VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
  1. Hello! This is my first post, apologies for any trouble.

See, I am a teacher who has a software installed on Teacher's PC to monitorize the students PCs. It's called NetSupport School, and it is a version running on Windows 7 (both host and nodes, some are 32bit and others 64bit).

This program has 2 features: Show entire desktop to students PCs and Show a specific video to students PCs.

The main difference is that when I click "Show a video", it asks me where the video is located so NetSupport will download the video on each student's PC and it uses a custom video playback.

However, in the Show video tool, it can't be any video: It has to be a WMV video (among other formats, but WMV is what I remember).

I produce the videos myself using Camtasia (I crop some videos of the Internet, so I download them, edit in Camtasia and render in the normal way via MP4).

The version of Camtasia I have is Camtasia 9.

The problem is that the school does not have a full-speed internet connection, and we also has small bandwith since we share it within other places.

So my idea was to use Show video tool. So the process I am using is:

1) Render the video in Camtasia to produce a MP4 video in 720p (sometimes 480p due to file size).
    2) Use https://convertio.co/convert-mp4-to-wmv/ to convert the MP4 to WMV video. My settings are:
    2 a) "Very low" video quality.
    2 b) "Low" audio quality (64 kbps).
    2 c) The other config remain the same.
    3) Download the output video and reproduce it via Show video tool.

However, the output is always superior to the MP4 video:

Example: 38,2 MB mp4 ---> 59,1 MB wmv

And this is bad, since the output is usually worst (the letters cannot read with "Very low" video quality), and for bigger file sizes, the conversion increases exponentially.

I tried exporting to WMV directly from the Camtasia panel, but it always produces files of ~200 MB, even 1 GB.