VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I'm a newbie to DVD-burning. I recently purchased a Sony DRU-500A for the purpose of transferring my DV tapes to DVD-R. However, I keep getting an error that says "Could not complete the last command because: Device Error-Sense Code (3 73 03) - Power Calibration Area Error - Sequential Write (DVDErr, 226051)." Here are the details of what I did...

I captured some video from DV tape (via my 1394 card) as an MPEG file (approx. 1.9 GB) using Pinnacle Studio version 7. I then created and saved a new "project" using Sonic MyDVD (version 4.0) with this mpeg file. I clicked "Burn" and chose to make 1 copy, auto speed, using the Sony DRU-500A burner.

I have gone through this process 3 times (using 3 different types of media - Sony DVD+RW, Memorex DVD-R, and TDK DVD-R), and each time I get the same error message. "Could not complete the last command because: Device Error-Sense Code (3 73 03) - Power Calibration Area Error - Sequential Write (DVDErr, 226051)."

Does anyone have any insight into what I'm doing wrong here? What do I need to do?

Thanks in advance for any help - I really appreciate it.

Sincerely,
    Scott
    Quote Quote  
  2. I don't know the reason for this message, but here are some things you may want to try:

-Update the firmware to the latest version (1.0f) that you'll find here: http://sony.storagesupport.com/dvdrw/dru500adwn.htm Read carefully the instructions!
    -Use DVD+RW or DVD-RW so you don't spend your money in coasters
    -Connect the Sony DRU as single device in the IDE channel (master single, no slave attached)
    -Disable UDMA in the BIOS of your computer

Hope that helps.

BTW, this thread should be moved to Hardware-DVD Writers
    Quote Quote  
  3. Moved

I would choose 1x speed for now.
    Does it read DVD-ROM or CD media ok? If it doesn't the IDE cable may be upside down or some such.
    Panasonic DMR-ES45VS, keep those discs a burnin'
    Quote Quote