VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hello,
    I am a newbie to video capturing, and am having trouble getting excessive dropped frames for my home videos. Here are my specs

JVC DVL9500 digital Camcorder with DV/IEEE1394 output
    Generic PCI Firewire card PCI bus speed ~33MHz (I think)
    AMD K6-2/III/450 MHz, 256 MB RAM, 83 MHz bus speed, 4GB
    Adobe Primiere with LSX-MPEG encoders in trial period

I want to be able to make SVCD encoded *.mpg files from my camcorder. But whenever I try to capture them, I get almost 75% of frames dropped in a 200 frame clip using Primiere. Also, I noticed that there is no real-time encoding - the avi files are just TOO big - 2.1 MB/sec. I was hoping to be able to encode them in real time so that I use only 0.2 MB/sec.

When I use VirtualDub, Wincoder or nanoMPEG, I get the message that the incoming video format is not compatible. My input files are in the *.dvsd format (never heard of it in this forum) and have a 720X480 frame size.

The best results (although really not acceptable) I get from Presto Video Works, a sofware that was shipped with the firewire card.

Please help.
    Ranbir
    Quote Quote  
  2. try to reduce the frame size in the capture settings of premiere. I doubt your processor is fast enough to handle 720X480 but maybe others using AMD K6 will tell you different.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I think joeyelliot it correct. Try lowering your frame size. Another issue, which I noticed when capturing; have a nice freshly defragmented disk and always reboot before starting to capture.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Just to let you know, and AMD k-6 450mhz will work if my old 366mhz did a perfect job. except you said you have a 4gb hard drive, i have a 7200rpm 20GB on the 366mhz.
    you can also do what the other fellows told you to do, but also, go to