VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 33
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Australia-PAL Land
    Search Comp PM
    I got this off Facebook. Thanks to your guidance, I know how to fix the pause by decimating, but how could the jump be fixed?

    The pattern seems to be 8 frames to the jump, then 11 to the pause, and repeat.

    Also, how could this have been created? Would it be a Facebook encoding issue or would it have been in the original file (which I assume is from a phone)?

    Thanks for any input.
    Image Attached Files
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Australia-PAL Land
    Search Comp PM
    The jumps are between frames:

    7-8
    25-26
    42-43
    60-61
    77-78
    and so on.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Captures & Restoration lollo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Italy
    Search Comp PM
    but how could the jump be fixed?
    AviSynth RIFE or MVtools2 or SVPflow
    Quote Quote  
  4. users currently on my ignore list: deadrats, Stears555
    Quote Quote  
  5. surely If you made the video in the first place you could do it in an edting suit. there will be a copywrite on the video if it is not one of yours
    Last edited by realspeed; 29th Jul 2023 at 05:34.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Australia-PAL Land
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Realspeed
    you could do it in an edting suit
    It is obvious from my post that I didn't make it.

    Out of interest, how would you do it in an editing suite?

    Originally Posted by Realspeed
    there will be a copywrite on the video if it is not one of yours
    You know where I got it from. What are the copyright rules on that?

    I suppose you are also posting your copyright concerns on the dozens of topics here on VH which are actively facilitating breaking of encrypted files?

    @Lollo and @Selur, thanks, I'll try!
    Quote Quote  
  7. Alwyn
    DOn't get so up tight on a good piece of advice. Copywrite is owned by the person who made the video. When I had my company, before retirement, my manageress actually sued someone for exaxtly the same thing. It cost the person several hundreds of pounds in compensation. Everyone on here should be aware before stealing others art work.
    Last edited by realspeed; 30th Jul 2023 at 05:26.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Australia-PAL Land
    Search Comp PM
    I suggest you stop flying off the handle. You have no idea what I am doing with this bit of (very uninteresting) video.

    Now, back on topic, how would you do this in your editor?
    Quote Quote  
  9. for a blind approach: RIFE(4.6 model)+SRestore(30) might produce smooth content
    users currently on my ignore list: deadrats, Stears555
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Australia-PAL Land
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks Selur, I'm going to have a go at Staxrip initially, from this topic:

    https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/402416-repair-Videos-with-duplicates-and-dropped-frames/page2
    Quote Quote  
  11. Originally Posted by Alwyn View Post
    The jumps are between frames:

    7-8
    25-26
    42-43
    60-61
    77-78
    and so on.
    There are also duplicates at semi-constant intervals:

    0,1
    19,20
    38,39
    57,58
    76,77
    95, 96
    114,115
    133,134
    151,152

    So you'll need to remove the duplicates as well as interpolate the missing frames.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Did a quick 'blind' encode with FillDrops+RIFE+sRestore in Vapoursynth just to see with what one would end up,...
    Image Attached Files
    users currently on my ignore list: deadrats, Stears555
    Quote Quote  
  13. Manually with DeleteFrames() and RIFE(), original frames on left, fixed on right:
    Image Attached Files
    Quote Quote  
  14. What is the fast moving object, right to left, near the top of the frame, above the plane around 13-14 seconds. Is it a bird, or a plane, or...
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Australia-PAL Land
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks Selur, still a bit of uneven movement.

    Jagabo, I'm trying to get RIFE running but have got this failure:

    Image
    [Attachment 72788 - Click to enlarge]


    What does the 3668 refer to, because I'm already running A+ 3.7.2 (although I do see 3.7.3 is now been released).

    PDR, one of their late mates, I suspect! They are really "rifeing" along, judging by the first frame in which they appear.
    Quote Quote  
  16. r3668 is the version number

    If you preview a 1 line script

    Code:
    version()
    It will tell you the version you are using. 3.7.2 is too old
    Quote Quote  
  17. The size of the object in comparison to the plane would suggest it was farther away. But it's speed is much faster than the visible plane
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Australia-PAL Land
    Search Comp PM
    It will tell you the version you are using. 3.7.2 is too old
    Geez, you have to be quick; 3.7.3 has only been out for 2 weeks. I'll install it now. It's a bit confusing when there's parallel "versions" and "releases".
    Quote Quote  
  19. Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Australia-PAL Land
    Search Comp PM
    Before I do update, is 3.7.3 going to blow up the 3.7.2 installation of my plugins folders?
    Quote Quote  
  20. Originally Posted by Alwyn View Post
    It will tell you the version you are using. 3.7.2 is too old
    Geez, you have to be quick; 3.7.3 has only been out for 2 weeks. I'll install it now. It's a bit confusing when there's parallel "versions" and "releases".
    No, there are versions in beta testing for months

    https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?p=1909698#post1909698
    Quote Quote  
  21. Originally Posted by Alwyn View Post
    Before I do update, is 3.7.3 going to blow up the 3.7.2 installation of my plugins folders?
    Not the way beta testers update. You just swap the avisynth.dll . All the registry information, plugin folders remain intact , same as your current install

    There is a "files only" download on the official 3.7.3 release, that contains the avisynth.dll

    But some people don't feel comfortable fiddling with windows system folders. Or if it's a 1st time installl / new system, you need the installer to setup the registry
    Quote Quote  
  22. Update to 3.7.3. I have:

    Image
    [Attachment 72789 - Click to enlarge]


    Oops, too late.
    Quote Quote  
  23. The script I used:

