VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi everyone, I apologise in advance if I have posted to the wrong thread.

I've been shooting amateur cine films and video since 1980, have always prided myself on backing everything up on tape, data DVDs and hard drives, but now have a problem I just can't get my head round. I'd be very grateful for any help any of you can offer.

On my hard drives, some MPG and AVI files simply won't open. I have tried to open these files with VLC Player, the included Windows Player apps, as well as video editing software. Without luck.

In Windows Explorer the files exist with their names but there are no thumbnails. I can right-click on the files and see their properties such as file size etc. I can also copy these files and transfer them but just can't open them!

Outside of Windows Explorer other apps appear not to be able to detect the files. Today I downloaded Wondershare Recoverit. When I clicked on their module to repair damaged video files, I was prompted to choose the files from a pop-up explorer window. But Recoverit couldn't see any files even though the files were in that directory.

I am guessing and hoping that these files are indeed recoverable.

What suggestions do you have? I am afraid of running Windows CheckDisk etc in case it discovers problems which screw up the whole disc.

Thanks in advance for your contributions.

Regards

Steve
    Steve in Dominican Republic
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Try HD Video Converter PRo by WonderFox hopefully it will help. Use the converter option.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Post one of this videos here, a short one.
    Quote Quote  
  4. What does MediaInfo say about the file(s)? But if VLC can't play them they are probably too corrupt to recover.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    open one with a hexeditor and see if there is any data in it.
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote