VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
  1. Hi everyone,
    I am new to capturing and I wanted to show you the setup that I use to digitize old family Digital8, HI8 and Video8 cassettes. Since I am from Germany, most of the videos (and camcorder) should be PAL.

Digital 8 (and for the sake of comparing the quality of the captured video also HI8 and Video8):
    - Camcorder: SONY TRV 230E
    - ASHATA 2.5Gbps PCI-E PCI Express FireWire 1394a IEEE 1394 Controller Card with FireWire Cable 800Mbps (https://amzn.eu/d/eOVmvCN)
    - ScenalzerLive 4.0

Note: albeit several different accounts and lists that I found, my version of the TRV 230E is able to convert the analog signal from the HI8 tapes to digital so that I can capture via FireWire.

Analog tapes (HI8 and Video8)

- Camcorder: SONY TRV 230E
    - WIN TV Hauptauge WIN-TV-HVR-1200 TV Card
    - Goobay 50057 S Video Cable (https://amzn.eu/d/dJXV3It)
    - Composite / RCA cable that has the yellor, red and white connectors on one side and the 3,5mm on the other
    - VirtualDub

Note: to connect the camcorder to the TV Card, I use the S-Video and the RCA cable (3,5mm goes into the camcorder, white and red into the TV card)

So my first question (and only question so far) is: is there any significant flaw in the hardware that I am using / is it garbage ?

Thanks!

Bermuda1
    Quote Quote  
  2. No one ? Planning to start the s-Video capture soon and would be good to know if it’s worth the time with my hardware or I am missing something. Thanks!
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    If you're in PAL land, little will be gained by using a analogue-lossless process. One of the respected commercial digitising outfits, video99uk, allegedly uses the DV route: playing the V8/Hi8 tapes in the D8 camcorder and capturing the DV. My own experiment showed the two methods yield the same result.

I suggest you do a couple of test runs to assess for yourself.