VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I cleaned my VCRs heads because the video was very noisy and black and white. I used printer paper and vodka, since I don't have any IPA right now.
    Furthermore, I may have accidentally slipped and moved my finger up or down. I did get some sort of color image, but not much later, I got no signal whatsoever.
    The video heads don't look too bad to me, but I'm not an expert.
    Thanks for any help, and getting my VCR working, hopefully.
    JVC HR-D910EG
    Photos from the heads: https://www.dropbox.com/scl/fo/c9o4bo7qirorhwmk49zp0/ALmVr0Yn1CjCAQGxMAOJptE?rlkey=sle...=2fyy0q1w&dl=0
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    Vodka and printer paper is not my go to. I usually use peach schnapps and 180 grit sand paper.
    Quote Quote  
  3. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    The heads are shredded,not worth replacing.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Originally Posted by johns0 View Post
    The heads are shredded,not worth replacing.
    Just the fourth one or more?
    Quote Quote  
  5. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oe3FZpDE56E
    That's still better than when I first got this VCR.
    Update after playing a tape for over an hour: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pS2AHgOCaqc
    It's only working in rewind, fast forward, and pause.
    Last edited by shpadoinkle; 25th Aug 2024 at 07:53.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Search Comp PM
    nick verb [T] (CUT)
    to make a small cut in a surface or an edge: Paintwork on the corner of a stairway tends to get nicked and scratched. SMART Vocabulary: related words and phrases. Cutting and stabbing. abrasion.
    you probably nicked one head.
    that's why "trick" plb is ok and normal playback look exactly as if only one head is working.

and heads are more sensitive to up/down than side movements, ie they're built to slide over tape laterally, not in vertical direction....
    Quote Quote