VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    Hi,

I still have some uncompressed capture files from when I was still capturing uncompressed (meanwhile I capture right into HuffYuv). In order to not re-capture those tapes, I'm now looking for a way to convert those uncompressed files into another lossless, but much more compressed codec, such as HuffYuv for example.

Can VirtualDub do this? Is there really no loss when converting uncompressed into any other lossless codec? I'm fairly new to VirtualDub - how would my steps look like?

Thanks a lot.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Marvolo View Post
    Hi,

I still have some uncompressed capture files from when I was still capturing uncompressed (meanwhile I capture right into HuffYuv). In order to not re-capture those tapes, I'm now looking for a way to convert those uncompressed files into another lossless, but much more compressed codec, such as HuffYuv for example.

Can VirtualDub do this? Is there really no loss when converting uncompressed into any other lossless codec? I'm fairly new to VirtualDub - how would my steps look like?

Thanks a lot.
    Hi, well it is the first im hearing of converting from lossless to lossles, im more the type to keep the original source file in an zip or rar package for storage and basicly only use it to converting into an format and codec i intend to use for playing it such as AVI/MP4/WebM/MOV/DivX, H.264, MSMPEG, VP8 etc.

But if you are looking for an compression codec maybe TechSmith Screen Capture Codec is of interest, it is intended to use for recording but it is possible allso to convert videos into AVI format using the TechSmith codec, ive allways said its an compression codec since its codec settings offer to customize the compression between faster compression or better compression and the logo is allmost the same as some Zip compression logos but green color, however some people say its an lossless codec!