VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Helpful folks,

I've been capturing from VHS tape for many months now with great success using the following process: vcr -win/tv card - Virtualdub - huffy codec. However, lately on what may be the oldest source material, I've noticed this problem that occurs that makes the resulting capture almost unwatchable. The effect is a brief (perhaps only one frame's worth) display of an image from the tape from a second or two previously. It's like a brief flashback is displayed for a split-second of a scene that was being displayed a second or two previously on the screen. It is becoming increasingly annoying, and the only bright spot is that each time I see it, I can't help but be reminded of the film-splicing scene from Fight Club, and I end up grinning like a fool. The effect is just like that.
    It doesn't seem to be dependednt on content, it happens in slow scenes as well as fast ones, dark as well as light. The only variable is that it seems to become more frequent as the tape plays longer. The thing is, it does NOT appear when I am simply previewing in the capture window, it does NOT appear when viewing the tape through the WinTV viewing application, and it does Not appear when watching the tape on another VCR hooked to a TV. Only during VDub capture mode does this occur, and of course the effect ends up in the captured file as well.

Has anyone run across this before, and found a resolution?

Any replies would be appreciated,

Thanks
    Quote Quote  
  2. Come on now, no one's run across this before?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I've never heard of that before. I would have said that it sounds like your vcr is failing or the TV cap card is bad but since you don't see this when just watching it on your computer I would say its software based. This shouldn't have any effect but have you tried changing the codec or capture resolution to see if that fixes things?
    Quote Quote