    Code:
    function ReplaceFramesRIFE(clip Source, int N, int "X")
    {
      # N is number of the 1st frame in Source that needs replacing. 
      # X is total number of frames to replace
      # e.g. ReplaceFramesRIFE(101, 5) would replace 101,102,103,104,105 , by using 100 and 106 as reference points for interpolation
      #
      # requires YV12, YV16, or YV24 input, outputs same as input
    
      X = default(x, 1)
    
      Trim(Source, N-1, 1)+Trim(Source, N+X, 1)
      z_ConvertFormat(pixel_type="RGBPS", colorspace_op="709:709:709:l=>rgb:709:709:f")
      Rife(gpu_thread=1, model=9, factor_num=X+1, factor_den=1, sc=false)
      z_ConvertFormat(pixel_type=Source.pixeltype, colorspace_op="rgb:709:709:f=>709:709:709:l") 
    
      AssumeFPS(Source.FrameRateNumerator, Source.FrameRateDenominator)
      Trim(1,X)
    Subtitle("RIFE")
    
      Source.trim(0,N-1) ++ last ++ Source.trim(N+X,0)
    }
    
    function InsertFramesRIFE(clip Source, int N, int "X")
    {
      # N is number of the 1st frame in Source that needs replacing. 
      # X is total number of frames to insert
      # e.g. ReplaceFramesRIFE(101, 5) would insert 5 frames, by using 100 and 101 as reference points for interpolation.
      #
      # requires YV12, YV16, or YV24 input, outputs same as input
    
      X = default(x, 1)
    
      Trim(Source, N-1, 1)+Trim(Source, N, 1)
      z_ConvertFormat(pixel_type="RGBPS", colorspace_op="709:709:709:l=>rgb:709:709:f")
      Rife(gpu_thread=1, model=9, factor_num=X+1, factor_den=1, sc=false)
      z_ConvertFormat(pixel_type=Source.pixeltype, colorspace_op="rgb:709:709:f=>709:709:709:l") 
    
      AssumeFPS(Source.FrameRateNumerator, Source.FrameRateDenominator)
      Trim(1,X)
    Subtitle("RIFE")
    
      Source.trim(0,N-1) ++ last ++ Source.trim(N,0)
    }
    
    
    # dups:  1 20 39 58 77  96 115 134  152 171 190 
    # jumps: 9 28 46 65 83 102 120 139? 158 176 195
    
    
    LWLibavVideoSource("F35.mp4", cache=false, prefer_hw=2) 
    Trim(0, 133)
    Crop(320,0,-320,-0)
    src = last
    
    DeleteFrame(0)
    InsertFramesRIFE(8)
    DeleteFrame(20)
    InsertFramesRIFE(27)
    DeleteFrame(39)
    InsertFramesRIFE(45)
    DeleteFrame(58)
    InsertFramesRIFE(64)
    DeleteFrame(77)
    InsertFramesRIFE(82)
    DeleteFrame(96)
    InsertFramesRIFE(101)
    DeleteFrame(115)
    InsertFramesRIFE(119)
    
    StackHorizontal(src, last)
    Quote Quote  
  24. Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Australia-PAL Land
    Search Comp PM
    No, there are versions in beta testing for months
    I'm not in the habit of just willy-niily installing every beta I find.

    Thanks for the tip on avisynth.dll. Yet another quirk in the AVISynth quagmire.

    Can you confirm the avisynth.dll from the 3.7.3+ package goes into System32, not syswow64.

    Answer, I think so. My AVISynth 3.7.3 is now at r4003!

    Thanks for the script, Jagabo, it's looking like it's above my paygrade.
    Last edited by Alwyn; 30th Jul 2023 at 21:09.
    Quote Quote  
  25. Originally Posted by Alwyn View Post
    Can you confirm the avisynth.dll from the 3.7.3+ package goes into System32, not syswow64?
    64 bit dll goes in system32, 32 bit dll goes in syswow64.
    Quote Quote  
  26. Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Australia-PAL Land
    Search Comp PM
    Done, I'm now at r4003.
    Quote Quote  
  27. Originally Posted by Alwyn View Post
    Thanks for the script, Jagabo, it's looking like it's above my paygrade.
    It's not difficult, just tedious for a long video. First I went over the first 133 frames and noted all the duplicate frames and missing frames. Then I used DeleteFrames() to delete a duplicate and InsertFramesRIFE to insert a missing frame. Then repeated that for each dup/missing pair.

    I stopped at frame 133 because there was an odd out-of-place frame soon after that. And this was just a proof of concept.

    It may also be possible to more fully automate the process.
    Quote Quote  
  28. Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Australia-PAL Land
    Search Comp PM
    Cheers Jagabo.
    Quote Quote  
  29. How long is the full video ?

    I played with the "automatic" scripts for dupes/drops

    John Meyer's dupes and drops script or smoothskip. John's script is more versatile and configurable, and you can modify it to use RIFE for better quality interpolation. Normally it's very good for typical drops and compensatory inserted duplicates

    However this is not a "normal" case:

    1) The camera power zooms are really large jumps , and the first one has a reverse frame - they will be registered as false positive "drops" (large jumps in motion), then you'd miss the real missing frames nearby . You'd have to exclude those frames, but that changes the cycle length and skews the calculation

    2) One section has about 90 consec. frames without dupes or drops, so that messes up the cycle length too - that will force dropping some good frames, becoming jerky . The regular pattern was about 1 dupe every 19


    Tip : If you go frame by frame deleting frames, start at the end and work in reverse, otherwise you change the frame numbers that you noted earlier
    Quote Quote  
  30. Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Australia-PAL Land
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by PoisonDR
    How long is the full video ?
    17 seconds. The clip I posted was the clip in toto.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads

Visit our sponsor! Try DVDFab and backup Blu-rays!