I use Avidemux to transcode a folder of files from one container to another. The problem is that since the folder is quite large with many files, I want the process to work in the background whilst I do other stuff on the PC. The problem is that on most occasions the processing window appears and I have to click away to minimise it, but as soon as the next file is loaded, it reappears. I just want it to work in the background and only appear IF I click the tab on the taskbar. Thanks for any help!
Code:set avidemux="C:\Program Files\Avidemux 2.8 VC++ 64bits\avidemux.exe" set videocodec=Copy set audiocodec=Copy for %%f in (*.mkv) do %avidemux% --video-codec %videocodec% --audio-codec %audiocodec% --force-alt-h264 --load "%%f" --save "%%~nf.mp4" --quit echo. Pause
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
-
-
Where do I add this in the batch file? I tried after the exe launches;
Code:set avidemux="C:\Program Files\Avidemux 2.8 VC++ 64bits\avidemux.exe" start /min avidemux set videocodec=Copy ...
Code:start /min avidemux set avidemux="C:\Program Files\Avidemux 2.8 VC++ 64bits\avidemux.exe" set videocodec=Copy ...
-
Code:
start /min "C:\Program Files\Avidemux 2.8 VC++ 64bits\avidemux.exe"
-
This doesn't work unfortunately. Changing;
Code:set avidemux="C:\Program Files\Avidemux 2.8 VC++ 64bits\avidemux.exe"
Code:start /min "C:\Program Files\Avidemux 2.8 VC++ 64bits\avidemux.exe"
Code:..... is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.
-
Code:
set avidemux="C:\Program Files\Avidemux 2.8 VC++ 64bits\avidemux.exe" set videocodec=Copy set audiocodec=Copy for %%f in (*.mkv) do start /b %avidemux% --video-codec %videocodec% --audio-codec %audiocodec% --force-alt-h264 --load "%%f" --save "%%~nf.mp4" --quit echo. Pause
-
So I went looking for a solution and I found it by using a combination of things.
1. The AviDemux GUI cannot be kept running in a minimised state. I don't know why and none of the replies above have suggested it can do so either. I feel it should be able to, but nobody has figured it out.
2. Someone suggested that instead of running avidemux.exe in the batch file, to use avidemux_cli.exe instead. This however also ran onscreen. However it was probably easier to keep a CLI minimised than a GUI, since nobody had figured out the latter.
3. Then it was suggested that I add this code to the start of the batch file script;
Code:rem --------------------------------------------- rem how to minimize the command prompt when rem running a batch script? rem --------------------------------------------- rem https://stackoverflow.com/questions/2106723/ rem how-to-minimize-the-command-prompt-when- rem running-a-batch-script if not "%minimized%"=="" goto :minimized set minimized=true start /min cmd /C "%~dpnx0" goto :EOF :minimized rem Anything after here will run in a minimized window
Code:rem --------------------------------------------- rem how to minimize the command prompt when rem running a batch script? rem --------------------------------------------- rem https://stackoverflow.com/questions/2106723/ rem how-to-minimize-the-command-prompt-when- rem running-a-batch-script if not "%minimized%"=="" goto :minimized set minimized=true start /min cmd /C "%~dpnx0" goto :EOF :minimized rem Anything after here will run in a minimized window set avidemux="C:\Program Files\Avidemux 2.8 VC++ 64bits\avidemux_cli.exe" set videocodec=Copy set audiocodec=Copy for %%f in (*.mkv) do %avidemux% --video-codec %videocodec% --audio-codec %audiocodec% --force-alt-h264 --load "%%f" --save "%%~nf.mp4" --quit echo. Pause
I hope at some point someone can figure out the original request of how to keep the GUI minimised and not having to use the CLI. The only reason I say this is because the GUI gives a good popup warning when there is an error to pinpoint it to the exact part in the video. For now however, it seems that the goal has been achieved.
Similar Threads
-
Batch Process Videos with FFmpeg
By Jay123210599 in forum Newbie / General discussionsReplies: 2Last Post: 8th Nov 2023, 17:53 -
Best way to change .avi frame rate as batch process?
By cluelessScientist in forum Newbie / General discussionsReplies: 13Last Post: 26th Feb 2023, 10:42 -
batch to process files one by one starting from a .txt list?
By marcorocchini in forum Newbie / General discussionsReplies: 1Last Post: 29th Aug 2022, 08:06 -
MP4 File Re-Sync Batch Conversion (Avidemux?)
By lplp in forum Video ConversionReplies: 1Last Post: 20th Sep 2019, 23:47 -
has there EVER been a solution to Avidemux's no batch problem?
By KneeRow in forum Video ConversionReplies: 1Last Post: 23rd Aug 2019, 14:28