I want to render a video from Sony Vegas through Debugmode Frameserver. I have used this method successfully in the past. For example I loaded camcorder mts files into Vegas, edited them, then run Debugmode Frameserver and could load the output avi file with AviSource into the encoder.
Recently I have edited an .mpg file, but AviSource doesn't open the Debugmode Frameserver avi output of that project. I says: 'Couldn't locate a decompressor for fourcc DFSC"
I thought maybe the problem is that though the Debugmode Framserver output is an avi file, in reality the content is mpeg. So I copied DGDecode.dll to the AviSynth+ plugin library, and Tadaam, the Mpeg2Source command opened the Debugmode Framserver avi output. Rendered the video successfully.
BUT, today I noticed there was some problem when I edited the video in Vegas, so I corrected the errors. Then I moved onto rendering the project again with Debugmode Frameserver and Mpeg2Source, and it no more works. The error message I get: DGIndex.exe is missing. I thought, okay I copy DGIndex.exe as well to the plugin library of avisynth. But this way nothing happens, CMD.exe is started when running the script, but it freezes.
So what can I do in this case?
This is the Mediainfo of the mpeg file being edited:
Code:General Complete name : C:\Users\bencuri\Videos\Obligatoire\primus.mpg Format : MPEG-PS File size : 268 MiB Duration : 5 min 35 s Overall bit rate mode : Variable Overall bit rate : 6 688 kb/s Frame rate : 25.000 FPS Writing library : (dvd5: Oct 27 2015) Video ID : 224 (0xE0) Format : MPEG Video Format version : Version 2 Format profile : Main@Main Format settings : CustomMatrix / BVOP Format settings, BVOP : Yes Format settings, Matrix : Custom Format settings, GOP : M=3, N=15 Format settings, picture structure : Frame Duration : 5 min 35 s Bit rate mode : Variable Bit rate : 6 171 kb/s Maximum bit rate : 7 000 kb/s Width : 720 pixels Height : 576 pixels Display aspect ratio : 4:3 Frame rate : 25.000 FPS Standard : PAL Color space : YUV Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0 Bit depth : 8 bits Scan type : Interlaced Scan order : Bottom Field First Compression mode : Lossy Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.595 Time code of first frame : 00:00:00:00 Time code source : Group of pictures header GOP, Open/Closed : Closed Stream size : 247 MiB (92%) Writing library : (dvd5: Oct 27 2015) Color primaries : BT.601 PAL Transfer characteristics : BT.470 System B/G Matrix coefficients : BT.601
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 26 of 26
-
-
I am not sure that will solve problems alone. If I start exporting with DebugMode Frameserver, the Avi it creates works. If I open it in mediaplayer, it starts playing. It is only avisynth that cannot read it now. It could in the past, though. Back then I used avisynth 32 bit 2.6.0. I changed to avisynth+ 64bit recently. I wonder If that change causes the problems.
-
Something strange is going on here. If I use avisynth+ 64 bit, it doesn't work. I get the error that I mentioned above. If I use avisynth+32 bit, it works. AviSource opens the avi output from Vegas. But then the problem is, I cannot get my script working on avisynth+ 32 bit. Somehow it's just not compatibile.
At the same time my Vegas is 64 bit and the FramServer Plugin is for 64 bit. -
Last edited by ProWo; 6th Jun 2024 at 08:07.
-
for 64bit, you need frame server 3.0 , or however it is labeled now, https://www.debugmode.com/frameserver.html , I checked that website, it has a green button for 64bit version
maybe you updated to 64bit avisynth or 64bit Vegas, but using old 32bit frame server -
-
old software versions are archived on this site
https://www.videohelp.com/software/Debugmode-FrameServer/old-versions -
Vegas 12 64 bit. The 2.14 Debugmode installer is offering to copy it for 64 bit Vegas, though. But maybe it means nothing and the frameserver is still 32 bit.
The interesting is, though, as I mentioned above: Mpeg2Source worked for a while with avisynth+ 64 bit. I added dgdecode.dll to the plugin folder, and it did open the video and could convert. But after a few days it started asking for DGindex.exe. Don't know what changed that is started behaving like that. So it no more works. If I could make it not look for the exe file maybe it could work again.
When you mean lossless which settings do you mean exactly? There are various lossless options, sometimes I tried them but got chaotic results.
mp_pipeline with x86 AVISource: how to do that, can you link a guide? -
Not sure, maybe you're mixing up versions. Try uninstalling , reinstalling
The interesting is, though, as I mentioned above: Mpeg2Source worked for a while with avisynth+ 64 bit. I added dgdecode.dll to the plugin folder, and it did open the video and could convert. But after a few days it started asking for DGindex.exe. Don't know what changed that is started behaving like that. So it no more works. If I could make it not look for the exe file maybe it could work again.
When you mean lossless which settings do you mean exactly? There are various lossless options, sometimes I tried them but got chaotic results.
A lossless codec like lagarith , ut video - in RGB mode. You are frameserving RGB with debugmode anyways . You need lots of storage space
mp_pipeline with x86 AVISource: how to do that, can you link a guide?
https://github.com/pinterf/MP_Pipeline
https://github.com/pinterf/MP_Pipeline/blob/master/Documentation/MP_Pipeline_readme_avsplus.avs
mp_pipeline simple example should look like this
Code:MP_Pipeline(""" ### platform: win32 AVISource("frameserver.avi") ### ### ### platform: win64 # x64 filters ### ### """)
-
No no and no.
I did not mix up versions. 2.14 is the highest that works with Vegas 12. 3.0 needs later versions of Vegas. When I install the frameserver, it asks if I am using Vegas 32 bit or 64 bit. I select 64 bit, it installs. And then I can render by it using avisynth+ 32 bit. 64 bit doesn't work, cannot open any videos with any filters.
Mpeg2Source was an exception for a while. As I mentioned. But it only worked for a short period, now it doesn't work any more, but it is asking for DGIndex.exe. When I copy that to the avisynth+ plugin folder, the rendering starts but freezes. I have no idea how it could work before, but I rendered a full video with it.
Debugmode is processing with YUV as well, or YUY, I am not sure about which one, but not only RGB.
In my Vegas I can only find Lossless Avi. But I am not sure which options I need to choose here on its panel:
[Attachment 79748 - Click to enlarge]
That pipeline script seems to be quite convenient I will test it. Thanks! -
I have tried the pipeline method, I couldn't make it work with my recent script:
Code:MP_Pipeline(""" ### platform: win32 AviSource("frameserver.avi") ### ### ### platform: win64 Crop(10,0,-6,-0) QTGMC() ColorMatrix(mode="rec.601->rec.709", clamp=0) Dehalo_alpha(rx=2.0, ry=1.0, darkstr=2.0, brightstr=2.0) ***SMDegrain(thsad=1000, tr=3, prefilter=4) nnedi3_rpow2(2, cshift="Spline36Resize", fwidth=960, fheight=720) ***aWarpSharp2(depth=5) ***CAS(0.5) nnedi3_rpow2(2, cshift="Spline36Resize") ***CropResize(1920,1080, 20,8,-10,-6, CropDAR=4.0/3.0, Resizer="Resize8", Borders=true) ***aWarpSharp2(depth=5) ***CAS(0.5) ### ### """)
-
Well, finally I managed to find a solution. I could get my script working in avisynth+ 32bit. This way the behavior of Debugmode Framserver is not a problem (as I mentioned with avisynth+ 32bit, it works when I am opening the video with AviSource).
The only problem is that I get an errormessage on Dehalo Aplha, saying the color space is incorrect. I did a research, I found Dehalo Alpha supports only YV12, the output from the frameserver is YUY2. So I modified my code. Could you confirm it is correct this way, or now I messed up something with the colors instead?
Code:AviSource("frameserver.avi") Crop(10,0,-6,-0) QTGMC() ColorMatrix(mode="rec.601->rec.709", clamp=0) /the video being edited in Vegas is mpg/ ConvertToYV12() Dehalo_alpha(rx=2.0, ry=1.0, darkstr=2.0, brightstr=2.0) SMDegrain(thsad=1000, tr=3, prefilter=4) nnedi3_rpow2(2, cshift="Spline36Resize", fwidth=960, fheight=720) aWarpSharp2(depth=5) CAS(0.5) nnedi3_rpow2(2, cshift="Spline36Resize") CropResize(1920,1080, 20,8,-10,-6, CropDAR=4.0/3.0, Resizer="Resize8", Borders=true) aWarpSharp2(depth=5) CAS(0.5) prefetch(3)
-
But it works with QTGMC ? Interesting...
Dehalo_alpha_mt2 should work with 4:2:2 in planar (and high bit depths) if you have newer version of masktools
https://github.com/realfinder/AVS-Stuff/blob/master/avs%202.5%20and%20up/DeHalo_alpha_mt2.avsi
ConvertToYV16()
All newer filters work in planar formats . All interleaved formats like YUY2 are depreciated and slower -
Maybe it is a dumb question, but I don't know too much about color settings. But in my script, is the Converttoyv16 at the proper place? I also don't know if it is in the script, does the 706-709 color matrix setting need to be included, or not necessary?
"Dehalo_alpha_mt2 should work with 4:2:2" it means dehalo can handle YUY2? I have no clue about these things sorry -
If your final output is YV12 (8bit 4:2:0) , it doesn't matter, use YV12 as your original script. If you wanted to keep 4:2:2 , replace ConvertToYV12 with ConvertToYV16
matrix only matters for YUV<=>RGB conversions . If you have YUY2 frameserving , converting frameserved YUY2 to YV12 or YV16 is YUV to YUV - so matrix doesn't matter
"Dehalo_alpha_mt2 should work with 4:2:2" it means dehalo can handle YUY2? I have no clue about these things sorry
YUY2 is packed 8bit 4:2:2 - essentially the same thing as YV16 (planar 8bit 4:2:2), but stored differently. Planar vs. Packed. YUY2 is Not compatible -
I still don't get a few things:
1."If you wanted to keep 4:2:2 , replace ConvertToYV12 with ConvertToYV16"
The source being edited in Vegas is BT.601 4:2:0. The Frameserver is outputting YUY2. So what should be that part of the script that sets the colors? I guess ConverttoYV12, isn't it? Or the frameserver inbetween changes it to 4:2:2?
2."matrix only matters for YUV<=>RGB conversions " Okay, but this gonna be an .mpg SD to .mp4 FullHD conversion. In that case the Matrix should be changed, shouldn't it? When I check the colors of the mp4 left in BT601 they look different, for example the contrast. -
Internally, vegas works in RGB
You're already changing the matrix in YUV with colormatrix . If you frameserve RGB instead, you can skip that and specify the matrix directly
The "contrast" change might be because of vegas - studio RGB vs. computer RGB . Vegas treats some sources differently. It uses studio RGB for most native camera sources . Nwer Magix versions of Vegas have more options to control the behaviour
For frameserver, you might have to use ConvertToYV12(matrix="PC.601") depending on how you setup the project (you do this typically when you frameserve RGB, PC vs. Rec won' t change the contrast if you frameserve YUY2), or use a computer RGB to studio RGB levels filter within vegas or vice versa before exporting , or use a Levels filter in avisynth to change the contrast back. You might have to do some tests like colorbars, because I don't know the details of how you have this project setup
601 vs. 709 doesn't really change the contrast . Pc vs. Rec in avisynth changes the contrast for RGB<=>YUV conversions. Studio RGB vs. Computer RGB behaviour in vegas changes the contrastLast edited by poisondeathray; 10th Jun 2024 at 08:23.
-
I don't know what the 601 to 709 conversion changes, but when I leave 601 and upscale to FullHD, the dark parts become darker, even if I directly convert the source file skipping Vegas. Especially when I upload to Youtube, it becomes very visible.
Me I don't set anything in Vegas. I don't even see where I can set Colors. I see there is a Colorspace setting for videos on the timeline, for me it is at Default. I can see other options there but no RGB, YUV or similar mentioned. -
601 vs 709 shifts the colors slightly, it doesn't increase the contrast
"dark parts getting darker" implies increasing contrast
If it's a studio/computer RGB issue in vegas, you would either apply computer RGB to studio RGB preset before frameserver in vegas, or levels(0,1,255,16,235,false) in avisynth after avisource
Post more information, such as video before/after if neither fixes the issue -
I don't know what the 601 to 709 conversion changes, but when I leave 601 and upscale to FullHD, the dark parts become darker, even if I directly convert the source file skipping Vegas.
If you use Vegas or else, you introduce another variable in the equation, because there is a RGB conversion, so better follow pdr recommendations... -
That's fine, I mean the fact that Vegas introduces RGB conversion. However I still don't understand why it is so important to emphasize that? I assume it makes no sense in connection with the Avisynth script, because as I mentioned, Debugmode Frameserver outputs in YUY. It can output in RGB, but YUY as well, and YUY is my default selection. So why is it important to emphasize what Vegas does with the colorspace, when the video data entering to Avisynth is no more RGB but YUY?
Similar Threads
-
Could not open file in DevIL libray
By AcAcia in forum EditingReplies: 1Last Post: 28th May 2024, 07:00 -
How do I open an h264 file in Avisynth+ (64-bit)?
By bergqvistjl in forum EditingReplies: 3Last Post: 12th Aug 2022, 12:55 -
Open VOB file on Staxrip
By Filipon in forum Newbie / General discussionsReplies: 5Last Post: 7th Jun 2022, 16:46 -
Cant open AVI in Veedub
By Liesh in forum Video ConversionReplies: 5Last Post: 13th Sep 2020, 21:56 -
Open file in mkvpropedit-gui
By Valit in forum Newbie / General discussionsReplies: 1Last Post: 20th Aug 2019, 15:30