VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hello. My PC is about 4 years old and I probably should continue with it a few more years since it is actually meeting my needs. I have typically bought a new PC every 3 or 4 years and so that is why I am looking. I would probably want to keep my cost under $1500.

I don't really want to look up all the specs but will say my current PC has the Intel i7 processor that was available at the time and it is a gaming PC with an NVIDIA graphics card and 16GB ram, and a built in Blu Ray burner. I use Davinci Resolve for editing and have some 4K video but usually export/ save it in 1080p and then put it on Blu Rays or DVDs as the final destination. I don't need nor want to invest in a high end professional video editing machine as I'm just a hobbyist, but I like to have fun and do work that I'm proud of that my friends and family will enjoy. So I looked at some of the latest gaming PCs from CyberPower and HP, etc, and now none of them come with Optical drives or have a space in the case for one. I guess I'm just curious as I know many of us here MUST still be putting our products on DVDs and/or Blu Rays. If the PCs don't come equipped for that, what do you do? I guess the answer is to buy an external usb Blu Ray burner as I do see they are available. But I was just wondering if anybody else is looking for, or has recently purchased, and what you chose in similar circumstances to mine. I should say I also use my PC for work and every thing else, I teach online, so for that it needs to be able to do regular and basic PC stuff as well as video editing capability. (I really don't play video games on it but sometimes my grandkids do; that is not what I really care about for capabilities).
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by suelaine View Post