VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. MiniDV timecode corrupted?

I recently bought a Canon GL1 with some new tapes, it's my first time shooting on a digital camcorder (miniDV), but I have some experience on VHS and Video8. Well the first day off shooting went great, I was new to the timecode thing and saw sometimes the tapes had problems with finding it or something?? But with some fiddling around it worked and I shot on two tapes and recorded it perfectly on my Mac via FireWire. Now a week later I wanted to shoot something again, I rewinded one of the two tapes and started recording, and it recorded. But I saw the timecode running but whenever I stopped the recording it started it again it would reset to 00:00:00 and record from there on again. While I don't have much experience I just took it for granted because everything seemed to work. So when I decided to digitalise it today, I rewinded the tape and played it, it was a blue screen with no timecode, I tried to put it somewhere in the middle but still a blue screen with no timecode. After I put in another tape (I thought it would reset the timecode) and put it back in, it suddenly played, but it literally played the old recordings Im so confused as what happened, did it never record in the first place, was it something with the timecode. How can I fix this in the future and is my footage gone forever? I hope someone can at least make me understand this better.

​

PS: Also every time I changed the battery something would happen to the timecode but also resetsome settings??
    Quote Quote  
  2. Capturing Memories dellsam34's Avatar
    Search PM