VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I have just ripped a DVD which I've purchased and found a section of jerky/stuttering movement. There are other parts exhibiting a similar effect. It was particularly bad on one of my LG TVs, and can just make it out in VLC Player, but on my other LG TV, no problems, at least as far as I could see. So I'm not sure if it's a problem with the structure of the video, or just the high bitrate playing it with an external SSD drive.

I did deinterlace it with VDub Yadif and double FR, then encoded it to H264 and I "suspect " I fixed it (although I don't have immediate access to the bad TV).

Could I please have the opinions of the experts about whether there's something wrong with the file or whether it is just my TV that can't hack the pace.

Thanks a lot.
    Image Attached Files
    Quote Quote  
  2. I am not an expert, but at a first glance I can't find anything unusual with the file. It's just encoded as interlaced (DVD source), which may trigger the (poor?) deinterlacer of the TV?
    Any particular frames which play jerky on that TV? What application did remux it to mpg?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Yes, it's 25p frames encoded as 25i. The motion is normal for 25p. Does the attached 25p AVC video play any smoother? It should be the same.
    Image Attached Files
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks Sharc, the man pauses about 3 times as he's walking right to left, only for a couple of frames-worth each time; very quick but quite noticeable and annoying (to me, at least!) on one of the TVs. I couldn't see anything wrong stepping through the video in AVIDemux; VDub2 shows ugly grey frames/blotches, but it seems to do that with many MPEGs.

I used DVDShrink to rip it (no compression) to a single large VOB and AVIDemux to lossless-copy the VOB to MPG.
    Quote Quote