VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 15 of 15
Thread
  1. Greetings all.

    Could somebody please suggest a possible explanation for signal breakdown on a USB satellite recording from an Amiko set top box while the same programme being watched live via the same Amiko set top box did not have any signal breakdown.

    Any suggestions appreciated.

    Best regards
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member netmask56's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Transmission interference - use TS Doctor to fix it.
    SONY 75" Full array 200Hz LED TV, Yamaha A1070 amp, Zidoo UHD3000, BeyonWiz PVR V2 (Enigma2 clone), Chromecast, Windows 11 Professional, QNAP NAS TS851
    Quote Quote  
  3. Thank you for your response.

    Do you know if there is a Linux version of TS Doctor? The closest that I have found is https://alternativeto.net/software/tsmuxer/about/

    Also, what could be the source of the recorded signal quality problems?

    Best regards
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Location
    Israel
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by fuge View Post
    Thank you for your response.

    Do you know if there is a Linux version of TS Doctor? The closest that I have found is https://alternativeto.net/software/tsmuxer/about/

    Also, what could be the source of the recorded signal quality problems?

    Best regards
    I have been using TS Doctor for years and it is an excellent application.
    The source of the recorded signal quality problem can be anything. Starting from the USB recording device. Is is HDD, Flash Disk or SSD?
    The dish size and weather condition can make a corrupted short recording which is not noticeable to the eyes during live viewing.
    TS Doctor will make a full report when you run and this will shed more light as to what happened.
    If you can't use TS Doctor, Upload the raw file and PM me the download link and I will send you back the full report and the "fixed" file.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Thank you for your response.

    The USB that was used for the recording is a Kingston 64GB flash drive, see link below

    https://www.kingston.com/en/usb-flash-drives/datatraveler-exodia-m-moving-usb-3-2-usb-flash-drive

    I will try TS Doctor and post the results.

    Best regards.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Location
    Israel
    Search Comp PM
    Flash drives are not a good choice they get very hot especially during the Summer both during recording and play. Now I am using 120GB SSD housed in an SSD enclosure. In the past I used 4TB MyBook HDD and that was good but changed to SSD and I am happy with it.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Thank you for your latest response.

    I have opened the video file with TS Doctor and attached a screenshot along with some logfiles.

    During TS Doctor installation and video file loading I accepted any defaults.

    I have not used TS Doctor before now and am not really sure how best to interpret these results.

    Any comments appreciated.

    Best regards
    Quote Quote  
  8. Captures & Restoration lollo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Italy
    Search Comp PM
    I have not used TS Doctor before now and am not really sure how best to interpret these results.
    Your recording is bad. Fix the alignement of the satellite dish first, the distribution of the signal, the cables and all the hardware involved in the capture.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by fuge View Post
    Thank you for your response.

    The USB that was used for the recording is a Kingston 64GB flash drive, see link below

    https://www.kingston.com/en/usb-flash-drives/datatraveler-exodia-m-moving-usb-3-2-usb-flash-drive

    I will try TS Doctor and post the results.

    Best regards.
    does the unit not have an internal HDD ??
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Location
    Israel
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by fuge View Post
    Thank you for your latest response.

    I have opened the video file with TS Doctor and attached a screenshot along with some logfiles.

    During TS Doctor installation and video file loading I accepted any defaults.

    I have not used TS Doctor before now and am not really sure how best to interpret these results.

    Any comments appreciated.

    Best regards
    Too many errors. Creating a "fixed" file will not help.
    Did you have this problem before?
    Can you record to HDD drive instead of the flash disk?
    You mentioned you were able to watch it on TV without noticing anything which means the the dish is aligned. You might need to align it to best position later on if nothing else helps.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Captures & Restoration lollo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Italy
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Subtitles View Post
    You mentioned you were able to watch it on TV without noticing anything which means the the dish is aligned
    For watching without notice of the glitches maybe (but is not common anyhow), but not for a proper recording without errors and missed packets.

    Originally Posted by Subtitles View Post
    You might need to align it to best position later on if nothing else helps.
    Actually this should be the first action, alignement and fix of the dish with an adequate instrumentation. If this does not help, consider the rest, one element at the time.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Thank you all for your responses and please note my replies below.

    lollo
    Your recording is bad. Fix the alignment of the satellite dish first, the distribution of the signal, the cables and all the hardware involved in the capture.
    It seems to me that the disk is aligned correctly as it has recently been moved and realigned by the original installer using whatever instrument is used for such purposes. Also watching live does not seem to generate any problems.

    october262
    does the unit not have an internal HDD ??
    No, the set top box does not have an internal HDD. The unit is an Amiko Mini Combo 3, see link below:
    https://www.amikostb.com/product/505-MiniCombo3


    Subtitles
    Did you have this problem before?
    Can you record to HDD drive instead of the flash disk?
    There has been a problem for quite some time, initially the audio and video were not synchronised, then the signals started to break up and were completely lost eventually. The source of the problem seemed to be that some trees were in line with the dish. Moving the dish caused the signal to return with no problems viewing live but with the recording problems being discussed. Also, audio and video are now correctly synchronised.
    The set top box does not have a HDD but I could get a flash drive next week.

    lollo
    For watching without notice of the glitches maybe (but is not common anyhow), but not for a proper recording without errors and missed packets.
    Is it possible that glitches could become apparent in a recording that would not have been obvious when viewing live?

    Could the problem be due to electrical noise from the other devices adjacent to the set top box? These are a Sony Bravia TV, a Sony video recorder and two speakers.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Location
    Israel
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks for the update @fuge.
    Your receiver is quite small and it can get quite hot especially during Summer. Can you check how hot does it feel by touching it with your hand, especially the Flash Disk during recording?
    It would be a good idea to cool it with a small USB fan blowing air over it.
    In the meantime do some recordings and check with TS Doctor. Perfect recordings will give you zero errors and zero warnings.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Captures & Restoration lollo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Italy
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by fuge View Post
    Is it possible that glitches could become apparent in a recording that would not have been obvious when viewing live?
    Yes, but only for small loss of packets in the transport stream. If a major error occurs, it is also visible in live viewing.

    Originally Posted by fuge View Post
    T
    Could the problem be due to electrical noise from the other devices adjacent to the set top box? These are a Sony Bravia TV, a Sony video recorder and two speakers.
    In general no, except for cordless telephones, interfering with the demodulated DVB-S frequencies. But who knows...

    I also experimented in the past trobles with a later model of the Transcend 64GB TS64GJF620 while the model TS64GJF600 was perfectly fine (it could be a bad unit or who know what).
    Did you properly formatted the usb key (ext3 or ext4)?
    If you have USB port on the receiver with higher current capability (1A instead of 0.5A) use that.
    Do you find the same errors while recording channels on different transponders? (the quality reception may be marginal on some of them, they are not all the same).
    Quote Quote  
  15. Thank you all for your responses.

    As suggested I will do some experimenting and post the results.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads

Visit our sponsor! Try DVDFab and backup Blu-rays!