VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Let me first tell you that I am completely new in this stuff. Until now I never downloaded or worked with Divx, but I would like to start with it.
    Recently I bought a Philips DVDR 890 and somewhere I read a user comment on it, saying amongst others that with that it was possible to play Divx files without the hassle of decoding etc. (or something like that).
    Unfortunately I cannot find that comment anymore and I don't know anymore where I saw it.
    Does someone know if it is really possible and how you have to do that , or what you have to do ?
    I would be very gratefull for any help.

Ton
    Quote Quote  
  2. You can play DivX from the computer onto a TV thru a S-video output on your video card if it has one (or you can get one, you can also watch it on PC if you really wanted to, but very most likely, not). Or you get to convert it to mpeg, *VCD or DVD (if you have a DVD burner), which takes quite a while, and then burn it.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Or buy the KiSS DP-450, a Divx compatible DVD player which was supposed to be released in late October.
    Quote Quote  
  4. ...which i purposedly didn't mention for it's a piece of sh... See the other 600 posts on it... I'm really tired to say why it sucks every time someone mentions it.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Thank you guys for your replies.
    In the meantime I found the following post in the hardware forum at
    www.dvd.reviewer.co.uk

RE: FAO John sweeny - Recording from PC To DVDr880
    posted by Gurjinder on Saturday, 16th November 2002, 23:37
    Sorry for replying so late.