VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 25 of 25
Thread
  1. Everything I say is false koberulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    I have a PSD, which I've imported into After Effects and used in a comp. I've exported the comp as an RGB + Alpha PNG MOV file. Imported both into Premiere, but they're different colors - the MOV has much brighter reds.

    Taking a stab at it, I put the MOV through this AviSynth script:
    Code:
    qtinput("source.mov")
    ColorMatrix(mode="rec.601->rec.709",interlaced=true)
    ConverttoRGB32(matrix="rec.601",interlaced=true)
    Output as RGBA Lagarith. This solved the color problem, but I no longer had an alpha channel.

    So, I went to ffmpeg:
    Code:
    ffmpeg -i "file.mov" -pix_fmt rgba -c:v rawvideo -an "file.avi"
    Then AviSynth:
    Code:
    AVISource("file.avi")
    a = last
    MergeARGB(a.ShowAlpha(),a.showBlue(),a.showGreen(),a.showRed())
    b = last
    mask = b.ShowAlpha()
    ConverttoYUY2()
    ColorMatrix(mode="rec.709->rec.601",interlaced=true)
    ConverttoRGB32(matrix="rec601",interlaced=true)
    y = last
    MergeARGB(mask.ShowAlpha(),y.showRed(),y.showGreen(),y.showBlue())
    But that still has the color issue. Same if I add "return b" at the end.

    This is just Googling and throwing the results at it, I don't really know what I'm doing...how can I fix this?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Sounds like the infamous gamma issue associated with Quicktime on PCs. Why are you using an MOV container? That is a strange way to export comps imo. Two thoughts:

    1. Export your comp as a PNG or TIFF image sequence. Basically what I am saying is you should export your AE comp as RGB. Judging from your posted scripts, it sounds like you are exporting as YUV from AE. Color shifts are tricky when passing between applications. It is especially tricky since AE operates in RGB space while PP operates in YUV space. Fortunately, PP can handle PNG and TIFF sequences fine and so can ffmpeg/x264.

    2. Export as a UYVY AVI. I seem to recall this was one of the lossless pathways between AE and PP.
    Quote Quote  
  3. I suspect you didn't export it correctly or messed up some settings; QT PNG should have worked in RGBA mode. You can also try QT animation codec

    When you use QTInput in avisynth the default output "YUY2" , use RGB32 (color=2)

    see
    http://avisynth.nl/index.php/QTSource

    But the image sequence suggestion will work as well, as any RGBA AVI intermediate such as lagarith etc... directly from AE
    Quote Quote  
  4. Yep, ColorMatrix() works in YUV. So if you exported to RGB and you don't have RGB after QTinput() there's already been something wrong going on.

    Originally Posted by poisondeathray View Post
    use RGB32 (color=2)
    The doc you linked says color 2 is YUY2.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Originally Posted by sneaker View Post
    Yep, ColorMatrix() works in YUV. So if you exported to RGB and you don't have RGB after QTinput() there's already been something wrong going on.

    Originally Posted by poisondeathray View Post
    use RGB32 (color=2)
    The doc you linked says color 2 is YUY2.
    yes 1 is RGB32, thanks for correction

    Or another option is l-smash
    Quote Quote  
  6. Or just dynamic link AE to PP (!)
    Quote Quote  
  7. Everything I say is false koberulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by SameSelf View Post
    Sounds like the infamous gamma issue associated with Quicktime on PCs. Why are you using an MOV container? That is a strange way to export comps imo.
    *shrug* That's the way I've always done it. Someone somewhere said to do it that way, so I did.

    1. Export your comp as a PNG or TIFF image sequence.
    Isn't that going to lead to an incredibly crowded folder/project panel? I've only got a handful of comps at a few seconds each here, but I certainly wouldn't want to do that with the two-hour comp I have for a different project.

    2. Export as a UYVY AVI. I seem to recall this was one of the lossless pathways between AE and PP.
    Does that allow an alpha channel?

    EDIT: Output as RGBA Lagarith, and it's still a different color.
    Last edited by koberulz; 3rd Nov 2016 at 12:04.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Originally Posted by koberulz View Post

    EDIT: Output as RGBA Lagarith, and it's still a different color.
    Directly exported from AE ?

    Then likely something is wrong with your setup .

    Do you have color management enabled in AE ?

    Do a small test, export a single PNG out and import into PP to check
    Quote Quote  
  9. Try this
    Code:
    AVISource("file.avi") ## RGB32
    
    ## save alpha
    A=ShowAlpha("YV12")
    
    ## 601->709
    ConvertToYV24(matrix="Rec709")
    ConvertToRGB32(matrix="Rec601")
    
    ## merge original alpha
    MergeARGB(A, Last, Last, Last)
    return Last
    EDIT removed interlaced=true. It has no effect on RGB<>YV24 conversions anyway.
    Last edited by raffriff42; 3rd Nov 2016 at 20:13.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Everything I say is false koberulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by raffriff42 View Post
    Try this
    Code:
    AVISource("file.avi") ## RGB32
    
    ## save alpha
    A=ShowAlpha("YV12")
    
    ## 601->709
    ConvertToYV24(matrix="Rec709")
    ConvertToRGB32(matrix="Rec601")
    
    ## merge original alpha
    MergeARGB(A, Last, Last, Last)
    return Last
    EDIT removed interlaced=true. It has no effect on RGB<>YV24 conversions anyway.
    That's definitely better, but still not quite right.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Something is definitely not right. How is a color shift even happening with RGBA?

    I assume AE has internal colorbars. Export those and verify that they import into Premiere without color shift.
    If not, you need to make some adjustments to your export settings, your import settings, or both.

    I don't know why you're going through a MOV. Adobe recommends:
    https://helpx.adobe.com/after-effects/using/export-effects-project-premiere-pro.html
    https://helpx.adobe.com/after-effects/using/importing-effects-premiere-pro.html
    Quote Quote  
  12. Yep, something is definitely wrong with your setup. RGB should be the same color in AE and PP, especially an AVI exported from AE on a windows setup, unless you have color management settings messed up . ALL the problems occur when you have YUV <=> RGB conversion . RGB to RGB never has those problems unless you have color management messed up , tags, or LUTs applied

    There is quality loss and rounding errors everything you use colormatrix, or convert between YUV<=>RGB. So I would try to get it working properly in the first place.

    In your first post, you said you "solved" it, but without alpha. Well a workaround until you get it sorted out would be to use a separate alpha and track matte in premiere

    If you still wanted to go the avisynth route, to use RGBA (instead of RGB + separate A), use the script that you said gave correct colors without alpha, and add the alpha back into the script

    Code:
    qtinput("source.mov")
    ColorMatrix(mode="rec.601->rec.709",interlaced=true)
    ConverttoRGB24(matrix="rec601",interlaced=true)
    main=last
    
    a=qtinput("source.mov", color=1).showalpha()
    
    mergeargb(a,main,main,main)
    Quote Quote  
  13. Everything I say is false koberulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    No, that still doesn't work; it's about the same as raffriff's solution. The changing background must have just obscured the smaller color change.

    The AE project is color managed as SDTV PAL, as is the PSD used to generate the composition (everything was initially done for DVD, now I'm going back and doing a Blu-Ray...and yes, I realise that's the wrong way to do it but the Blu-Ray wasn't in the initial plan).
    Quote Quote  
  14. Have you tried a PNG/TIFF image sequence, yet? I know—for the unwashed—200,000 files in a folder sounds like a nightmare, but it is not that bad really. PP will import them as a single clip automatically. If not, just make sure the image sequence checkbox in the import dialog is ticked. Scrubbing and playback is only limited by your storage speed since no decoding is required. There is a reason that professional vfx artists use image sequences instead of encoded formats, like when you need to hold an alpha channel. It is the default format that all compositing and finishing programs (AE, nuke, scratch, resolve, etc.) actually expect. So whoever told you to export your comps from AE in that manner didn't know what they were talking about.

    I am not aware of any color shift issues that arise from using PNG, TIFF, openEXR, DPX, etc. Also, image sequences offer the rather nice benefit of enabling you to restart a render from where you left off if for some reason the render crashes. I use linear half float openEXR for my comps when round tripping. However, PP does not recognize openEXR which is why I have eschewed mentioning it (I no longer use PP as my NLE). Plus, working with linear formats is difficult unless you can apply LUTs easily.

    If you are working with a lot with comps in AE, you need to spend some time testing your workflows with colorbars and learning some about color science and color management. For example, make sure you have AE set to 32 bpc. I think it defaults to 8 bit. If you are doing any color critical work, you always want 32 bpc enabled. Dynamically linking AE to PP is ok for lite vfx, but unless you have a really powerful machine, rendering out is often unavoidable. I could go on, but bottomline, spend some time testing and learning, you will be glad you did. The fact that you noticed a color shift is a good thing, so now the task is to improve your workflows!
    Quote Quote  
  15. Everything I say is false koberulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    A PNG sequence, apart from not being able to replace the existing AVI file (which is used dozens of times across three sequences; redoing all that would be hell), is right back to the first color set. So, worse than the raffriff script.

