VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
  1. Hi folks - I've been using a cheap Elgato as a "first pass" capture on a large tape collection, and now I've started the task of recapturing important content using VirtualDub and huffyuv lossless codec, setup as per the guide here: https://www.digitalfaq.com/guides/video/capture-avi-virtualdub.htm

After having captured some clips using this method, I tried to render to .mp4 to make sure I was doing everything properly before spending countless hours continuing this process. I'm no expert and I'm trying to use Handbrake, not the recommended Hybrid (which I plan to learn eventually!) but I expected to at least do better than the basic Elgato capture!

But no matter which settings I play with in Handbrake, I can't for the life of me get footage to look better (or even as good) as the Elgato. I wondered if you folks could:

a) confirm my huffyuv capture looks OK

and

b) advise which settings/filters I should try using in handbrake to improve my render footage, or even better, provide a .mp4 rendered from my huffyuv file that shows it's possible to match elgato quality, then I can worry about figuring out how to do it myself later - I just want to make sure I'm not wasting my time doing something wrong in virtualdub/huffyuv.

Here is the link to an example of both the Elgato raw capture, as well as my huffyuv test capture... thanks to any who can offer assistance!

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1ylSWTdVsAXIMbYpkIkBwLwwKdwfPicy1?usp=sharing

(NOTE - both clips were split (not re-encoded) from larger files using ffmpeg... hopefully that doesn't matter, but if I need to re-capture smaller clips to provide as examples let me know)
    Quote Quote  
  2. Banned
    Search PM