sure what the problem is.
@LouieChuckyMerry
I tested the delay of subtitles with the qt5 non-official build locally and it worked as expected. You may have something in your local environment that is interfering. If you tested a portable version of the older official version and your current non-official is an installed version, check for any custom configuration that might affect output.PB -
Thanks.
I tried your suggestion, but still the same cmake error...
No luck with QT6... -
It looks like a different switch is needed according to the documentation.
Try this instead:
Code:-DFEATURE_clang=OFF
On Debian / Ubuntu run `sudo apt install libclang-dev`.Last edited by autodidact; 19th Mar 2025 at 16:55.
PB -
The DFEATURE didn't work (even with removing x86_64-pc-linux-gnu), i'll try to left it enabled and install clang.
Have you been able on your side to make a QT6 version ?
EDIT
No better luck with libclang installed, still the exact same error message...Last edited by jpsdr; 20th Mar 2025 at 03:12.
-
Yes, the qt6 build is in post #177
This is how my qt6-qttools.mk is configured:
Code:-DFEATURE_linguist=ON \ -DFEATURE_designer=OFF \ -DFEATURE_clangcpp=OFF
Just another suggestion.PB -
Thanks !
Finaly this last one was the proper one.
And the 6.8.2 fixes everything (mxe build, directwrite) there is nothing to change in the code provided, except one line (at least for me).
Similar Threads
-
FFmpeg Windows builds at gyan.dev
By Gyan in forum Video ConversionReplies: 34Last Post: 11th Feb 2024, 10:46 -
windows dos batch cat: WHAT UNTIL A FILE EXIST ?!?
By marcorocchini in forum Newbie / General discussionsReplies: 4Last Post: 18th Jun 2020, 16:58 -
please delete. thanks
By mrjayviper in forum Video ConversionReplies: 0Last Post: 11th Feb 2018, 04:24 -
Why is there no Official Windows XP Sticky???
By SameSelf in forum ComputerReplies: 1Last Post: 22nd Jun 2017, 23:20 -
Official Windows 8 Thread
By artistmode in forum ComputerReplies: 55Last Post: 21st Apr 2017, 08:01