VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
  1. Hoping some here might provide some fairly simple answers and ideal solutions to rip and store a favorite DVD-R movie before I have to return it to a distant public library.

I'm a virtual newbie to DVD movie ripping and know next to nothing about file structures and so forth. But this report did answer some questions about MP4 vs. MKV storage file formats.
    https://cloudinary.com/guides/video-formats/mkv-format-what-is-mkv-how-it-works-and-ho...ompares-to-mp4

I'd much prefer to simply buy this now unavailable OOP Fox Classic DVD-R, but as collectors lament those Disney philistines have locked away virtually all classic Fox films for any number of sick reasons, so unless some big label like Criterion, Kino or ShoutFactory would call for the DVD or BD rights there's like no chance Disney will ever release it again, at least not on optical disc-which Hollywood is gleefully phasing out anyway.

https://www.blu-ray.com/dvd/From-Hell-to-Texas-DVD/46207/ Sound quality is exceptional not only despite the lossy Dolby Digital audio but because Fox was notorious for trashing audio film masters; somehow this film's elements must have escaped the hands of those ********. And I don’t trust the quality of the masters used to make the Region B Spanish issue sold on Amazon, even if the artwork claims the release was under exclusive license from Fox.

But please confirm that DVD-R movies can't be copy protected, yes?

Please also confirm, what I think Lukas claims here, in post #33, that "cloning" or "backing up" a movie directly from the original DVD-R on one drive to a blank DVD-R or BD-R on another drive "…….will never be 1:1" https://forum.redfox.bz/threads/end-is-near-for-dvd-bd-drives.87431/page-2

So, if that's true than is the best way to create and retain a bit perfect copy of the movie is to simply rip the DVD-R movie and save and play it as an MKV file on a HD or SSD?