VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hello all. I'm kinda new to the VCD/DivX world so I just had a few questions. I have an .mpg video file that I want to burn as a VCD in Nero. I used TMPGEnc and Virtual Dub to make a proper .mpg out of the avi. The problem seems to be that Nero doesn't "like" the file. Here is the error I get when I try to add the .mpg file to the compilation:

The file 'C:/blahblah.mpg' is invalid, need MPEG-1 which was encoded for Video-CD:
    audio: 44.1kHz; stereo; 224kBit/s
    video: 352x240/29.97Hz or 352x240/23.976Hz or 352x288/25Hz

The following problems were found:
    -stream encoding which is invalid for [Super] Video-CD
    -invalid video stream: 23.976 frames/second, 640x352 pixels
    -invalid audio stream: 48000 Hz, 2 channels

You are creating a Video CD V2.0 (CD-i player) compliant CD, but the mpeg file is not suitable for such a disc. How would you like to proceed?

Turn off standard compliance and continue
    Reencode the video file
    Cancel

Would it be alright if I just left it how it is? Should I reencode the video file with TMPGEnc using the DVD template?
    I already had Nero encode the video file but it did not turn out how I wanted to. It was not widescreen. This was basically my only complaint. It needs to be widescreen because my tv is widescreen, not the normal 4:3 aspect ratio, but rather 16:9. So does anyone have any advice on what to do? Thanks a lot, I appreciate the help.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    OK the problem is that you converted into a wrong stream. Your finished mpeg stream was 23.976 frames/second, 640x352 pixels and audio was 48000 Hz, 2 channels. If you want to make a VCD use the VCD template in TMPGEnc.

As for 4:3, 16:9 or whatever settings, do a test run (a 1 minute clip will suffice) as I have found that this is the best way to ensure what I really want.