VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 23 of 23
Thread
  1. Hello, I want to digitize my childhood VHS.
    I have a Sharp VC-A30BP, a Schneider SVC200 and a Supra SV 95DK. I know they are consumer goods, but I will use one of them. I guess Sharp is better?
    Video Capture - AverMedia DVD EZMaker 7
    The system is PAL.

    I read several threads and saw that with VitrualDub they can be digitized very well.
    I watched a tutorial on YouTube I'm thinking of using this codec (Lagarith Lossless Codec) with the settings from the tutorial. Is 720x576px and YUY2 correct?

    However, I want to ask if any of the other codecs are better and with what settings?

    Thanks!
    Image Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2024-02-08 101235.png
Views:	29
Size:	52.4 KB
ID:	76858  

    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2023
    Location
    USA
    Search PM
    I have the Avermedia EZ maker 7 as well and will say that it works better than the Hauppauge USB Live-2.

    I'm in the same boat as you and ended up capturing in AmarecTV using Lagarith to a lossless avi 720x480 . Deinterlacing and noise removal via QTGMC commands in avisynth+ run through virtual dub 2, resizing to 640x480 and then final encoding in handbrake H264 (no resizing, no noise reduction) at a healthy file bitrate size and slowest encoding you can stand.

    I would recommend capturing to a SSD or even better NVMe, or you risk studder.

    capturing and/or deinterlacing in virtualdub2 was noticeably worse picture quality to me.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Captures & Restoration lollo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Italy
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Forenzik View Post
    I have the Avermedia EZ maker 7 as well and will say that it works better than the Hauppauge USB Live-2.
    Is that beacuse tha audio glitches you reported recently with the USB-Live 2?
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2023
    Location
    USA
    Search PM
    Yes, either I just happened to get two bad devices direct from Hauppauge or they have a widespread manufacturing issue. Even it on different machines with the same result. Since I'm not seeing any difference in video quality, my vote goes to avermedia.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Originally Posted by Forenzik View Post
    Deinterlacing and noise removal via QTGMC commands in avisynth+ run through virtual dub 2, resizing to 640x480
    Capture all tapes in lossless quality.
    Now it should be deinterlaced. Can you have a guide or a video tutorial on how to do it?
    Quote Quote  
  6. I saw this tutorial.
    Which script should I use for deinterlacing and noise reduction?
    Is the one from the tutorial enough?
    Code:
    SetFilterMTMode ("QTGMC", 2)
    FFMPEGSource2("videofile.avi", atrack=1)
    AssumeBFF()
    QTGMC(preset="Slower")
    BilinearResize(720,540)
    Prefetch(10)
    Last edited by amxcs; 11th Feb 2024 at 13:22.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Captures & Restoration lollo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Italy
    Search Comp PM
    Post a sample of your capture...
    Quote Quote  
  8. Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2022
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by amxcs View Post
    I saw this tutorial.
    Which script should I use for deinterlacing and noise reduction?
    Is the one from the tutorial enough? Или той е само за деинтерлейсинг?
    Code:
    SetFilterMTMode ("QTGMC", 2)
    FFMPEGSource2("videofile.avi", atrack=1)
    AssumeBFF()
    QTGMC(preset="Slower")
    BilinearResize(720,540)
    Prefetch(10)
    Why MPEG2 is BFF? Why bilinear? Why 720x540? What is your target platform?
    Quote Quote  
  9. VirtualDub 1.10.4
    Lagarith Lossless Codec with YUY2 mode
    Format 720x576px and YUY2
    Audio 44.10khz, 16bit
    Image Attached Files
    Quote Quote  
  10. Captures & Restoration lollo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Italy
    Search Comp PM
    Your capture suffers of "flagging(tearing)". You need a TBC correction, if you can't have a high-end S-VHS machine with T.B.C, add a DVD-Recorder in pass-through mode, such as Panasonic ES_10 or ES-15:

    Image
    [Attachment 76955 - Click to enlarge]


    it also suffers of "crushed" blacks, try to tune the procamp of your card:

    Click image for larger version

Name:	frame390_hist.png
Views:	40
Size:	709.9 KB
ID:	76956

    Here a restoration attempt using classics approach
    Code:
    AssumeTFF().QTGMC(preset="slow", matchpreset="slow", matchpreset2="slow", sourcematch=3, tr1=2, tr2=1, NoiseTR=2, sharpness=0.1)
    TemporalDegrain2(degrainTR=3)
    LSFmod(defaults="slow")
    and compressed to h264 for size reduction: rest.mp4

    Some of the frames with lines dropout (defect on tape) can be replaced with interpolated frames.

    In your original script AssumeBFF() is wrong, and BilinearResize(720,540) is useless and lossy
    Quote Quote  
  11. Wow, I didn't expect it to turn out so well! It is wonderful!

    However, I will also try to find a high-end S-VHS machine with T.B.C.

    How do I tune the procamp and how do I know it's good?


    Is the script that good?
    Code:
        SetFilterMTMode ("QTGMC", 2)
        FFMPEGSource2("sample.avi", atrack=1)
        AssumeTFF().QTGMC(preset="slow", matchpreset="slow", matchpreset2="slow", sourcematch=3, tr1=2, tr2=1, NoiseTR=2, sharpness=0.1)
        TemporalDegrain2(degrainTR=3)
        LSFmod(defaults="slow")
        QTGMC(preset="Slower")
        Prefetch(12)
        Crop(10,0,-6,570)
    Is it ok to use Crop(10,0,-6,570) to crop the unnecessary?

    And finally to ask what settings to use for encoding. Is it ok in .MKV?
    Image Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2024-02-11 231728.png
Views:	8
Size:	17.4 KB
ID:	76965  

    Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2024-02-11 232404.png
Views:	25
Size:	124.0 KB
ID:	76967  

    Quote Quote  
  12. Captures & Restoration lollo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Italy
    Search Comp PM
    This is the sample.avs script I used:
    Code:
    video_org=FFmpegSource2("sample.avi", atrack=-1) # no Lagarith installed
    
    # cropping 
    	crop_left=8	# | rimozione esatta delle bande nere sinistra, sopra, destra e del disturbo sotto	
    	crop_top=2	# | 720-(8+8)x576-(2+10)=704x564
    	crop_right=8
    	crop_bottom=10
    video_org_crop=video_org.crop(crop_left,crop_top,-crop_right,-crop_bottom)
    
    ### deinterlacing
    deinterlaced=video_org_crop.AssumeTFF().QTGMC(preset="slow", matchpreset="slow", matchpreset2="slow", sourcematch=3, tr1=2, tr2=1, NoiseTR=2, sharpness=0.1)
    
    ### convert to YV16
    deinterlaced_yv16=deinterlaced.convertToYV16()
    
    ### denoising
    denoised_yv16=deinterlaced_yv16.TemporalDegrain2(degrainTR=3)
    
    ### convert to YUY2
    denoised=denoised_yv16.convertToYUY2()
    
    ## convert to YV12
    denoised_yv12=denoised.convertToYV12()
    
    ### sharpening
    sharpened_yv12=denoised_yv12.LSFmod(defaults="slow")
    
    ### convert to YUY2 with chroma from YUY2 color space
    sharpened=sharpened_yv12.convertToYUY2().MergeChroma(denoised)
    
    ### add borders
    video_rest=sharpened.addborders((crop_left+crop_right)/2,(crop_top+crop_bottom)/2,(crop_left+crop_right)/2,(crop_top+crop_bottom)/2)
    
    return(video_rest)
    If you want to crop, then specify the PAR (Pixel Aspect Ratio) in the final encoding rather than the DAR. Search the forum for details.

    For encoding I used a simple command line:
    Code:
    ffmpeg.exe -i sample.avs -c:v libx264 -crf 17 -preset slow -aspect 4:3 -c:a aac -b:a 128k sample.mp4
    If you prefere the Vdub GUI is ok (choose your preferred CRF).

    Do not capture with VirtualDub 1.10.4 but 1.9.11 or, better, with AmarecTV.

    Do not capture audioat 44.1KHz, but 48KHz.

    Improve your hardware to remove the flagging!
    Quote Quote  
  13. Thanks!
    This is exactly what I needed for a newbie like me, just changing the file name.
    I also tried AmarecTV, it gave me 2 errors on launch, then loaded, I looked at the program, but there were too many options that I don't know what to do, and then I found a tutorial on VirtualDub.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Ok, I'll try amartecTV too.

    Originally Posted by lollo View Post
    For encoding I used a simple command line:
    Code:
    ffmpeg.exe -i sample.avs -c:v libx264 -crf 17 -preset slow -aspect 4:3 -c:a aac -b:a 128k sample.mp4
    And is it normal to convert a 2 minute video to "half an hour"?
    CPU: Core i5-12400F
    RAM: 32GB 3600MHz
    NVME: Crucial P3 1TB PCIE Gen3.0 SSD
    Quote Quote  
  15. Captures & Restoration lollo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Italy
    Search Comp PM
    Thatís because AviSynth processing time, not ffmpeg
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Australia-PAL Land
    Search Comp PM
    My more-pictorial AmarecTV guide here.
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2023
    Location
    USA
    Search PM
    Is there any way to get multi threading to work in this script? I notice that it's only hitting the cpu at like 12%, with a rendering rate of 3fps.

    I assume no because TemporalDesnoise 2 doesnt work with a SetFilterMTMode() command?
    Last edited by Forenzik; 17th Feb 2024 at 15:40.
    Quote Quote  
  18. Originally Posted by Alwyn View Post
    My more-pictorial AmarecTV guide here.
    I can't get the huffy codec to show, even when install has been selected on the inf file and after a reboot.

    Secondly, I tried a very similar process, and after running the script via ffmpeg or vdub2, the audio was delayed by about 5 seconds.

    Code:
    SetFilterMTMode("QTGMC",2)
    FFmpegSource2("test-25-i.avi", atrack=-1)
    AssumeTFF()
    QTGMC(preset="slow", matchpreset="slow", matchpreset2="slow", sourcematch=3, tr1=2, tr2=1, NoiseTR=2, sharpness=0.1)
    BilinearResize(768,576)
    Prefetch(20)
    Any idea why that might be?
    Thanks!
    Quote Quote  
  19. Try 32bit version.
    Quote Quote  
  20. Originally Posted by amxcs View Post
    Try 32bit version.
    That was the first thing I did after a reboot and there were no results.
    I get the same thing

    Originally Posted by Alwyn View Post
    @wcndave2, yes, unfortunately getting HUFF onto your machine isn't easy. Have a read of this:

    https://github.com/hofmand/video-codec-installers

    That should get you going.
    32 bit version msi was the option that worked, thanks!
    Last edited by wcndave2; 22nd Feb 2024 at 01:07.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads

Visit our sponsor! Try DVDFab and backup Blu-rays!