Hello, I have problem, I have video 1920x800p, I need add black bars to add subtitles. video should be 1920x1080p. The problem is I tried with movavi and select same features from original video (used mediainfo) but video is very very worse than original. I heard about re-encoding programs loss quality and ffmpeg doesn't loss quality. Therefore I need to know how use ffmpeg to add black bars to my video.
however if you know other method to add black bars without loss quality I listen you
thanks
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
-
-
You can add subtitles (g.e. srt or ass) without reencoding, simply remuxing.
In this case the subtitles are shown in the lower black bar, added automatically by your player (or TV) with your 1920x800 video.
If you want hardcode the subs and add black bars then you have to reencode the video (with quality loss).
Both can be done with clever Ffmpeg-GUI. -
It theoretically could be done with macroblock specific encoding where it leaves the original lines alone and only encodes the added lines (assuming they line up with whole macroblocks), but in reality if you make a visual change to the frame (and you are), you will ALWAYS have to re-encode, no matter which encoder you use. And if you are re-encoding using a lossy codec, there WILL be quality loss no matter what encoder you use. Amount of quality loss then is determined by bitrate and settings chosen.
You are not just "editing" here, so workarounds with gop-based smart rendering will not work on sections you make these frame changes to.
Scott -
Shutter Encoder is built around ffmpeg. It's a well-designed front end with some added extras. It has a "Rewrap" function that does not reencode -- but that won't help you if you're adding black bars.
-
-
The basic ffmpeg command to add borders and burn in subs is something like:
Code:ffmpeg -y input.mp4 -vf pad=width=1920:height=1080:x=0:y=140,subtitles=input.srt output.mp4
Add whatever encoding parameters and audio handling you want. -
-
With that command line ffmpeg will need to be in your search path. output.mp4 will be created in the same folders as input.mp4, the current working directory. Use full path names if you want tp specify other locations.
Code:"c:\path\to\ffmpeg.exe" -y "c:\my source videos\input.mp4" -vf pad=width=1920:height=1080:x=0:y=140,subtitles=input.srt "c:\ where you want your new video\output.mp4"
Similar Threads
-
removing black frames from interlaced footage without quality loss?
By DerBraune in forum Newbie / General discussionsReplies: 18Last Post: 9th Oct 2020, 09:01 -
How to add four black bars
By ucheleuce in forum EditingReplies: 6Last Post: 29th Sep 2019, 12:00 -
Looking for a way add black bars to sides of video...
By AshleyQuick in forum Newbie / General discussionsReplies: 2Last Post: 30th Aug 2019, 10:51 -
How to add black bars in video using handbrakecli command
By krunal29385 in forum Video ConversionReplies: 1Last Post: 22nd Oct 2018, 18:10 -
Deleting info on video black bars
By carlmart in forum Video ConversionReplies: 2Last Post: 11th Dec 2017, 11:05