VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    So, here's the thing.

I'm a brazilian guy, (sorry my not so bad english).

I'm doing my VHS conversion style.

I've been doing this for about 3 years now, of course always learning, especially with you guys.

Always using more a DVD recorder (Philips DVDR 3355), at maximum quality, and 99% of the time using a D-Vhs deck with S-Video cable output.

I'm using the computer sometimes and this is what I'm doing on it:

As a capture program, I always liked to use MPC together with Xvid codecs.

Yes, I've used several conversion programs, some came with capture cards, but I didn't like them. So visually, I like the results better with MPC (Media Player Classic) together with Xvid.

As a capture card I use the Pinnacle 700pci.

Using D-Vhs outputing the S-Video, plus Pinnacle 700pci, plus MPC and Xvid Condecs, with an AVI file and a computer without a graphics card, but a good DDR3 computer with windows 7.

I left two files with the specifications of each file, one in the maximum quality of the Xvid codec and another of the same snippet from the VHS NTSC tape at a quality close to maximum of the Xvid codec that does not generate a huge AVI file (and that one I usually do more that way, because I see that the final quality is the same.)

I make my own configuration to convert, I tried to get close to the quality that the DVD record makes at maximum quality and I always get good results.

But I always want to improve, with the tools I have for now.

That's why I ask you guys to evaluate me, tell me what I need to improve. Am I doing it all wrong? Something I have to change?

Anyway, analyze my conversion and tell me the negative and positive points I got. I'm open to very strict criticism!

[Attachment 69136 - Click to enlarge]

[Attachment 69137 - Click to enlarge]
    Image Attached Files
    Last edited by Litaiff; 8th Mar 2023 at 06:42. Reason: Error translated to english