VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi there everyone,

I have been making VCD's for a couple of years now both from DVD Rips and from my 8mm Camcorder. I have had excellent results from DVD's using the SmartRipper / Flask / Panasonic-Plugin combination, but have never really been that pleased with my Camcorder VCD's for which I use the Dazzle DVC USB.

I capture at the highest possible video rate and at an appropriate audio rate then re-encode using the Panasonic Standalone. The audio is fine, but the video is always blocky. Using the Dazzle VCD template is even worse.

My question is, of the Pinnacle DC10+ and the Dazzle DVCII which am I likely to get the best results from when capturing from my 8mm Camcorder and outputting to VCD?

I understand that the Dazzle is an MPEG1 / MPEG2 card and that the Pinnacle is a MJPEG card and that therefore the Dazzle can go straight to VCD on the fly, but the Pinnacle would require using the Panasonic Standalone to get to VCD.

Has anyone got experience of either or both of these cards?

Please let me know your thoughts.

Thanks

Jacques
    Quote Quote  
  2. Hi Jacques,

I have now been using the Pinnacle DC10+ for about a year, at I work just fine.

I use it mainly to copy Hi8-video tapes to VCD. The DC10+ has an excellent direktor software included, so its just fine.

As you mention there is only one little "but" it saves the files in AVI. However it is very easy to convernt them to MPEG-1 (it takes some time, so it is a nice night job for the PC).
    BuzzLightYear
    Quote Quote  
  3. Hi BuzzLightYear,

Thanks for your reply.

Do you turn your AVI's into MPEG's? Specifically do you turn them into VCD? If so, what do you use to re-encode?

Thanks
    Jacques
    Quote Quote  
  4. I doubt you'd tell much difference in the end...

Source to DC10 to VCD takes a lot longer and re-encoding MJPEG is not a great idea but slow encoding might give better results.