    I have a hex color picker sitting around, so: the PNG sequence displays #E62618, the raffriff avi is #D91A0B, and the PSD is #C9291F. Those aren't the only colors, but it's the biggest area of difference.

    Originally Posted by SameSelf View Post
    I know—for the unwashed—200,000 files in a folder sounds like a nightmare, but it is not that bad really.
    Subfolders for each file though, right?

    linear half float openEXR...round tripping...LUTs easily.
    ...wut?

    For example, make sure you have AE set to 32 bpc. I think it defaults to 8 bit.
    It was indeed set to 8, although I swear I remember setting it to 16. I was told not to bother with 32 unless I had 32bpc sources. I do remember the source of that claim, it was VideoCopilot's 'Intro to After Effects'. That may have been the place I got mov exports from, come to think of it.

    unless you have a really powerful machine, rendering out is often unavoidable.
    Yeah, the two-hour comp I mentioned earlier is a scoreboard and clock for a basketball game. I've been RAM-previewing to time the clock to the refs' whistles and it's sooooooo slow. Although it occurs to me now I could manually enter timecodes after finding the right frames by watching the clip in Premiere. Although constantly alt-tabbing and having to sort through that might get more tiresome than killing a couple of minutes.

    The fact that you noticed a color shift is a good thing
    Well, the AE comp is an animation to bring in a logo, which is then held in place by the PSD. It was the change in color at the handover point that caught my eye, rather than it merely looking different.
    Quote Quote  
  16. So you were wrong about "solved" the color problem in the 1st post ?



    I probably don't have to say this , but your project organization is a mess. I would seriously consider starting over

    But did you try dynamic link as suggested earlier ? It should fix everything . Everything gets transformed to Rec709, sent as Rec709, at least in CC


    Color management and Dynamic Link

    When color management is enabled for an After Effects project, compositions viewed over Dynamic Link are transformed using the Rec. 709 color profile. This prevents color or gamma shifts in the appearance of these compositions in Premiere Pro and Adobe Media Encoder.

    Dynamic Link always assumes that all incoming frames are in Rec. 709. A color transformation is applied to the composition as a last step before the images are passed to Dynamic Link for use in Premiere Pro or Adobe Media Encoder. This corrects the composition image to the color space used by Dynamic Link, similar to how the View > Enable Display Color Management option in After Effects corrects the image for your monitor.
    Quote Quote  
  17. Originally Posted by koberulz View Post
    Originally Posted by SameSelf View Post
    I know—for the unwashed—200,000 files in a folder sounds like a nightmare, but it is not that bad really.
    Subfolders for each file though, right?

    linear half float openEXR...round tripping...LUTs easily.
    ...wut?
    No, the files will be written to a single folder. So when you click on the folder in an explorer window it will just look like a typical folder with thousands of pics but with a frame number.

    As for your second question about openEXR and LUTs, don't sweat it. If you ever reach the point where you need a LUT, you will know it when you need it
    Quote Quote  
  18. Everything I say is false koberulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by poisondeathray View Post
    So you were wrong about "solved" the color problem in the 1st post ?
    Evidently, yes. It's just a lot closer, so the change in background (due to the lack of alpha channel) obviously disguised the change in the shade of red.

    I probably don't have to say this , but your project organization is a mess. I would seriously consider starting over
    Bahahahaha no, I am not spending hours re-masking something that finicky. raffriff's avi is live-withable, if that's the choice I have to make.

    Although I went back and checked the SD Premiere sequences, and there's also a slight color change there (AVI #E02617, PSD #C92A1E). So, not an SD/HD issue anyway. Not sure what other issues you might take with my project.

    But did you try dynamic link as suggested earlier ? It should fix everything .
    It's the same as the PNG sequence, which is worse than raffriff's solution.


    No, the files will be written to a single folder. So when you click on the folder in an explorer window it will just look like a typical folder with thousands of pics but with a frame number.
    I mean, I should create a subfolder for each comp I output. Rather than dropping them all in the one folder as they are now, which would make it impossible to find anything after the first one.

    It also assumes the PNG sequence is 29.97fps progressive, even though I'm outputting as 25fps interlaced.
    Quote Quote  
  19. Everything I say is false koberulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    The other possibility is that it's the PSD file that is shifting color.
    Quote Quote  
  20. This sounds dubious to me. While I rarely use PS for video editing (it is not stable enough ime), I have never noticed a color shift. What exactly is your workflow and why are you using PS? What are you importing into PS? Personally, I would export a TIFF/PNG rather than a PSD. I would still save the PSD, but use the TIFF/PNG in my timeline/comp.

    Also, you need to do some explicit testing of your workflow rather than just guessing. Load some colorbars into PS and follow your workflow all the way to PP. Scope the bars up in PP and see if there is a color shift.
    Quote Quote  
  21. Everything I say is false koberulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by koberulz View Post
    Although I went back and checked the SD Premiere sequences, and there's also a slight color change there (AVI #E02617, PSD #C92A1E).
    I don't know why I didn't think of this before, but I just checked the AE comp: #EA2617.

    So none match, but the SD AVI is bloody close (apparently I exported AVIs instead of MOVs when I was doing that). The SD comp, however, is #E52617, which also matches the PSD in Photoshop.

    PSDs PS: #E52617

    SD Export: #E02617
    HD Export: #E62618

    SD AE Comp: #E52617
    HD AE Comp: #EA2617

    SD PSD PP: #C92A1E
    HD PSD PP: #C9291F

    raffriff's AVS: #D91A0B

    So it appears most of the shift is actually with the PSD file importing into Premiere, with a tiny amount of shift occurring with everything else both in and out of AE except the SD version going in.

    I don't know how to 'scope the bars up', or how to generate them in PS.

    I'm using PS to create a logo that sits in the corner of the screen. I've imported the PS into AE to create a couple of animations for it.



    EDIT: Saved a PNG, pulled it into Premiere...problem solved. Both are now #E62618. Which is weird, because it's still the PNG sequence created from the PSD in AE.
    Last edited by koberulz; 7th Nov 2016 at 10:34.
    Quote Quote  
  22. Originally Posted by koberulz View Post
    So none match, but the SD AVI is bloody close...

    EDIT: Saved a PNG, pulled it into Premiere...problem solved. Both are now #E62618. Which is weird, because it's still the PNG sequence created from the PSD in AE.
    I am having a hard time following your workflow. Sounds like this:

    Create a logo from scratch in Photoshop (don't import any additional layers) -> Save As PSD -> Open PSD in AE -> Animate PSD in a comp -> Render out as PNG -> Import PNG sequence into PP -> No more color shift?

    Whereas before: Render out of AE as AVI/MOV or whatever -> Import into PP -> Color shift?

    Also, by scoping up I meant, looking at your timeline in PP using one of PP's built in scopes. I keep a Reference Monitor window up at all times for this very purpose. PS and AE don't have built in scopes but that is why color bars are useful because the RGB values are well defined and useful for detecting problems.
    Quote Quote  
  23. Everything I say is false koberulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    When the logo is just sitting in the corner not doing anything, I don't need an AE comp. So I imported the PSD into Premiere and used it as a still image. I went back to Photoshop, saved the PSD as a PNG, and imported that into Premiere and now all the colors are the same. I didn't change anything relating to the AE comp.

    So I'm using an AE comp to animate the logo in, the PNG (previously the PSD) to just have it sit there, and then an AE comp to animate it out.

    I don't even know what a scope is.
    Quote Quote  
  24. That is strange that importing the PSD results in a color shift while the PNG does not. I have never really used a PSD in a timeline before but, when you say animate the logo, are you talking about some sort of fade in/fade out? If so, you don't need AE for that. You can just apply a video effect like cross dissolve in PP to the logo in the timeline. Even more complex animation is easy with keyed effects e.g. fly ins/outs, rotations, scaling, etc. I can't think of too many reasons for why a simple logo would require AE.

    Also, PP has basically all the same text design functionality that PS has. It is found by clicking New Item then Title. Even though I no longer use PP as my NLE, I still use PP extensively for making titles, credits, etc. because the text design tools are simply that good, even better than AE. It is super easy to add drop shadows, outlines, color ramps, and so on.

    As for "vectorscopes", click on the Lossless Workflows thread link in my signature, and you will see many a screenshot of vectorscopes and why they are critical to diagnosing color problems in a workflow.
    Quote Quote  
  25. Everything I say is false koberulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Ah, vectorscopes. Yes, those I'm familiar with.

    The logo itself is just an .eps imported into Photoshop, placed, and lined up with a couple of other elements. It has to appear partly underneath an existing logo, which itself animates out, as well as sometimes being partially hidden by other animating elements on the original footage. So there's a whole lot of frame-by frame masking of individual layers; it's not something you could do in Premiere (or, at least, not in the amount of time it took).
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads