VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Having, at last, been moved to do something with the boxes of VHS and Video8 tapes in a dark cupboard, I came to this forum for guidance.

Wow!

I had no idea the subject could be so convoluted. Over the past week, I have read more than I ever thought I wanted to know about analogue-to-digital video capture (and I was right – I didn’t ever want to know, but it seems unavoidable). Hoping it will give other new arrivals a jump start, this post is a summary. My credentials: I'm a retired career software engineer with a mediocre degree in Electronic Engineering -- I can talk the talk but, on this subject, I don't walk too well.

There is a whole slew of video capture dongles now on the market. Most of these devices come bundled with some sort of editing software but the capability varies. They range from less than £20 to more than £100, but two of the well-rated mid-price ones are August VGB100 at £33 and Elgato at £90. At time of writing, there’s a special offer on MAGIX Rescue Your Videotapes at £25. I went for this but I’m not sure, yet, whether it was a good choice.

You can also use any of these dongles with free software such as OBS, which will let you simply record the incoming digitised video as an AVI file. From there, you can use other free software to edit and compress it to something such as MPEG4 (.mp4).

So, all of these packages will get you as far as rescuing your beloved VHS on your computer and, of course, you can just keep them and watch them there.

So far, so good, BUT it’s the next step that causes all the grief. If you want to burn to DVD and play them back on your TV it suddenly gets immensely more complicated. The MAGIX package (and, I think, most of the other ones you can buy) claims to write DVDs from your captured video. I tried it and the result was mediocre. Fuzzy edges, poor resolution – just nowhere near as good as watching the old videotapes directly.