VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hello.

I'm a beginner and am not familiar with video editing. I would like to ask for advice from more experienced people on how to get rid of these artifacts with the video attached in the sample. I have tried doing it myself in Hybrid with the TFF and QTGMC options but without success. What options or what script to use. I would like to ask for your help.
    Thanks in advance.
    Image Attached Files
    Quote Quote  
  2. You need to go back to the original source. Not a resized and reencoded sample.

About the best one can do with that WMV file is blur it vertically,

Code:
    LWLibavVideoSource("Sample.wmv", cache=false) 
    Spline36Resize(width, 288).Spline36Resize(width, height).Sharpen(0.0, 0.5)
    You'll probably want to deblock it too.
    Image Attached Files
    Last edited by jagabo; 18th Apr 2023 at 12:36.
    Quote Quote  
  3. In Hybrid you can enable resizing and "Filtering->Vapoursynth->Misc->Script->Lower res. before resize->Spline36->2.5->Only->height" to get the effect. (if you add additional filters, like deblocking&co best move them behind the resizing, problem is that to get rid of this strong blocking some heavy deblocking is needed which will destroy quite some details)
    You need to go back to the original source. Not a resized and reencoded sample.
    I agree.

Cu Selur
    Last edited by Selur; 18th Apr 2023 at 13:24.
    users currently on my ignore list: deadrats, Stears555
    Quote Quote  
  4. Thanks for your help.
    I don't have the original source.
    I would like to remove only the sharp edges of the interlacing - in that case is there an better method and I wouldn't lose detail?
    I think I could erase the rest of the source artifacts using Topaz ai.
    Quote Quote