VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. This is my first attempt at any sort of guide, but this works for me and I thought I would share. This is the fastest frameserving to make an (S)VCD that I've seen yet. It's also simple enough for a relative newbie I think.

Stuff you will need to use this guide:

SmartRipper 2_41...... get it here - http://www.afterdawn.com/software/video_software/dvd_rippers/smartripper.cfm

DVD2AVI 1.76..........get it here - http://www.doom9.org/Soft21/Decoders/DVD2AVI_176.zip

AVIsynth 2.06............get it here - http://www.doom9.org/Soft21/SupportUtils/AviSynth_206.exe

Link2.........get it here - http://www.doom9.org/Soft21/SupportUtils/Link2v0951.zip

pulldown.exe.....get it here - http://www.doom9.org/Soft21/svcdtools/pulldown.zip

Fit CD bitcalc........get it here - http://www.afterdawn.com/software/video_software/video_tools/fitcd.cfm

You will also need the encoder of your choice, either CCE or TMPG. I use CCE 2.5 so that's what the screenshots and this guide are based on.

1) Start SmartRipper and let it find the main movie files for you then in the settings tab enable "stream processing" Choose the ac3 6 channel that you want, English in my case, and check "demux to extra file"

2)If you live where the format is PAL, you can probably use the d2v file that SmartRipper made for you. Open it with notepad and see what the framerate is. If it's 25 you have saved a step and can skip this. If you are like me then you need to force film to 23.976 for NTSC. Open DVD2AVI and load your vob files. I usually rip them into two fairly equal size parts to make this step easier. In the video settings, make sure that you sheck force film and in the audio settings under track # choose none.

click the files tab and save your d2v file.