VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    Hello everyone,

I have taken on the task of digitizing old Video8 and Hi8 tapes, which are memories of my recently deceased grandfather and also tapes from my mother with many childhood memories. The goal is to share these memories with the entire family in an appropriate format. I first digitized all of the tapes, over a hundred, in DV via Firewire. I'm in Belgium so the tape are PAL, so I have a DV PAL 4:2:0 «*master*» , which works better than 4:1:1 NTSC, but not ideal for making real masters. I am therefore looking for a reasonably priced TBC (or alternative method?) in 2023 that will allow me to digitize uncompressed 4:2:2 10-bit.
    To do this, I use a Sony EV-C500E VCR and a Blackmagic Decklink Extreme 4K video card. I therefore need a TBC between the two to avoid as many drop frames and other problems as possible. The problem is that the usual TBCs are either unavailable or exorbitantly priced, such as the AVT-8710. Do you have any suggestions for TBCs, in Europe, at a reasonable price?

Thank you all,
    Q.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Capturing Memories dellsam34's Avatar
    Search PM
    Some DVD recorders from Panasonic can help with stabilizing image if connected in passthrough mode, Not sure what PAL models are, Members from Europe can help on this.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Honestly it's pretty rare that HI8 and V8 tapes have the kind of stabilization issues that VHS do. I'd give it a run without the TBC first, as they're hard to come by (especially in europe) and are very temperamental and expensive.
    Quote Quote  
  4. 8mm tapes are gonna have horizontal instability just as vhs ones do so haveing something to correct for that will help (the AVT-8710 and datavideo tbcs don't do a lot of that on their own so they're best used with something that already has a built in tbc function anyhow). DId you use the EV-C500E on the original DV transfer?