VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi, I am looking for an alternative to Premiere Elements for editing HD videos I make on my phone and then copy onto my PC (currently looking round for a used HD camcorder). I have been using PE19 for a few years now but just find it quite buggy, it crashes and freezes a lot and I find the workflow to be quite annoying sometimes. For instance, sometimes I will be dragging a clip around on my timeline to place it on a video track above an already occupied one, so that I can adjust each tracks opacity for layering but for sometime the software decides to split the clip underneath, for no reason and other times it works perfectly fine and allows me to drag the new clip above the current clip without splitting it. There are lots of other little niggles and things that annoy me about it, such as not being able to zoom in and out of the timeline with my mouse's scroll wheel, it seems a bit unintuitive to do a lot of things.

Anyway, I tried Premiere Pro briefly as that is the flagship product but I found that a lot more difficult and even less intuitive to use than PE, plus it didn't really come with any video effects like PE does (or at least I couldn't find them) and it seemed like you also needed After Effects to do that sort of stuff which is another £20 per month on top. It's just way too expensive and I don't like the whole subscription model anyway (especially at these prices), where you never really own anything and have to pay forever.