VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi everybody, newbie here with VERY limited experience at video editing.

This is what I have to do--->I have a high quality NTSC anime series with chinese audio and a bad quality PAL video with Italian audio, so I wanvto to extract the audio and remux it with the NTSC video to get a much better quality product.

FPS of NTSC is 29,970628, FPS of PAL is 25.

Managed to get the first episode right changing the audio time (exactly at 104.18%) with Oceanaudio, the second episode turns out to be much harder and I can't understand why. Any tips? Thank you in advance.
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    Those NTSC and PAL fps rates are helpful as a provenance reference but that's about it. Because audio doesn't have FPS, it's only the accompanying video that does. Audio has sample rate (44.1kHz, 48kHz, etc).

You just need to see if the runtime is the same, the startpoint is the same, and the edits are the same.

My educated guess is that you lucked out on the 1st try, where probably the startpoint and the edits were the same, so all you needed to do was a time stretch/shrink (with or without compensating pitch shift) to line up the 2nd audio with the 1st.

Your 2nd set probably is more complicated with different cuts, aka a different edit (e.g. director's cut vs theatrical, etc).

Only way to truly fix that is graphically line them up in parallel in a multitrack editor (DAW, NLE) and recreate the necessary cuts, shifting as you go through the title.

Scott
    Quote Quote  
  3. Audio and Video within a container (MP4, MKV, AVI, etc.) don't need to start at the same time, end at the same time, or have the same duration. Beyond that, releases in different countries are often different cuts of the movie with shots added or deleted. Especially when broadcast on TV. You need to figure out exactly what the differences are and compensate accordingly. There are literally hundreds of threads in these forums dealing with that.