VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    I've been doing some Betacam transfers for about 6+ months now. I've been enjoying the experience and I'm very impressed with the quality. I have been uploading some of these to YouTube, but for my newer captures I was wanting to do some cleanup before scaling to 4K (for less YT compression).

My capture setup:
    Sony PVW-2800 > Component Out > Open Source Scan Converter - Component IN - Passthrough (480i) mode > HDMI Out > Avermedia Live Gamer 4K > Virtualdub > MagicYUV 4:4:4

The reason why I record in 4:4:4, is because I get a bit more information in the reds. It's unnoticeable to 99% of people without zooming in a lot, but I wanted to record as much information as possible.

First off, I usually adjust levels for all my tape transfers, VHS or Betacam. I lower the brightness until the blackest part of the tape is at 16, then I raise the contrast until the brightest point of the tape clips at 235, then I bring it down until it isn't. But a dilemma I've been having is that there's some instances with white text or an all white background. Even though they're white, some pixels clip.

RAW:
    Click image for larger version

Name:	WR4HVg4.png
Views:	493
Size:	565.3 KB
ID:	77613

Code:
    converttoyuv444(matrix="rec601", interlaced=true).convertbits(10)
    Levels(55, 1, 905, 0, 1020, coring=true,dither=true).tweak(bright=0, cont=1.00, hue=-0, sat=1.0, coring=false, dither=true).convertbits(8)

Name:	0HvGUwr.png
Views:	523
Size:	584.8 KB
ID:	77614

Should I still adjust until it's not clipping or is it OK for it to clip since it's an all white background?