VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I'm using ffmpegX & mpeg2enc to convert a QuickTime .MOV -> MPEG2. The .MOV was exported from iMovie at the highest quality setting. I used ffmpegX's MPEG-2 (NTSC) preset to create two disk images, which I burned to CD-RW using Toast Titanium's "Multitrack CD-ROM XA" feature.

The disk plays well on an Apex 1200 player (e.g., no skipping, audio glitches). But moving objects are terribly blocky & pixellated. It's not just a few artifacts around the perimeter of the object. The whole object appears shimmery, as in a TV report where someone's face is being obscured. Static objects like the background scene appear fine.

To eliminate the Apex player as the problem, I used ffmpegX to create new MPEG-2 files (instead of disk images) & played them on the Mac using VideoLAN Client 0.4.4. The blockiness persisted. I burned the MPEG-2 files to CD-RW & saw the same blockiness on the Apex. I'm a real newbie and tried futzing with the bit rate & other settings to no avail.

Can anyone offer some ideas on how to correct this? By the way, a big "thank you," Major, for making ffmpegX available. I can't imagine going through the tedium of doing a lot of conversions in mpeg2enc using the command line interface.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Is it a .DV file? if yes you should activate the "high quality enabled" flag in the movie properties > Video Track > High quality panel of Quicktime player and save.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Major,

Thanks for putting me on the right track. It's not a .DV file, but an iMovie .MOV export. When I checked the "High Quality" video property, QuickTime Pro 5 Player displayed almost identical fuzziness on playback of the .MOV. I think I may have exported the file at too low a quality. To create a standard SVCD, what should the iMovie .MOV export quality/settings be? Thanks again for your advice.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Major,

Success! After fussing w/the iMovie export settings, this is what works for me: