VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3
FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 31 to 60 of 80
Thread
  1. OK. I ordered thi one : ME-320F External Firewire Case for 3.5''/5.25'' IDE Drives $49.75 (maybe with shipping already, not confirmed yet)

    Let's see how it will work... and kitty... good idea... I will do same. If it doesn't work with Sony I can put in some HD.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Член BJ_M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jon_w
    I have a external 3.5 firewire enclosure from http://www.firewiredirect.com. It has the Oxford 911 chipset in it and I'm not at all happy with its overall performance. I don't know whether its the 911 chip or the internal cabling or the enclosure firmware but it's nowhere near 40 MB/s.

    The enclosure itself is very nice looking and made of good quality parts.
    Here's a link to the enclosure. I have the 3.5" Ultra III with FireWire & USB 2.0. http://www.firewiredirect.com/firewire/products/drivekit.shtml
    The SlimLine ULTRA III is prob older firmware as its only ata100 and only supports up to 160gb ... newer ones are ata133 and support over 200gig drives ..

    its really hard to know what you are going to get untill you get it .. and prob. the same model is around with different firmware ..

    someone mentioned a tuner app for firewire -- be interisted to see that
    Quote Quote  
  3. Originally Posted by BJ_M
    its really hard to know what you are going to get untill you get it .. and prob. the same model is around with different firmware ..

    someone mentioned a tuner app for firewire -- be interisted to see that
    I still don't know how to find out what did you get ? Which chipset or firmware ? Can I just look that up in "Device Manager" ??
    Quote Quote  
  4. Член BJ_M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    nope

    well maybe some app somewhere would tell you - but since firewire is total plug and play i'm not about to install any of the various disks that come with some of the drives ... screw something up
    Quote Quote  
  5. (a little off topic, sorry Don)

    I just benchmarked my firewire drive, maybe I'm being too hard on it. It has always been plenty fast enough for all of my video capture (miniDV cam), ripping, editing and encoding needs. I have a WD 120 special edition drive in it.

    I've partitioned it up with a 110 GB NTFS drive and a 10 GB Fat32 drive. I really only use the Fat32 to move stuff to and from my macintosh machines at work and at home (macs mount Fat32 but not NTFS). I wish I could use Fat32 for the whole drive but the 4GB file size limitation is a problem from time to time.

    Here's the results of my benchmark:
    NTFS Partition
    --------------
    Sandra Drive Index 20502
    Buffered Read 33 MB/s
    Sequential Read 29 MB/s
    Random Read 7 MB/s
    Buffered Write 23 MB/s
    Sequential Write 23 MB/s
    Random Write 12 MB/s
    Average Access Time 7ms

    Fat32 Partition
    ---------------
    Sandra Drive Index 21791
    Buffered Read 33 MB/s
    Sequential Read 32 MB/s
    Random Read 7 MB/s
    Buffered Write 23 MB/s
    Sequential Write 23 MB/s
    Random Write 12 MB/s
    Average Access Time 7ms
    Quote Quote  
  6. jon_w, this is so funny... how did you know that I was just running test on my external HD ???

    ACOM Data (Firewire/USB 2.0) 80GB (7200rpm) FAT32 (Firewire during test)

    Sandra Drive Index : 20792 kB/s
    Buffered Read : 38 MB/s
    Sequential Read : 29 MB/s
    Random Read : 7 MB/s
    Buffered Write : 26 MB/s
    Sequential Write : 26 MB/s
    Random Write : 10 MB/s
    Average Access Time : 6 ms (estimated)

    Actualy, I was looking for that chipset info. I thought that Sandra can provide it. So far no luck.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Член BJ_M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    ACOM Data ones just like yours except 120gig is what i use a lot of .. looks liek they have good specs -- i know they are faster than the maxtor ones i have .. only problem is that they get very hot and no cooling (they stack 8 high real nice though) ... about the same performance from the lacie drives i have also
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    California
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by BJ_M
    its really hard to know what you are going to get untill you get it .. and prob. the same model is around with different firmware ..

    someone mentioned a tuner app for firewire -- be interisted to see that
    Yes, I gave a pointer before (maybe it was over at cdrlabs not
    here). The following includes a firmware config/update utility
    for the oxford911:

    http://www.triumphtech.com/Driver/Oxford160GB.zip

    This package includes updated firmware to make 160MB maxtors
    work with the oxford911 (supports maxtors version of 48 bit LBA
    I/O). But you can just use the utility to modify your firmware's
    config settings instead.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    California
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jon_w
    I have a external 3.5 firewire enclosure from http://www.firewiredirect.com. It has the Oxford 911 chipset in it and I'm not at all happy with its overall performance. I don't know whether its the 911 chip or the internal cabling or the enclosure firmware but it's nowhere near 40 MB/s.
    http://www.firewiredirect.com/firewire/products/drivekit.shtml
    I had horrible disk IO performance thru an oxford911 bridge
    with one disk drive (~3MB/sec.), and 5 times better performance
    with the same enclosure and a different disk drive (~15MB/sec).
    I was able to get good performance with both drives (15-20MB/sec.)
    by updating the firmware and fixing the UDMA mode settings on
    the oxford911 bridge. These were slower 5400rpm disks. With
    faster disks, I get about 30MB/sec. throughput via firewire (nearly
    the same as when directly attached to EIDE)
    Quote Quote  
  10. Член BJ_M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    doesnt run on xp or win2k
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    California
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by donpedro
    Is this what I should be looking for ?

    Originally Posted by From Sony's manual
    DC 5V 1.6 A max.
    DC 12V 2.0 A ma.
    So this enclosure

    Originally Posted by From cheap enclosure
    AC Input: 100-240VAC, 50-60Hz, 0.6A/0.3A
    is not good ?

    --edited--
    OK... I see now... This is what I need to look for
    DC Output: +5V 1.5A/ +12V 1.8A
    Yes, I think you got it. I bought the triumphtech.com enclosure
    with the small power supply. Its DC output rating is actually
    slightly less than what the dru500 lists for its requirements.
    The sales guy told me it was OK, that the enclosure's ratings
    are average ratings and its peak ratings are high enough. I'm
    not sure, but I'm not a EE so I accepted his claim.
    Been working OK for almost 2 months so far
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    California
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by BJ_M
    doesnt run on xp or win2k
    It sure does. That's how I used it. Maybe you tried
    to run the dos based recovery program not the main upload
    utility.
    Quote Quote  
  13. OK. I downloaded that utility and I installed it on Win2000 (from d:/tmp/oxf my temp dir). Rebooted machine and start FwUpload.exe. Now this is what I see (on my ACOM Data HD):

    Flash Device
    AMD (3.3V Devices) - AM29LV008BT
    8Mbit (1024K x 8 ) -> 110ns (default)

    and on the bottom
    Target node: FFC0 - Firmware Rev. not available

    I assume that it dos not have Oxford chipset...
    Quote Quote  
  14. Член BJ_M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by bac
    Originally Posted by BJ_M
    doesnt run on xp or win2k :cry:
    It sure does. That's how I used it. Maybe you tried
    to run the dos based recovery program not the main upload
    utility.
    i ran setup.exe and got msg "can not windows 16 bit program on NT"

    on both win2k adv server (a quad xeon system) and on xp pro (dual xeon)

    bizzare .....
    Quote Quote  
  15. Член BJ_M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    never mind -- it installed fine when i installed it from root of d drive instead of a folder on z drive ..... go figure ...

    :P
    Quote Quote  
  16. Originally Posted by BJ_M
    never mind -- it installed fine when i installed it from root of d drive instead of a folder on z drive ..... go figure ...

    :P
    What does you shows ?
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    California
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by donpedro
    OK. I downloaded that utility and I installed it on Win2000 (from d:/tmp/oxf my temp dir). Rebooted machine and start FwUpload.exe. Now this is what I see (on my ACOM Data HD):

    Flash Device
    AMD (3.3V Devices) - AM29LV008BT
    8Mbit (1024K x 8 ) -> 110ns (default)

    and on the bottom
    Target node: FFC0 - Firmware Rev. not available

    I assume that it dos not have Oxford chipset...
    No, the "target node: ffc0" part looks good I think. It just
    looks like you have firmware that is so old it doesn't have
    a date stamp (before mid 2001?). Does that sound right?
    Quote Quote  
  18. I have no idea... I just thought that this tool can help me find answer on my question. How can you identify your Firewire chipset. Device that I am testing for now is ACOM Data external HD. I couldn't find on their web which chipset are they using.
    Quote Quote  
  19. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    California
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by donpedro
    I have no idea... I just thought that this tool can help me find answer on my question. How can you identify your Firewire chipset. Device that I am testing for now is ACOM Data external HD. I couldn't find on their web which chipset are they using.
    So either:

    1. click on 'modify device configuration settings' since you
    already have the oxford program installed, and see if it
    brings up the oxford config settings, or

    2. Look at the chip on the bridge board and see if
    it says oxford911 on it.
    Quote Quote  
  20. Член BJ_M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    yep it works ... but dont have more than 1 device on at once ! or it freaks out ..

    the esbuy alum enclosure is internal flash , Wise Advanced IDE Devices ,
    chip ID 01 0149A4
    vender ID 0030E0
    hardware version 0F911
    and is good for UDMA5
    Quote Quote  
  21. 1. Nope... didn't work... Error

    2. I am going to need screwdriwer which I am not going to have very soon ...
    Quote Quote  
  22. Член BJ_M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    on the ACOM Data -- it doesnt work ... it see 's the device but its not an oxford chip set it seems ..

    well the ACOM work well -- must be the other good chip ...
    Quote Quote  
  23. The utility worked for me but I haven't been able to increase my performance any by tweaking the settings.
    Quote Quote  
  24. ME-320F Series is home now. For the begining I put inside my DVD-ROM. It works so far.

    In Device Manager under DVD/CD-ROM drives I can see this :

    "Oxford Semiconductor Ltd. OXFORD IDE Device IEEE 1394 SBP2 Device"

    More results later.
    Quote Quote  
  25. What doesn't run? There are settings in xp for all compatability modes - win95, win98, winnt - almost nothing shouldn't run on xp with proper config.
    Panasonic DMR-ES45VS, keep those discs a burnin'
    Quote Quote  
  26. I hope you guys don't mind me asking:
    Why an enclosure whe there's also DRX-500UL external model?
    Quote Quote  
  27. Couple of reasons.

    1. At the time when I bought mine, ther was no external version.

    2. This way I can choose internel/external. Whatever make sence at time.

    3. I can use enclosure for any IDE drive if I need.
    Quote Quote  
  28. This is just to report progress:

    Now when I run OXFW900 Uploader I see this...

    Target node: FFCO - Firmware Rev. Oct 23 2002

    And Hardware ID = OXFW911.

    Let's see if it burnes with Sony inside.
    Quote Quote  
  29. Finaly !!! It works... now I have external Somy DVD burner for $330 ($280+$50) that can burn + or -. I am happy (at least for now). If I'll have any problems I will update this post.

    Thanks to all of you that helped me to choose...
    Quote Quote  
  30. Just to give you update.....

    Fan that is on the back of this enclosure is starting ti give up...
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads