VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
    Search PM
    Whisper is a state of the art auto-transcription-translation model - Robust Speech Recognition via Large-Scale Weak Supervision

Previous audio-to-text implementations were at a "meh" level, Whisper really changes the game.

Here are my compiled binaries for newbies: https://github.com/Purfview/whisper-standalone-win
    Quote Quote  
  2. I am interested in learning more about this but I have no experience in command line work for things like Whisper Faster.

Unrelated, I can report that I did get a full teleplay from years past to run in Whisper with the small model in Subtitle Edit.

Inspection of the video with audio still shows significant errors. I remember another sub I'm working on for a public domain play containing the word usquebaugh. That was a fun one to look up. For now I know that I'll have to do manual corrections yet.

Perhaps a larger model such as medium shown above would reduce the errors but my test with Whisper in SE showed that the larger model will not run on my build.

Please give details on more of this for installing the program elements, model etc.

[edit] My Folder for Whisper Fast is on the desktop, probably not the best place for constructing the path. Anyway I'd need those sorts of details.

My Whisper sample which is 94 mins flies along pretty fast. But I don't know how to get an answer on a separate question on manual editing with Subtitle Edit (to add graphics like music notes and such.) Does SE manipulate the timings with the program? I have no adequate answer for that with minimum space in SE Settings at the lowest default.

Maybe a different sub program would handle this differently.
    Last edited by loninappleton; 29th Apr 2023 at 19:54. Reason: grammar
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I thought --vad_max_speech_duration_s 5
    would break it up into lines of speech 5 seconds maximum

from https://pypi.org/project/whisper-ctranslate2/

Code: