VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Sorry for this question but I'm not very tech savvy at all so please bear with me.
    I'm trying to transfer my miniDV tapes using the original camera Canon VIXIA HV40 to my external HardDrive and I noticed it stops recording around 30 minutes of an hour tape.
    Does anyone know of a fix to this issue?
    Please help me.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    make sure there is no check mark in "scenes split" box. and the hard drive needs to formatted as exfat or ntfs not fat32.
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Thank you for your quick reply.
    Yes the "scene split" is unchecked however that comment about the hard drive is way over my head. Have no idea how to check that.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Capturing Memories dellsam34's Avatar
    Search PM
    Are you transferring DV or HDV content or a mixt? HDVsplit transfers HDV content only.

How did you format your external hard drive? What options you checked when formatted it?
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search Comp PM
    so, I am transferring HDV tapes, but I didn't format the hard drive.
    Since I'm not technically savvy at all I simply plugged in the WD drive into my port and started to download the videos through HDVSplit.
    Sounds like that's where all my problems began.
    In my defense when I plugged it into the port it didn't prompt me to do anything.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Banned
    Search PM
    Half an hour of HDV is around 14 GB, so should not be related to FAT cluster size. WinDV has max file size setting, I don't remember whether HDV Split has one.
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    To do a reformat (which of course means wiping all the data currently on the drive!), you would do something like this:
    1. Right click on your computer icon in Explorer, choose "Manage"